My “rich” neighbors~ OWU and Gray Chapel

Image

61 responses »

    • Thank you, Derrick! It was a comforting feeling when I moved here from my home, knowing beauty was right next door at Ohio Wesleyan University. πŸ™‚ Their gardeners keep the property beautiful.

    • Merril, great memory! You’re correct about the front doors being in an arch with Hebrew inscriptions on either side. Since this is a Methodist university I think it makes sense, looking back, that the symbols be from ancient scriptures.
      So cool that you didn’t have snow in November or December. We had our first snowfall and bitter cold the week before December 25th and then a warmer holiday season, off and on. Hope this season rolls past quickly as I can “feel it in my bones!” Ha ha πŸ™‚

      • We’ve had flurries and a bit of snow, but this is the first real snow–and it’s still not all that much. Yeah, I’m not looking forward to more of this.

    • Oh,we had over 3″ back in December. I count it as snowing if it lands and doesn’t melt immediately. I’m glad to hear you are in the “I’d rather have a short winter” club. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, Jill! πŸ™‚ I need to check if you have posted recently. Holidays have been over for a week but I tried to keep my blogging down to a minimum. The kiddos were off, so even while I worked it was nice to stop by and hear about their going’s on.

    • Thanks, Chris! It is interesting to know that Ohio Wesleyan University campus used to be a “sulphur springs resort!” This has such a wonderful “yard” with an arboretum and a labyrinth for my grandchildren to explore. They hold concerts in Gray Chapel. I post about this place about once a season, since it truly is magnificent, as your word expressed my feelings exactly.
      Hope you have been relaxing!

    • Deborah, moving into my apartment building, I had no regrets leaving an oppressive marriage and beautiful home. Knowing this would be my view from the front “verandah” of my building with rod iron bench to sit upon and gaze here. I mostly sit on wooden or stone benches on their campus~ reading books, as well as exploring the property which has an arboretum and labyrinth with the grandies. The gardeners actually wave or chat with me. πŸ™‚

    • Alok, thank you! It is a gorgeous campus which is across a creek from my apartment building. It is downtown Delaware Ohio, so I “joke” as it is such a nice place to live beside. I’m working on two baby name paintings, so will be stopping by when my projects are finished. πŸ™‚

      • When I visit a blog, and I like, I have to leave a comment of encouragement. I can not know all my visitors bienur (1500 every month). Thank you for understanding my friendπŸ’œ

    • I am always amazed at the different seasons and how the building’s blue limestone changes color with them, Diana.
      In the summer it is a warm golden color but presently, it is definitely reflecting the original source where it came from a quarry. πŸ™‚

    • April, I was pulling everyone’s leg a bit, the title does include the Ohio Wesleyan University “initials.” πŸ˜‰
      Thank you for your idea of how “cozy” it looks from the outside. This made me imagine~ it would be so great if they had fireplaces inside rooms. . .
      You are allowed in the halls during school sessions since it may appear you are a parent checking out the classes. πŸ™‚ It has a lovely auditorium, with a built in organ which you can hear outdoors (like some churches.)
      It is a music, composition and literature building called Gray Chapel.

    • It is nice to live in a university town. So glad my grown children stayed here to raise their own children. I picked this on a map, single mother of a 5, 3 and 1 year old half way to my parents in Cleveland and halfway to my exes family in Cincinnati. Life has been sweet here and moving into an apt means they are the holiday hosts! Ha ha!
      The university property is beautiful with so much to offer in orchestra, plays and activities. Thanks for listening, Debby. hugs xo

Leave a Reply

