Thursday’s Doors ~ December 8, 2016: George and Martha

Image

Rescued as babies,

Martha and George

 are sister and brother, 

kept behind cage doors.

They looked beautiful in their

well kept appearance, happy 

communicating in simple 

comments to guests. 

“Hello there!”

and “What’s up?”

You may enjoy adding  

your own lively banter

in the replies section!

“The nerve of that woman,

wearing real feathers 

on her felt hat!”

~ or ~

“What do you mean by that?”

~ or ~

“Wonder if his mother knows

her teenager left the house

wearing droopy pants?”

~ or ~

“When is everyone going home?”

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

This barred cage door is in the 

Palm Room of 

Franklin Park Conservatory,

Columbus, Ohio.

It is part of a diverse group 

of Thursday’s Doors,

a weekly gathering

found in links on

Norm Frampton’s blog:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

30 responses »

  1. I love parrots – cockatoos are my faves, but nothing beats a macaw for unabashed showiness!

    As for what they’re thinking, maybe something along the lines of ‘Just a little closer, and I can grab a bit of that popcorn!’ (Or bacon, if they are like Choppy.)

    • Thanks, Sarah! I didn’t know this, but I do know you like animals. Cockatoos look cute and their faces look like babies, even when they grow up. πŸ™‚
      I like the observation of “unabashed showiness” to describe macaws.

      This is such a fun idea for their thinking out loud! I liked this suggestion a lot! All birds like nibbling! πŸ˜€

      • I think I go straight for the food, as the cockatiel I grew up with LOVED popcorn – he would yell ‘popcorn’ anytime he thought he might get some.

        I actually sometimes claim to be a bird person instead of a dog person – I just love them. Unfortunately, we don’t have a lifestyle right now that is conducive to having a parrot, unless I find a good place to board one on a regular basis. But once that happens, I’ll be in the market for one!

    • Yes, it is true. Anneli, I wish all animals were safe and had plentiful amounts of water and food. When I went to the Mansfield, Ohio Bird Sanctuary, we saw an eagle that had been accidentally struck by a semi truck when it flew down low. A veterinarian put a strip of a repair material, to create a way to stabilize its large wing to heal. They hope it will be released but it does seem to like people a little too much. Just an example of another rescue bird. . . πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Dan! I had a lot of photos of Christmas decorated doors but somehow couldn’t be very creative with their descriptions.
      Last year, I discovered and featured the fraternities lights competition. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Diana! I like when post resonates with someone or sends then into reminiscing! ❀ This story makes me chuckle but I could also imagine your grandmother's family being chagrined. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

