Awe-inspiring sky

Image

We will have had a Christmas Eve “day”

meal together, my family and I.

The busiest household asked 

me to take a few children

off their hands since

“Shh-h!”

Santa is coming tonight!

xo   πŸ™‚   xo

“Twas the night before Christmas,

when all through the house

Not a creature was stirring,

not even a mouse. . .”

xoxo

The author, Dr. Clement C. Moore,

was born in New York in 1779.

One of his major writing

contributions to literature

and learning is the book,

“Hebrew and English Lexicon.”

Note that this is surpassed

in numbers of people who

read and enjoy his poem

which I started this post

with, originally titled:

“A Visit from St. Nicholas.”

xoxo

I adore the illustrations in my

little book drawn by artist,

Arthur Rackham.

He was born in

1867, with his final

illustrating endeavor found

in “The Wind and the Willows.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

May your weekend be joyful,

as you celebrate, let it be merry.

Those who still believe 

in Santa and magic, 

wishing you  the most 

Jolly Holiday ever!

50 responses »

    • Oh, how great this is to hear, Marissa! This makes the first person to say this! My Dad liked to read it, while my Mom could recite the words.
      I like the pop up book I got at Hallmark but we usually look through a bunch of children’s books here. The very last one is this! xo

    • Thank you for feeling it was a divine image, Fiona! There are still so many magical elements in this world and in its people.
      Merry Christmas season as the different parts of the true story gather still under the Star. xo

      • It is so necessary to remember the good even when the world seems so full of bad. After all, if we forget the best of it – how can we teach our children to accentuate the positive and eliminate the negative ….

  1. ROBIN…when you just began going right up the line of “likes”, drives me crazy if I can’t find something oyf yours to like and reblog. Thank goodness I found this post! Mental and physical relief!!!! πŸ™‚ Thank you for all your kindnesses!!!

  2. Arthur Rackham was one of the handful of genius illustrators (in my opinion haha) of the true beginnings of children’s literature. And he is the first one I remember from my own childhood! Caldecott and Crane are two others that are unforgettable! Thanks for getting me thinking down this train of thought, Robin. I haven’t thought of it in quite awhile! xoxo

  3. I was thrilled with Arthur Rackham magic illustrations before I learned how to read. Well, it wasn’t even a book, it was a set of postcards featuring his works. I was playing with them creating my own magic world. Have a wonderful New Year, Robin, with a touch of magic πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

