Choices

Image

In the background of these two 

loving fowl, one a rooster

there is a Hawk,

kept in a place 

healing his wounds.

We wandered through

bird sanctuary to come across 

kissing couple content on their perch.

As we looked through the netting

into the brooding hawk’s cage 

we pondered his fate and

came to conclusion, as

the conservationist 

and preservation 

veterinarian

concurred:

It is best to be

alive, peaceful 

and hopeful

as we view

our world.

Kissing rooster 

and partner seemed 

truly and happily paired.

Rather than a cockfight

maybe choose kindness and love.

Happy New Year, 2017!

*******

(photo and thoughts 

~ reocochran)

*******

This is a letter from a famous

person in answer to someone else.

“North Brooklin, Maine

30 March 1973

Dear Mr. Nadeau,

As long as there is one upright man,

as long as there is one compassionate 

woman, the contagion may spread and 

the scene is not desolate. Hope is the

thing that is left to us, in a bad time.

I shall get up Sunday morning and 

wind the clock, as a contribution to

order and steadfastness.

Sailors have an expression about the 

weather: they say the weather is a

great bluffer. I guess the same is true

of our human society — things can look 

dark, then a break shows in the clouds,

and all is changed, sometimes rather

suddenly. It is quite obvious that the 

human race has made a queer mess

of life on this planet. But as a people we

probably harbor seeds of goodness that

have lain for a long time waiting to

sprout when the conditions are right.

Man’s curiosity, his relentlessness, his 

inventiveness, his ingenuity have led

him into deep trouble. We can only hope

that these same traits will enable him

to claw his way out.

Hang on to your hat. 

Hang on to your hope.

And wind the clock,

For tomorrow is another day.

Sincerely, 

E.B. White”

~~~~~~~

(Author of Charlotte’s Web,

Stuart Little and co-author,

The Elements of Style.)

He died in 1985,

Words ring true 

For our new year.

106 responses »

    • I thought of my fall day at the bird sanctuary and actually found this trio of photos so kind of went a little crazy by posting 3 on one day! You won’t see any more till Thursday from me. That is going to be humorous door post. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Marissa! Happy to share this with everyone. Each bird at the Mansfield, Ohio bird sanctuary has a reason they are being saved from harm. This area had a curious baby blue jay who loved peeking into my purse, as well as a separate cage for an eagle who had been hit by a semi-truck. Thanks for hanging out with me last year and cannot wait to continue our friendship in this new year! πŸ™‚

      • Just finished the trio of three new song releases on your blog of The Cheesebergens! My grandson Micah, who is 8 years old, wanted to comment so he added a few words and thoughts. πŸ™‚ Your daughter was terrific, with lilting and raising the ends of words up with her voice. I like her style! Then, all of you when you blend together on the chorus, I liked especially. The instrumental sections and solos are awesome! Your son did an exceptional performance in the hipsters song. Your lyrics for the cheese song were hilarious, too.

      • You may quote me anytime. I also wrote comments and feel free to share them. I mean it! While I know you are joking. . . All of you blend your voices while your son and daughter have lovely voices. πŸ™‚

    • I had a marvelous weekend, Jill. Four grandies in one apt and sparkling grape juice and all awake at midnight. Goodness gracious! Finally, all picked up by 3 pm and so happy to have a pork with sauerkraut dinner alone. Ha ha!
      Hope you have only the best in 2017, Jill!
      It will be so grand once your book is released and how exciting is this?!

    • It was Barbie’s in my bedroom with the M &M girls and card games of War with Landen and Micah, as well as my allowing two children at a time to walk to third floor and down seeing if any OWU Pokemon critters were able to be caught. πŸ™‚ Good times! Found all their socks, Lego people and lotion we had misplaced by pick up time.
      (I had Hendrix for almost 3 hours and he was so funny in my apartment, only his 2nd time.)

  1. Oh my goodness… E.B. white wrote this remarkable letter? It took my breath away. I read it twice because it was so…so right, as if this person had lived many lives and quietly voiced all that was important. Know what I mean? And the rooster and hen are perfect. Thank you for this wonderful post, Robin!

    • This was found in my box of high school stuff, (I was a junior in HS). It apparently Readers Digest “re-played” in 2014.
      E.B. White is and always will be up there upon “our pedestals in our minds!”
      I feel this way about C.S. Lewis in his wisdom and grace, Jennie. xo

    • Your insight about the time-traveling author of many lives and the one whose letter is here still making an impact; really rang true, Jennie. Mr. White was a magical wordsmith!

      • Just sending a convoluted compliment your way…! Since you know my bombastic-? heavily superlative—yeah–my tendency to bury some people in compliments—I guess you’re better off picking and choosing what you want to hear! I know I do the same thing, but am learning to be more positive about it. OH BEACON OF FAMILY LOVE—Thank you for being you–and a blogger friend of mine! Who hasn’t left…yet! πŸ™‚

  2. ROBIN…My day is complete…My battery cut out before I could visit this afternoon! You and Holly Hunter are my two steady friends…creativity-wise. Now if they were French hen and rooster…! Picture happens to remind me of FIDDLER ON THE ROOF–the movie–where Tevia and his wife are sitting next to each other singing—“DO YPOIU LOVE ME?”

    • I was lucky that I caught this set of three pictures in the fall while visiting a city about 45 miles north, while wandering around an apple orchard and the bird sanctuary.
      I am sure glad this is the Chinese year of the rooster, Cindy. So fortuitous!
      I am always lucky to have you as a blogging friend! Happy 2017, wishing you safe travels, good health and joy among your family and friends, Cindy!

    • We certainly need extra doses of good health as we pass different age levels in life, Jen! πŸ™‚
      I feel very peaceful and happy this beginning of 2017. Nothing’s going to upset my apple cart for awhile. “Keeping the faith,” as late George Michaels sang. . .
      So glad you liked this and found it special!! You are special to me! ❀
      Wishing you, Mr. S, your family and parents all the best possible year ahead. Blessings sent to baby and mama to be. . . (I need to peek at the schedule but not quite arrived yet, I think. . . ❀

    • Oh, this means a lot to me, Derrick! I thought about this cell phone picture when I heard it was going to be the Chinese year of the rooster. I had to search quite a bit, through boxes for the E.B. White quote, from my HS days. . .
      The volunteer veterinarian is a lovely woman, we ran into her and a conservationist at the gift shop of the bird sanctuary. Just thinking about how some things seem to fall into place and glad this appealed to you, over there on the other side of the “Pond!”

    • Kath, so happy you had a chance to see these pretty chickens! The hen is so elegant in her speckled feathers while the sheen on her rooster partner’s feathers is gorgeous. Although, really a dreary, drizzly day, the October weather was not able to dampen our spirits. πŸ™‚ We have birds and art in common, which makes me smile when I have a chance to be in touch with you!

    • Merril, thank you for loving this! It makes me happy when writers stop by and enjoy my compilation of “stuff.” This was first printed in a newspaper, then re-printed in 2014 Readers Digest magazine. I have always admired E.B. White.
      The fortuitous part was I had not used my rooster and his hen pictures yet on my post. We definitely are on the same page with love and kindness.

  3. So lovely your post, thank you so much for good sharing dear
    Je te souhaite une bonne et heureuse annΓ©e 2017
    Tous mes meilleurs voeux
    bisous de Madagascar

    • Thank you so much, Sarah. I am happy you liked the combination of the photo, thoughts and the nice, old letter E.B. White wrote! Hope this finds you happy, well and vision possibly “on the mend(?)” You are a joy to have met last year! πŸ™‚ xoxo

      • Thank you, Robin! I so enjoy our conversations and am happy to have met you here as well! πŸ˜„ When I started blogging I never envisioned meeting so lovely and dear friends like you! What a very wonderful thing πŸ˜„
        My eye’s still in the healing process and takes its time but I don’t give up hope πŸ˜„
        How are you?? Hope your vision has improved by now? Do you also still need little rests for your eyes in between? xxxxxxxxxx

      • Thanks, Sarah for sharing that your eye is still healing. I am glad my prayers may still be needed. xo
        I am a little worn around the edges but physical work does pay the bills and keeps me in shape. πŸ˜‰
        I enjoy our chats, too. ❀
        My eyes are tired but the doctor says the surgery has been successful, as well as almost healed. I do need rests, also use a semi-expensive eye drop solution in my right eye to promote less drying, less worn out eye. xoxo

      • Thank you so much, I appreciate it and you very, very much!
        I just hope you don’t worn yourself out too much! Try to find quiet moments in between as much as possible. Have a lovely weekend! xxxxxxxx

  4. Oh,I love your thoughts on spreading kindness and love. And the E.B. White poem is very appropriate, these days. Hang on to our hats and our hope indeed! You post was much appreciated in welcoming in 2017. πŸ™‚

    • So glad you got enjoyment from this post, Carol! I was glad I could add this letter from E.B. White to my post. (Lucky to find it in a timely fashion. I was a junior in high school when it first was in newspaper, at least republished once, if not more. . .) Hope your year goes smoothly and merrily along. πŸ™‚

    • The holidays were special which keeps me going forward. Children lift us up in a very deep and spiritual way. Such generous in their hugs and joy in simple things, Debby! xo

  5. I love this, Robin. The hawk and the hen both deserve our compassion and care. It is hard to be optimistic, but it is all we have right now. I keep reminding myself, ‘this too shall pass’. xoxo Happy New Year to you and your wonderful family.

    • “This too will pass” is a good mantra to repeat, Beth. Thank you for enjoying this post and so glad you are regaining your optimism.
      Thanks for your happy wishes for my family and me. Hugs, Robin xo

    • I think your thoughts give me reassurance that “everything’s going to be alright.” Although the last line is in many songs I like, “Danny’s Song” by Kenny Loggins best.
      I am so glad we had this past year and hope friendship for years to come! πŸ™‚

  6. You are so right about the words of EB White fitting our upcoming year. Wise words.

    Funny you’ve got a rooster — you know in a few weeks the Chinese will usher in the year of the rooster? πŸ™‚
    Great pic!

    • I wrote three posts with this rooster and hen couple, Joey. You are so right!
      One of them is called, Year of the Rooster. πŸ™‚ The first two were “silly” and simple. This one was the serious one. I liked that there was a photo of the rooster leading and his hen partner following and another they are looking different directions. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

