Lego “Gang”

Image

Lego Club once a month,

Fun times where kids

may meet children from 

other schools, volunteer to

be on other teams and enjoy

creating arrangements for a

specific theme or purpose,

arranged and organized

by the Children’s 

Librarian at our

local Delaware

County Library.

Make sure you check 

out book clubs, subject matter

adult gatherings (e.g. mystery

readers or historians) and great 

musical, dramatic and family 

entertainment found at 

your local library!

Photograph taken

by blog author of her three

growing grandsons on a cool

but not yet frosty evening, 

(Left – Right)

Landen (11) – Skyler (12) – Micah (8)

63 responses »

    • Two of them may work together but it is cool how they meet up with their monthly friends, too. Colleen, it is funny when they see them during summer, when the “club” is disbanded! Lots of jumping and hugging! πŸ™‚

    • Micah loves being included by his big brother, so I instructed Skyler to take his hat off and they were horsing around right beforehand. I said,”I’m taking a picture in three. One – two – and they posed just like this!”
      I think when I posted about this last year, I agreed it would be nice to have an adult Lego Club! When I was at the mall this past weekend, there was a super fantastic demonstration of a big city, museum, and a railroad made of Legos. Somehow, I got the impression it was built by grown men. Could it be the two men talking and standing by the large demonstration table? πŸ˜€

  1. What a wonderful classic photo. Years from now when they look back on that, it will warm their hearts. And you are so right about libraries. Even in our little town, the library is an amazing place πŸ™‚

    • I like this comment so much, Diana! I believe this bonds the 2 brothers and their cousin, my son’s stepson. ❀ I hope we will always have libraries with such open and innovative elements held within their walls. The Columbus Zoo brings animals, the ballet performs quietly throughout bookshelves, and of course, most libraries have toddler and baby programming. πŸ™‚

  2. My son enjoyed lego clubs too and the Boston Science Museum has cool summer classes for lego enthusiasts.
    Truth be told, I enjoyed building with legos with my kids when they were little:) I am glad that you are enjoying with these three cuties.Micah has grown so tall, Robin!

    • Sandhya, you are so right about Micah! He’s growing faster than most of the kids! His hands and feet look like bear parts. Ha ha!
      I am glad you took advantage of the Boston Science Museum and other Lego clubs! Your boys learned about working as a team, on a project and they could be anything they dreamed about. πŸ™‚
      I usually observe and take pictures to send to their parents. When my son was little, my Dad bought him a big plastic fold-out fishing tackle box to store his little legos. πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome! #1 Grandson would love a monthly LEGO get together. He loves Legos and Mega Blocks, and is quite the builder/creator with them.

    I bet he’d have a great time hanging out with your 3 too. Great image Robin!

    • I encourage them to split up and then add a younger boy or girl. They are used to being part of seven grandies, cousins going to schools, parks and the library together.
      They would ask #1 Grandson what he would like to build. One of the recent boys who joined a couple of them, added a wall and a big tree! Another, they asked to be a “go-fer” and off the little girl went to the big tubs to gather “wheels” and “people.”

      • #1 Grandson has been building robots with the Legos he inherited from my son, and a construction site with a crane that spins 360 degrees with his Duplo legos all afternoon and early evening. He’s finally beginning to settle down and may be heading to bed soon. πŸ™‚

      • This is so wonderful that he has his Daddy’s Legos and the Duplo bigger sized blocks. The crane sounds like my brother’s Erector set crane. Quite exciting while young to have active tools and machinery “to work” with, Deborah. πŸ™‚

      • It is fun to watch him build. The legos he inherited are my son’s which is his uncle. My daughter is #1 Grandson’s mom. πŸ™‚

        Big Baby Boy doesn’t have any children yet, but he’s getting married this year so there’s hope! He may want those legos back one day. πŸ™‚

      • Oh, you know somewhere in my mind you have shared these family facts, Deborah! I appreciate the reminder. It is good to wait to have marriage and children. Thanks for filling me in! πŸ™‚

    • This was helped by my grandson Micah having a hat on his sweaty head. One of my friends says it “looks slicked back like James Dean.”
      Your comment that they are “a cool looking gang” cracked me up, Pauline. Heh heh! πŸ˜€

    • Ann, aww! Thank you for such a nice compliment and it would be great if they became architects!
      I hope they will dream big! I often tell them about their great grandfather (my Dad) working for NASA so they know anything is possible!

  4. Great photo of the three, Robin – they shine with happiness and fun-loving spirit. Did they go to the Lego Club? Are adults allowed?! Our library has been slow at adapting to the modern world but they are now offering a wider variety of events, toddler’s clubs, talks etc and becoming much more a part of the lcoal community.

    • Yes, they have over a year of Lego Club experiences together. They are indeed fun-loving, Annika. Thanks for seeing their shining faces. Adults sit on chairs along the wall. The kids listen to the young man who is the library children’s assistant who recites the rules and time frame. There is a contest where they follow the theme, fill out the group members’ sheet and if they are voted by their “peers” their construction goes under plexiglass. Top two are placed on display in the children’s area to look at. πŸ™‚ Ages 6 – 12, girls and boys.

Leave a Reply

