Photo from my friend Anna

Image

Buckeye Lake is close to where my

children, ex-husband and I lived

in the eighties. Lancaster, Ohio

is a bustling city in Fairfield

county. Two of my three 

grown children were

born there. One of

my most humorous

stories of cows on our front

lawn  while Carrie and Jamie stood

in front of our big picture window in

their “footie jammies!” I first called the

police, on their no emergency call’s #, 

 but eventually found out that we were

considered “county residents” so called

the Sheriff. He came to the door and

asked this “city girl” a pertinent

question: “Do you know who

owns these cows?!”

He then proceeded to take

off his Sheriff’s “cowboy hat”

which Jamie really wanted to know

if he could try if on? I never did ask the

kind Sheriff this question. Once all the

cows were “rounded up” by his able

waving and shouting such things as

“Whoa!” and “Come on, Bessy!”

Yes, he really did say this!

He had four cows on the road in 

front of our little brick ranch.

Soon, he came knocking and

requesting use of my phone,

facilities and took my offer

of a hot cup of coffee.

When who we fondly 

call, “Sheriff Dan” 

finished coffee 

and providing an hour 

of lively entertainment,

he made a call: 

“Hello, I am calling to say I

have the cows on Meadowbrook Lane

rounded up but unsure which farmer 

is the owner. Could someone call the

two nearest farms on this part of

the county road?  Please check 

if missing four cows!”

Soon, a return call

came into my kitchen

that held news which direction

the cows needed to be heading home.

In those days, over thirty years ago,

my two oldest kids were five and

three. They like to remember 

places like Rising Park with

it’s cliff and challenging

climb and overlook.

Buckeye Lake has an

island with these 

ancient plants

which are like those

Venus flytraps, remains

of unique plantings which

only once a year can you pay

to go to see, study and learn about

this specific  island environment.

Thanks to my friend, Anna, who

used to work at the warehouse

with me, for some splendid 

photographs of Buckeye Lake.

Once I went to an awesome 

day long music festival there.

A “jewel” of many in Ohio,

a great destination place.

Enjoy the boathouse and 

shimmering lake! 

61 responses »

    • Derrick, thank you ever so much for the story’s compliment! This was once written for a post on my blog so it flows better after having shared it a few times in conversation, as well. My brothers used to crack up, since my ex-husband moved us from where I had a teaching job to three hours away, where 60 teachers were laid off. Imagine me, Robin, they used to chuckle being “stuck” out in the country not too far from town but no sidewalks to walk my two toddlers in a wagon on, just a hilly road and no car!

  1. I love the colors in the photo. I didn’t realize the building was a boathouse. We have “Boathouse Row” on the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia.

    Love your cow story! πŸ™‚

    The district where my husband taught is also in a rural area, and it was even more so when he first started teaching there.

  2. Lovely image and great story. At our former home, I’d sometimes drive down our street to find cows in the road. One time I tried turning around to go let the farmer know and a calf blocked me to sniff my car. I honked the horn and scared the poor thing so much it fell over.

    • Well, no I just would call the Sheriff again! Sorry to disappoint you, Annika. πŸ™‚
      It was such a pretty house, large yard, I planted a big garden and we had a purple martin house there. My brothers laughed about my being stuck out in the “boondocks” while my ex-husband had the car at work. No sidewalks with hills and dales to pull two children for miles into town. I babysat for one family once in awhile and joined clubs. (Welcome Wagon, AAUW and the Historical Society.)

    • Fiona, they were quite peaceful and placid, they must have been milked already and ready to stand around and doze for awhile! πŸ˜‰ So glad you can picture dear Sheriff Dan. I once tried to illustrate this story and had the pleasure to meet a few children’s authors. I could truly imagine Steven Kellogg drawing the pictures. He did a fine job in “The Day Billy brought a Boa to School”(cannot remember the title but have it on a kids bookshelf, too lazy to check this!) and his Pinkerton (Great Harlequin Dane) with tiny kitty Rosie books are such hilarious ones!

      • Thanks, Fiona. I started at church, with a faith based book, then 4H with animals, child advocate at a battered women’s shelter, needed a brochure which wouldn’t make people nervous and then my friend asked me to do one for her son and mine about dinosaurs. They are”cute” but don’t really have a foot in any doors. I never sold them but made into coloring books/ pamphlets. You’re splendid and supportive. hugs! xo

    • Dan, did you ever hear of people performing music in empty corn stiles? I wrote a post about how it becomes like a music chamber and the link is on my post called “Farm Life Music.” Just thought I would ask and also mention this unique form of entertainment. πŸ™‚

      • I meant to say there was a link on this Buckeye Lake post to “Farm Life Music.” No worries about reading it, just sometimes surprise myself when an old post shows up. πŸ™‚ Have a happy weekend!

    • Deborah, it certainly was a colorful picture my friend sent me via cell phone! She was the one who traipsed around two observatories in my town, one on campus and one set on a hill just outside town. She and I went on several door quests trips.
      We spent a whole summer every Friday trying outdoor festivals and musical concerts, too. (No photos of those adventures before I got my nicer cell phone!) Take care xo

  3. Thanks for the cow story and memories of Sheriff Dan. Stuff like that is pretty rare these days. Although we did have a herd of elk wander through the town where we had our winter ski cabin a couple years ago. πŸ™‚ – Mike

    • Oh, I would have liked to have seen a herd of elk wandering through town! I used to love a television show called, “Northern Exposure,” which had a great cast and a few moose who would show up in town. πŸ™‚
      A winter ski cabin sounds so wonderful, Mike!

  4. I spent the summers on my grandparents’ small dairy farm up in northern NH. One of the most exciting things was when someone would bang on my bedroom door, hollering, get up, the cows are out. πŸ™‚ Off we’d go in the doodlebug (old blue truck front with no roof and a hay wagon on the back) to find the stray cows, walk the fence line, eat some berries along the way, find the break and fix it. Good memories like yours. πŸ™‚

    • Judy, I loved this whole complete story of riotous fun mornings on your grandparents’ dairy farm! I enjoyed the way you captured this in a few deft sentences! The “doodlebug” truck cracked me up! πŸ˜€
      The berries and memories sure are sweet!

    • Debby, thanks so much for this fun response to my often repeated story! I just wish I could have a photograph of Carrie in her pink footie pajamas and Jamie in his yellow ones! Their eyes were like that expression, “as big as saucers.” πŸ™‚
      I miss my friend, Anna. We text each other once a week. Hopefully, we’ll get together before Christmas. xo

      • I could visualize the kids in their ‘footies’. No doubt that’s a story to remember. Too bad about no camera 😦 ❀

      • Debby, I wish I had the numerous little things in life.
        I don’t think we grabbed our cameras enough, I was 26 or so, took birthday, holiday and first snow and snowsuit days. Maybe since it was a three fold process, buy film, take picture and then return to place to get pictures developed. πŸ™‚

      • So true Robin. And when we’re young we’re so unaware that a simple moment in time could be one that we’d wish to recapture decades later. You know what they say . . .’hindsight is 20/20′ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

