Trees are elegant

Image

Stately sturdy trees,

Elegant, balanced examples of

Nature’s soldiers.

Their beauty is bewitching,

Silhouettes enchanting,

Nature’s finest example of giving:

Oxygen, 

thanks to green chlorophyll,

Homes for. . .

creatures as big as 

Orangutans and Cheetahs,

(Children, too.)

Homes for. . .

songsters sweet and chirping.

Chittering, chattering pranksters

chipmunks and squirrels

chasing each other, 

such scampering imps!

Trees open their arms

and embrace us all.

In their final hour, 

providing

wood for warmth

and furniture.

words written by ~

Robin Oldrieve Cochran.

Winter in January, 2017.

~~~~~~~~~~

Prayer at Sunrise

“O greater Maker of this Thy great sun,

Give me the strength this 

one day’s race to run.

Fill me with light,

Fill me with sunlight strength.

Fill me with joy to rob

the day its length.

Light from within,

Light that will outward shine,

Strength to make stronger 

some weaker heart than mine.

Joy to make glad each soul

that feels its touch;

Great Father of the sun,

I ask this much.”

~ James Weldon Johnson

86 responses »

      • Yes, next week your Sunday will be serene! I am happy your new floor project is keeping you busy, Shehanne. Maybe once it is completed you will feel the pleasure of a job done well and enjoy the new floor for years to come, dear! xo

      • We moved to this house just over two years ago and I only every freshened up the living room and kitchen so as to have them ready for Christmas when everything else was such a tip. Walls, floors kicked to bits. Rooms that not been touched in years. It has taken me till now to get round it and back to this room so I have been waiting to get it the way I want it. A total revamp! Kitchen is getting one too. What is keeping me busy is the damned editing I can’t get near! xxx

    • I loved this towering tree, Merril! I attempted to put its impact into words, as well as representative of other trees. Glad this came close, since as all writers or artists do, I see ways I could change it. πŸ™‚

  1. Is your email inbox still crowded? I have some ‘shots’ of the trees by the creek at sunset…
    I enjoy their strength and stretch. A lovey verse by you and the prayer by Johnson.

    • Jules, my email box weekly has about 15,000 emails. I go to the library and just press “all” and delete them. Hopefully, there aren’t any job interview offers, since I am always trying to get out of physical labor at the warehouse. The wages after 8 years cannot be easily replaced, (unfortunately still trying to recuperate my divorce losses including half my STRS, teaching retirement was used to “save” the house. . .)
      Maybe you could use it on your poetry blog? I still have your email address and saved one of your letters. πŸ™‚

      • While I may have your addy somewhere…if you resend it to my email , I could send you some ‘hard’ copies.

        I too try to keep my inbox clean by only following about a dozen places. But I do try to get back to return visits…

        I’ve been slowly cleaning out older emails I think I’m still a couple of years behind. But then I also have several email accounts. One for WP, personal, and I just set up another for just ads. Less I have to deal with that way.

        While I’ve figured out some photo stuff there is still much I haven’t. Posting my own photos to my blog is not one of those things I can do yet.

      • No problem, Jules! I will write this down and use the library sometime this week! I cannot use my packed up email on my phone. It takes up too much space! My phone calls it “being out of synch.” Thanks, Jules.

      • The addy was for snail mail… If I send Photos…I’ll Put Photos in all Caps so maybe you’ll snag it? No worries – just a few tree pictures and you’ve got plenty of your own. πŸ™‚

    • Holly, my grandchildren were playing so I took photos of them mainly but as it got gloomier, we had to leave. Brr-r!
      I felt compelled to walk over and take this tall tree’s picture. Thank you, my dear poetess, for your very kind words!

  2. Lovely reflection on the graceful, life-giving trees that we share the world with, Robin. I love all the different ways that you mention how they enhance our lives. Beautiful prayer too. ❀

  3. I love the look of a tree silhouette when its branches are naked. There is so much beauty and strength in it.
    … but each time I look at this photo, I keep seeing a small bear hanging in the lower branches πŸ™‚

  4. Your photo and your poem are both artistic.
    Once before I recall one of your odes to trees inspired me thusly:
    ‘I think that I shall never see a poem lovely as a tree.’ – Joyce Kilmer
    – Mike

    • I am excited you like trees! I tend to use trees, clouds and kids the most in my blog posts. I am fine with sporadic readers and followers since I work long hours and don’t visit as often as I should. Take it easy you treetastic couple. πŸ™‚ Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

