Thursday’s Doors ~ 65 William Street, another angle.

Image

 

This home is on our town’s 

main “drag.”

William Street 

is State Rte. 37.

This was back in one of the 

early autumn months.

On my way to the library, 

I pass a nursing home, gas station

and on the other side of the street,

St. Mary’s Catholic Church.

I looked up the Federalist style of

architecture which considers 

balanced and symmetrical 

features to be classic 

qualifications. As

far as age of this

house, it may not qualify. 

Our small town was founded in 1842,

while the period was 1785 – 1825.

The Georgian architecture period

followed into the 1830 – 1840’s,

found in English houses.

~~~~~~~~~~
Please check out other members of 

the Thursday’s Doors community,

along with our door leader and 

host, Norm Frampton’s blog:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Hope you have a lovely weekend 

and tomorrow, stop by to read

a Blogging Award post. 

You get to Vote!

49 responses »

  1. Now you have given us more of a view those windows actually work for me so scratch my previous comment …. I love the flat face of what in England we would call Georgian architecture but here you describe as Federalist and that window above the door is achingly covetable!!

    • Oh, Fiona, I may not have let you know clearly but I agree! The Federalist period was considered earlier in America so it should say this doesn’t quite qualify. I added the Georgian details late last night. . . hope it came through in most areas! πŸ™‚
      That double arched window is so sweet, as you covet it. I do, too! πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m not an expert, but I think this is Federalist. I believe Federalist style of architecture in the U.S. flowed from the Georgian style–think King George first and then building the new federal republic, Philadelphia, NYC, and D.C. The symmetry, and the Palladium style window/doors over the front door, which I love, is a typical style feature. Many Ohio residents came from the eastern part of the U.S., and it’s natural that they might want to build new homes in the style they were used to. (I’m just speculating.) In any case, you can design and build something in a style, even if it’s not when that particular style was popular.

    I love the worn red bricks and the red door, but I think the modern white railing is distracting.

    • I only looked up Federalist style and the years it arrived. Then, it displayed Georgian (English examples) style, Merril.
      So glad you feel this house is Federalist which helps put a finishing touch to the debate. Thanks for weighing in on the details, too.

      • I think it’s probably Federalist style, but not era, if that makes sense–but again, I could be totally wrong. I don’t know very must about architecture. πŸ™‚

    • This is nice to know, Jill. This supports Merril’s comments about Ohio people coming to settle here from the East. πŸ™‚
      I liked the idea of having discourse on the house’s period or style. Everyone came up with interesting thoughts.
      Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks, Deborah! I thought I had replied to your warm and enthusiastic comments. I apologize!
      The double windows are like a miniature balcony and would be nice to open in spring or fall, allowing a breeze to circulate throughout the house. πŸ™‚

  3. An interesting building, Robin – I do like the red door, matching the hues of the brick. The two opening French doors above intrigued me as there is obviously no balcony – no doubt not part of the plan. Lovely atmospheric lighting.

    • The double arched French doors are a unique feature, Annika! πŸ™‚
      I wondered about this too. Thank you for liking the look of the picture and it’s house featured. Hugs! xo

    • Christy, thank you for liking this photo and “listening” to the few historical details I was able to share! Hope your new year is starting out well and it shall be an interesting year! πŸ™‚

  4. Your little town being established in 1842, must have a lot of beautiful intriguing history Robin, certainly by the style and character of the buildings, it must be a beautiful place to live.
    Kind regards.

    • Ian, oh how much I like this thoughtful comment! There is a lot to intrigue and enhance here in this “county seat” town! We like that the once sulphur springs site has grown into a university campus. This house on the main route through east to west, really captured the era! Hope you, Ana and your family have a wonderful beginning of this year! xo

Leave a Reply

