Thursday’s Doors ~ December 8, 2016: the loving macaws, George and Martha 

Image

This couple are siblings.

Martha and George

show their affection

to each other.

They seem happy,

Although they may

like to be in a forest,  

being alive is a blessing!

Caged birds see the palm trees,

vines and amazing cacti at the

Franklin Park Conservatory.

Sunshine streaming 

into the large 

ceiling – floor

windows.

This colorful, loving couple

kept my grandchildren

entertained for fifteen

minutes, Hendrix’s

eyes wide and

engaged.

Check

out other

Thursday’s Doors posts

on Norm Frampton’s blog!

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Let us know how you feel

about endangered species

of animals, as well as

unique birds, being

held captive, but

safe and fed

in cages.

x x x x

Thanks for stopping by!

53 responses »

    • I agree, Lisa. Hard to not wish they were free. . .
      I mentioned to another comment that I went not too long ago to the Mansfield, Ohio bird sanctuary and the eagle which got hit by a semi truck needed to have a splint on its huge wing and surgery on broken leg. Without the trucker taking it to the sanctuary, it could have easily been a wild animal or a vulture’s dinner. . .

  1. There is a pub/restaurant/hotel that I have known all my life by the river Thames in Oxfordshire. When I was young it was run by a splendid pair of elderly spinster sisters and they kept a macaw exactly like those two …. he was quite feisty and one was advised not to poke fingers in the cage if you valued keeping them. What I remember most was that he would suddenly should ‘tooooooo MUCH’ at the top of his squawk when anyone sitting at the bar asked for a second drink. HIlarious he was and thank you Robin for the unintentional reminder of that bird!

    • It is serendipitous to elicit fond memories and nostalgia, Fiona. I am happy you shared this about the amusing macaw and his clever phrase bar patrons who ordered seconds. Ha ha hee, hee! This probably startled a few of the new customers! 😀

  2. A lovely pair for people to see and enjoy. I’ve no problem with seeing them in their present state, but I think we’ve done enough capturing and caging. We should be able to go forward with breeding animals that are in captivity already to make future displays for zoos. Let the wild things be.

    • I agree, it is good they were saved together. I think I should have taken a picture of the sign, how they were rescued as baby macaw. Now, I cannot remember the details of how their mama died. . . My friend in Florida says there are stricter laws about bringing birds from other countries here. I am rather ignorant of some of the laws for animals and birds. Thank you, Anneli for saying it is nice they have each other. ❤

  3. I agree with your commenter milfordstreet Robin. Animals that are bred and raised in captivity don’t know how to live in the wild so a caged life is inevitable for them. I support those associations that nurse back to health/ breed and raise chicks and release back into the wild. I am an admirer of the way our zoos are moving towards a more environmentally and respectful awareness of all sentient beings needs. The macaws are beautiful birds!

    • I think it is really important to try and promote animals and birds to have freedom in life in the wilds. Releasing them is very meaningful to their true purpose. They were born to be free!

  4. They’re beautiful!

    I have mixed feelings about the cage, but if it keeps them safe, and they look like they’re healthy then it’s a good thing.

    #1 Grandson and I love stopping by the Macaw, Parrot, Cockatoo exhibit at our local park. They’re so beautiful. The Macaw isn’t in a cage, but it is tethered to a fine perch at so it’s not going anywhere. 🙂 I love that it’s not in a cage.

    • I like the idea of the bird being almost on a “leash,” when they are tethered. Thank you, Deborah, for sharing about your grandson and your local beautiful birds. 🙂
      I am sure they bring pleasure to park visitors! Not everyone will get to a zoo or a safari to see these colorful, playful creatures.
      I once wrote on my blog, about the Carolina parrots which were golden yellow but settlers heading west, in their Conestoga wagons, saw the birds over meadows, shot at them and basically eradicated the species. The last one, sadly, was in the Cincinnati Zoo.

  5. I’m also not really a fan of caged birds, but I’m glad they seem healthy and happy.
    I remember going to some restaurant in Mexico that had parrots in the trees (I think). I was only about 5, but it made an impression.

    • I like the idea of the Mexican parrots being wild and free on trees, Merril. They may be trained or like the restaurant’s food. 🙂
      I just mentioned to Circadian Reflections, (Deborah) that we used to have golden yellow Carolina parrots flying free in the U.S.
      They were shot down by settlers traveling west in their Conestoga wagons. The last one, supposedly, was displayed in the Cincinnati, Ohio Zoo.

  6. Oh, it does make me sad for so many animals to be in zoos. I understand the positives that zoos provide, as well, especially behind the scenes stuff. But sometimes the despair in their eyes just does me in–I no longer go to zoos. The gorillas, the bears, the wolves, etc. Horrible. In the case of these beautiful birds, I hope they are given chances to engage with nature and to have full and rewarding lives.

    • Oh, I love the Columbus Zoo where the safari area is huge and no cages just large embankments to prevent the animals from wandering around the city. We sit in the tent-like safari restaurant, watching two kinds of giraffes, gazelles and other animals.
      I think it takes caring, generous gifts of funding to provide better living conditions. I hope the animals which are in captivity find fulfillment in their animal families and environment. I do agree, mainly, we should try to allow animals to live freely, Diana. ❤

      • I think you are righ that funding makes the difference, Robin. The Portland zoo also continues to make strides toward providing as natural an environment as they can. It’s much nicer for visitors too. 🙂

  7. I think most birds like this might actually like a caged habitat – not too familiar – but it can a good life – esp of the owners are kind folks – sounds like a good situation – 😉

  8. Robin, these are stunning and I’m not surprised your grandchildren were entranced. I am just looking at your brilliant photo. The issue of caging birds is a tricky one but over the years I have found myself increasingly feeling guilty viewing them,that this is wrong. I so want them to have more space. In one special animal nature place in Sweden the birds and wildlife have vast amounts of space – so often so that you don’t see many at all sometimes – but that is accepted by all the visitors. Nordens Ark works in conjunction with programmes across the world to help preserve endangered animals so in these cases protection seems best.

    • I just checked but am heading to bed. Don’t worry, I had this happen before. Sometimes as with Ash, the artist, she and I don’t have compatible cell phones!
      Their adapted habitat does seem to suit them.
      That was a really nice comment and sorry you had to repeat it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

