Thursday’s Doors ~ Creative Foundations

Image

This is Groundhog’s Day

and Thursday’s Doors day, too.

In honor of “combination day” 

moments, Micah is showing 

you one of the side doors 

for Creative Foundations.

He made a foam material visor 

with letters of his name, 

adding the “glitz” which was

spread all over long tables,

sprinkled liberally, with

necessary glue sticks.

Music was playing while adults 

with Developmental Disabilities,

some sitting in wheelchairs,

others “giving tours” to

inspect piles of art

and hanging up. 

Everyone enthusiastically 

talking or greeting each person 

stopping into “their workshop.”

So, Micah smiled, nodded as

he glued stars, flower 

and a crescent moon

onto his visor.

The clients were joyous 

and told him,

“That’s the BEST hat 

we saw decorated today!”

He whispered, as such a

wise seven year old here,

“We can tip them, can’t we?”

I handed him some money

and he flourished it,

waving to all a “farewell”

and dropped money into

a glass fishbowl.

He thinks (seriously) 

said visor

is AWESOME! 

Oh, I tried using my

Nana power to get him 

to pull visor up, so you could 

see his long lashes and 

adorable brown eyes.

This is where I commissioned

a white dandelion painting 

which turned out to be a

gray swirled rose by

a client here.

*Still hanging at 

youngest daughter’s

German Village apartment.

Does anyone remember Amber?

She says her “specialty” these 

days are pet paintings!

Cats, dogs, hamsters and

cute, fluffy rabbits.

If you would like to visit this place

and purchase reasonably priced

art which helps these special

adults, stop by this building,

57 North Sandusky Street

Delaware, Ohio 43015

x x x x x x x x x x

We have a blogging community

Of Thursday’s Doors, led by

a genuinely nice friend,

Norm Frampton.

Please follow this 

Link to see the 

fantastic family 

of door afficiados at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Happy trails to doors!

May they always be 

Open and welcoming!

45 responses »

    • My week is finally coming to a close, Chris. It really is a wonderful program and they all seem relaxed and comfortable. One of the links may show the director. I tried a new way to share using links on their website. So much I still need to learn with technology. . . πŸ™‚ Hope all is going well as you are back at school.

      • It is all good; a bit crazy busy but good. I spent the morning at a great program that teaches adults English. The people are from all over the world. Cheers!

    • I like English as a second language programs, Chris. You fit right in with your own teaching experiences and excellent abilities. I could work with Spanish but not sure I could manage to translate without a refresher course, . . . Or two! I used to tutor in the RIF (reading is fundamental) program. πŸ™‚ Hope your Friday is only a half day in-service but this must have been very exciting!

      • I remember RIF. I think their commercials ( or the memory of them) is what got me thinking about a career in literacy. It was a half day observation followed by an afternoon and evening of writing but a break for a hike and a good dinner. πŸ˜ƒ

    • The town had tents and a fair going on, not many people took the time to go inside to meet the nice folks prepared for many children to visit, Derrick. Thanks for liking my grandson who is losing many of his front baby teeth. πŸ™‚

    • Aw, thanks, Jill. He has a heart of gold. Of the whole clan of grandies, he is the one who will hug and greet warmly, even while in the midst of an activity. He was quiet but smiled at all the people there, who were hoping to have “crowds” but the director said there had been a “trickle” from the street winter fest crowds.

  1. It sounds like a wonderful place, Robin!
    I enlarged the photo and focused in to see Micah’s visor–I also then saw a better view of all the people reflected in the window. Very cool! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for enlarging the photo and checking out the downtown scene, Merril! πŸ™‚
      The winter fest tents were busy and crowded, the people inside were hoping for bigger crowds, especially children! The program’s group were so excited about guests. This is located next door to my bank and the gift shop in the front is open for most business hours. Micah and I have stopped by a few times since he is my little shadow on weekends. They have a lot of $5 paintings which he admires but I talk him into chains, lanyards and cards. His Mom has a lot of her art and the kids art up in their walls already. πŸ™‚

    • So glad you liked the tall doors, Dan! I like the little squares in the row of transom-style front windows, above the big storefront windows. It may be cleared in the link. . .
      I am very proud of how the town has reduced rates for this non-profit organization. The rent is reasonable and they have painting, fabric textile art, ceramics and llttle “camp crafts” for sale. Their kitchen and back area is spotless. Of course, I have stopped in on a few different occasions, since it is downtown and they Love company! Micah and I walk to my bank on Saturday mornings and we peek in to see if they have had their bus which picks up the clients, arrive.

    • Deborah, Micah will be pleased you liked the story about his visor. πŸ™‚
      We walk downtown on summer Saturdays, past the farmer’s market which is on both sides of two town blocks. We buy a cookie, a small banana bread, fresh strawberries or blueberries. I let him have a drink while I buy coffee at one of the coffee shops.
      We head to the bank to get a little “spending money” and this Creative Foundations building is next door to my bank. He peeks in the window to see if the bus which picks clients up and has a chair lift, has unloaded a group yet. πŸ™‚
      I let Micah buy homemade items, like lanyards, key chains or cards. Although some small paintings are only $5, his Mommy asks we don’t buy art. As an art college grad, she has most walls covered with hers, Randy’s and the two boys, Sky and Micah’s artwork.

    • Jan, what a lovely and special thing to say! ❀ thank you!
      This is truly a blessing for all who are part of our community! The developmentally challenged individuals who come independently or on the bus which has a wheelchair lift. It has a route five days a week. There is a smaller Saturday group program, too. πŸ™‚

    • I am so glad you noticed the beautiful, tall door, Luanne! Thank you. ❀
      The stones on the side of the door as well as the little paned windows which resemble a transom style are worth noting.

    • I appreciate your mentioning community interaction, Diana! It is a measure of whether or not a town has forward looking practices. . . hugs for your sweet comments about Micah and his visor!

  2. This one is a beauty I like the rich dark wood. Your grandson is adorable, just make sure he doesn’t lean too hard against that window. Don’t ask me how I know that that can turn out badly πŸ˜‰

    • I had my Mom go into the hospital on Friday, which meant I didn’t come back to check my blog very well, Norm. . . (Pneumonia) so I worked and then drove up to spend time with her.
      I am so glad you liked this door!
      Lastly, thanks for telling me this about Micah and the window. We are often downtown so now will watch old buildings and large storefront style windows! Yikes!

    • Next time, I may just decorate my own visor! Thanks, Ash! You are so sweet to say this about Micah! πŸ™‚

      I missed a few comments while I was up in the hospital visiting my Mom. She’s improving but pneumonia is so scary.
      Take it easy, dear. ❀ xoxo

Leave a Reply

