Thursday’s Doors ~ what happens when the praying mantis wants to go to the bar?

Image

My brother, Rich, laughed at my

post and we talked about another

possibility of, “Why did the praying

mantis cross the road?” 

The grandies and I were on a

flashlight hike, searching for

bugs, spiders, and scary things.

We stopped to look at this brick wall.

The cement ledge is where we have

sometimes left a midnight snack 

for a friendly squirrel who lives

in a tree close to my apartment

building. It was Kyah who

exclaimed, “Look! There’s

a playing mantis!” We did

not correct her, she is only

five and learning how to

pronounce her, “R’s.”

Inside, I am proud of

how she has become

much more social

in kindergarten.

So, this praying mantis 

looked back at us, listened to

speculations about cold weather,

with Landen being concerned and

wanting to save his life and bring him

inside. We talked about this and 

pondered about hibernation.

He said he would look up 

more details and find out

more about this 

particular

bug or insect.

This little guy was facing

the doors across the road,

a gaming store, print shop

set up as a political party haven,

two restaurants and Vito’s Wine Bar.

So, chuckling at my brother’s sense of

humor and choosing the bar as his 

destination trying to think of a 

punch line to what the server

might say as a greeting.

What does the bartender say

to a lonely wandering 

praying mantis?

The doors on

South Sandusky Street,

Delaware, Ohio

featured in this

hopefully humorous post 

are to point you onward to seek

more doors at the leader and

Thursday’s Doors host,

Norm Frampton’s blog:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

90 responses »

  1. Okay Robin, I’ll have a go πŸ™‚ ❀
    .
    A praying mantis walks into a bar.

    Barmaid: Good evening sir. Usual ?
    PM: Yes, a beer and a dollar.

    The barmaid places a dollar note on the bar onto which a bottle of beer rests.

    The beer drunk and the dollar pocketed, the barmaid places another dollar and a beer in front of the praying mantis. US$20 and 20 beers later, the praying mantis threw US$19 onto the counter and staggered out of the bar.

    Another customer, astounded, asks the barmaid what was going on with the praying mantis, the dollar and the beer.

    "Oh, that's easy", said the barmaid, "I always give a dollar to any clergy that comes in."

    • Ah ha ha ha! Wow, when you give it a “go” you really Go! πŸ˜€
      Ralph, loved your joke and the punchline off the cuff, so to speak. Are you still celebrating the New Year and your birthday? Sending you hugs and big smiles, dear! xo

      • I really love this post Robin especially as you gave me an opening to have a go at writing a joke. I wasn’t sure whether it would work, but reading your comments it went down well. So thank you my friend.
        A week into 2017 I think it is time to get back to normal, whatever that is ? lol
        Hugs and smiles back to you dear Robin. Ralph xox ❀

      • I am very happy you created a funny and lively joke to go on my post, Ralph! Thank you very much! Big hugs xo
        You are so right about “What is normal, anyway,?!” This seems to be the current state of affairs. Take it easy and enjoy your cats, friends and gorgeous home. Thanks for passing me some hugs and smiles back. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Derrick. I can see your smiling face upon my grandchild, Kyah. πŸ™‚ This is such a nice way of putting it: an “endearing family phrase.” I will put this on the inside of one of her multiple photo albums I have for her and the others.

  2. Great shot, Robin!
    A praying mantis walks into bar–yes, I’m sure there’s a joke there, but I can’t come up with it. πŸ™‚
    I love “playing mantis.” I think Derrick is right that it could become a family phrase.

    • Merril, I couldn’t figure out a good joke for this picture either. πŸ™‚ We were wondering if a Barbie size cup or a thimble sized one would be more closer to the size of the praying mantis’ “mouth?”
      It was a cute way of saying this and need to write this in one of Kyah’s recent photo albums.

    • I know and last night I did have a thought about those creme de menthe liqueur drinks called, “grasshoppers.” Would a praying mantis ask for one and how can it be funny? You are the first person I thought to share this kernel or nugget of relating to this insect’s beverage of choice. πŸ™‚

    • So glad to give you a chuckle, Jill! Kyah was “the baby” for nearly 4 years before Hendrix was born so we kinda think it is “cute” how she says things. I appreciate your sharing this was an early challenge for you. Many kids do outgrow, or need just a little practice, to pronounce their “R’s.”

    • My niece is a primary school speech language pathologist. Did you like your speech therapist? Libby has such a gentle way about her that I imagine kids wanting to go see her, Jill. Maybe Kyah (one of the M & M girls since her full name is Makyah) will get to go to see one to help improve her speech. πŸ™‚

    • It is amusing to me, too! πŸ™‚ Chris, I wrote an open ended post and left for work. Come home to an even better one with a joke suggestion and a great way to keep the cute expression of “playing mantis” as a continuing family inside story. Perfect. Cheers to you!

    • Definitely, Pauline! Thanks for saying nice things about Kyah’s label for the mantis. I agree it’s things like this which become “special family moments and memories.”
      I have a sense of humor but cannot figure out original jokes. I have practiced a limited few to pull out from time to time, though. πŸ™‚

      • Aw, nice to being such lovely and warm company, Pauline. ❀ If we were out of the room together we could easily been having a blast, whether it be looking at art, dancing to rock and roll (or maybe watching silly pets! πŸ˜‰ ) and laughing but just not joking around. hugs xo

    • My parents used to take us on flashlight hikes in parks or on playgrounds. Every summer there were brand new “Size D” batteries. πŸ™‚ My Dad didn’t have much time to play as a child so his biggest joys were the 3 of us kids. We also played flashlight “Hide n’ Seek” in the dark, Jay!
      I am blessed with having my apt building right next to OWU campus. We go over and sit on a gigantic porch in rocking chairs (there are at least 12 on the student union porch). We take our flashlights and go round and round on the Labyrinth paths. It is a fun way to seem like we are doing a cool thing like camping without the work.

  3. What a great way to move from a family chuckle to a Thursday Doors post. I’m glad your brother had him going to the bar. A print shop sounds a bit dangerous and a gaming place doesn’t seem like somewhere that he’d get much attention. Let him go in and tell his story.

    • Oh, this is a new suggestion, Dan! πŸ™‚ I like the idea of the praying mantis starting a conversation in a bar. Wonder if he would “sit” on a barstool or sit on the bar itself? Hmm. . .
      You are totally right about those video gamers, very rarely does the shop clerk even look up from his science fiction book, let alone notice a vagrant insect entering! πŸ˜€

    • Maniparna, you’re going along with this fun mood! Thanks for your special and sweet comments! ❀ When your son was younger did you ever try this, dear? Someday, years from now, maybe you and a grandchild or two will look at shadows, gardens or buildings in the dark. Spider webs are especially fun to see but hard to photograph. Hugs to you and best wishes for a healthy and happy year ahead. ❀

    • You’re a true gentleman and good sport to not kick me out of the doors club, Norm. I cannot help going down crazy paths or directions. As long as I got you chuckling, I am very pleased. πŸ™‚

    • Ralph did me a big favor, Diana. It is funny because I tend to “work” on posts far after I publish and last night, voila! A little brain synapse went off and somehow, I think this little guy or gal needs to order a creme de menthe beverage called a “grasshopper.” Now, how do I make this into a joke?! πŸ˜€

  4. Thanks for the fun post, Robin πŸ™‚ Many years ago a friend of mine found a praying mantis in a vegetable shop and gave it to me. The poor devil lived with me most of the winter, munching on the leaf greens and walking free around the house. He met a horrible end – fell in a cup of tea. I was devastated.

    • This is a special and personal story about a praying mantis. Thanks for sharing this bittersweet tale with us, Inese.
      I wish he had made it longer but saw the humor in his eating his greens yet falling into a cup of tea. You’d think this kind of bug or insect would be able to use their long legs to pull them out!

  5. This is such an original way to showcase a door! I love mantis, and am lucky enough to have them live in my garden. One time a mantis came into our kitchen on my husbands head!

Leave a Reply

