Thursdays Door’s: School Days

Image


There are two different grades,

I was in fifth grade,

Randy was in fourth grade

at Chestnut Elementary School,

in North Olmsted, Ohio.

We were both wearing those

“Nerdy glasses,”

in those days.

He hated his teacher,

Mr. Dill, who was rather creepy

putting girls in their short skirts

in the front row of his classroom.

Did I hear of any lawsuits or

notice any changes from

when some of my friends

had him till we moved away? 

While we were in N.O. junior high, 

our baby brother was there. 

When we moved to Bay Village,

it was more due to our not

being wild in a development

where pre-teens had started to

shop lift and vandalize new

houses being built.

This is another interesting

art piece, possibly “Americana.”

It holds a “dirty little secret.”

So to me, friend to a girl who was

inappropriately touched, the

Red border tells a story.

While Randy and I felt

weird about no disciplinary

or legal actions taken.

Red = Danger!

———-

This Thursday’s Doors is part of

an awesome collection of doors.

Our fearless leader, Norm Frampton,

has links to all types of doors.

Please check them out

and hope you will~

Join us someday!

Here’s Norm!

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Enjoy the Thursday’s Doors tour!

~~~~~~~~~~

Photo by Robin,
Art by Randy Oldrieve,
my artist brother.

75 responses »

  1. So this art by your brother symbolizes the danger (unsaid and unreported) that can exist in a supposedly safe environment–and the school of your youth? Did I get that right? (Sorry, if I’m a bit slow this morning.) πŸ™‚ Was your friend touched by that creepy teacher?

    • Yes, he touched her back end, patted it as well as leaning over her as she read aloud to the class. She told her mother and she shrugged it off. I wasn’t bothered by the teacher but I was rather “undeveloped” and she was more “mature” looking.
      I felt this was rather cool that Randy made this, but as you know this is still a prevalent problem in society. He is in the left panel, I am in the right. Two different grade school class pictures, as I mentioned. He knew someone also who was touched through her clothes. . .

    • Well, apparently I didn’t spell it out but tried to elude to incidents, Jill. It is sad but somewhat appropriate to bring up so people don’t think the “good old days” were always “good.”

    • Thanks, Diana. I eluded to real incidents, one who was my friend and one my brother knew in his classroom, too. Thanks for understanding the way I had hoped it would “go over.” There’s fire door was also used as a political commentary in another art piece. xo Sending you hugs, dear friend.

    • Thank you, Amy. . . It was the strangest two years, first with one of my friends and then at least one in my brother’s class. We moved the following summer to another suburb. I am still in touch with a friend whose parents also chose to move.

    • It is really cool to know both our families moved away, she to another state and we went to another Cleveland, Ohio suburb. This may have been the tenuous thread which kept us writing letters and staying in touch, Amy.

    • I tried to answer each person who seemed confused, Joanne.
      The atmosphere was weird, sometimes my stomach churned. The male teacher was inappropriate in touching back ends of girls, brushing up against their fronts, leaning over them with the sweatiest hands on their shoulders, only girls. My parents tolerated one more year there, my brother Randy was in his class. We were always open in our house and I was kind of a tattle-tale. Mom was a high school teacher and district Union Rep. If anything has happened to ME, she would have been all over this man.
      We ended up moving before Ricky (now brother goes by Rich) got old enough to be in Mr. Dill’s class.

      • Not cool. Sadly, there was a time when this inappropriate behaviour was quietly swept under the carpet instead of being addressed directly and forcefully.

    • It was shocking to me that this friend of mine didn’t have parents to be her “advocates,” Joanne. I wondered why this teacher didn’t have to face consequences. It is a puzzle which “bugs” my sensitive artistic brother, too.

    • Oh, you are so correct, Anneli! My Mom had at least two H.S. students tell her that a priest told their sister “to sanctify” their upcoming nuptials, they had to let him break their hymen!
      Mom told the girls that this was definitely Not what priests do!
      She ended up calling the two parents to let them know that this priest was crossing the line!
      This section was part of a bigger, red Fire Door. The other part was political, about oil and the (President) Bush and Saddam Hussein. Needless to say, the subject is still “current” but different President (elect). We are not happy with the oil pipeline project in our family. . . Hope this doesn’t offend you, dear friend. ❀

      • Thanks, Anneli. We are much more open and less fearful of repercussions as we age. There are reasons why I am not happy about drilling and digging to place pipeline from the north into the desert, through a Native American reservation and on to Texas. . .
        I would be so upset if my grandchildren would tell me about this Mr. Dill in their school!!

      • Mr. Dill’s employment time would soon come to an end. On pipelines, what do you think about all the railcars with fuel. Does that worry you at all, especially after the accidents like at Lac Megantic? I don’t know what the answer is to the problem of moving the oil, but it seems there are pros and cons to each side of the question.

      • I hate accidents and dangerous spills! I am sure that moving oil is a tricky business and just have to hope someone who is both intelligent and environmentally concerned will help us solve the problem, Anneli.

  2. It’s sad that we have to think of danger in a school environment, but true that we always have had to. These people are always present and always trying to take advantage of those who aren’t protected. It’s a powerful art piece, Robin. Very nice.

    • The sad thing is Randy doesn’t even hang it on the wall, Dan. It was in a few art shows, one at Baldwin Wallace College.
      It was such a traumatic two years, my parents were beside themselves but thought it was not their place to say anything. We had family discussions about any and all topics so the first year, I was a tattle-tale. They emphasized this was okay when we felt uncomfortable to tell them. The second year, with Randy observing was the last straw and we put our house we built up for sale and moved. My little brother (Rich, but we called him Ricky) was spared from the weird environment. It made my stomach ache and one of my friends read a book and said “My skin crawls like this woman in the mystery I read.”

  3. This is fantastic post, Robin. The words and art, your brother is definitely gifted. I was stalked by a teacher in high school, being a rather savvy 17 year old it did not get physical. There are indeed some creepy people in charge of our children.

    • Thank you sincerely for sharing your own story, Holly. I am thankful you were savvy enough to avoid this teacher stalking you! I feel sad for you to have endured this distraught situation!
      I was hoping people would see how this changed everyone in the classroom’s emotional well-being, too. My brother has the teacher standing behind him in the class picture. He didn’t include his whole face. We probably have it imprinted upon all of our memories. It certainly changed the atmosphere in our classes. Hugs to you, dear. ❀

    • The red for danger really makes this stand out. I appreciate your saying this sincere compliment to Randy’s art piece. My brother was almost more bothered by the subject than I was. I suppose he was feeling protective towards my friends and me, Sarah. xo

    • The word you chose is a description of how it felt: “traumatizing.” It was a difficult time to go through. Classmates became close like “family” in those days. Thank you, Inese.

  4. I’m sorry to hear about that. Kind of sad, things are better in schools now of days I hope. I saw you liked Lardy Arms, thank you so much for the visit. Would love to hear your thoughts on Lardy Arms, the people of Gastradamus miss you dearly

  5. That door does have a spectral feel to it, those ghostly children surrounded in red. So many scary things happen to kids, and most people just don’t want to know. I’m glad girls and women can talk about these things without the stigma and blame of years ago. I remember when a girl in a short skirt was “asking for it.”

  6. Wow, Robin. The red definitely shouts danger! AT first, just from the pic, I thought it was fire maybe, then shortly I realized it was a different kind of danger altogether. How horrible! That teacher damaged many a girl, I imagine. ANd boys too, like Randy who were sensitive enough to feel the danger.

  7. Robin, this is such a sad story but one I fear is/was too common and accepted. So hard to understand now that the parents took no action. The box is a powerful representation of the event, with its stark distressed red boards, the separation. Great post.

  8. I have a busty friend who reports similar behavior when she was a child. Victimized with ‘affection’ by teacherS because of her bustline. It’s so disturbing. How sad that children so often bear the damage of unruly adults.
    I like that he used this pain, this injustice, in his art. It’s a powerful piece, like your words.

    • Joey, it is a great addition when people have a personal connection to a post or piece of artwork. Thank you for sharing about a friend of yours who had uncomfortable experiences due to her busty figure.
      It was nice to know my brother had an emotional connection and reaction to this unruly teacher. I’m thankful for his sensitive side. Thank you for your thoughtful words.

  9. This is one of my favorite doors in the series – even though I am saddened by the reason for its creation. If you had comment-likes enabled I’m sure I would have clicked most of them, Robin. This post seems to have touched quite a few more hearts than mine.

    I, too, am always stunned by parents who don’t stick up for their children “officially.” Difficult to understand, and more difficult not to judge. Perhaps they are afraid of repercussions toward their children?
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

Leave a Reply

