Thursday’s Doors ~ Core Life restaurant

Image

Isn’t this a cool name?

This is the side door, as I 

leave my car and head 

towards youngest daughter 

into a big hug!

Here is one of three posts, 

Different angles,

Perspectives.

I am encouraging you to

try to eat more fresh food.

Change one or two items in

your grocery cart.

My choices are eating 

more whole grains. I am now

subbing celery and cucumbers

and dipping in yogurt dressing

or hummus!

Here’s a link to the man who 

originally founded our 

wild and crazy doors group,

Norm Fountain has links 

to more doors!

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

32 responses »

    • Colleen, if you are ever hiking or biking at Highbanks and ready to eat, put your bikes back on their carriers. Get in your vehicle and head North to traffic light, then turn East onto Polaris Parkway, park across from the Polaris Mall. It is close to Starbucks and on same side of street as World Market and Kroger’s. πŸ™‚

      • Okay. Thank you Robin. I can’t remember if I have been to Highbanks in recent memory. I don’t think so. But I will keep it in mind for this summer πŸ™‚

  1. Awesome place! And youΒ΄re so right about eating fresh food! Normally I do exactly that – a lot! I just love fruits and vegetables, but since the New Year prices on vegetables have exploded around here like never before! I go shopping and am constantly baffled and shocked! I think I will have to retreat to frozen vegetables soon if the prices wonΒ΄t fall…

    • Frozen vegetables are considered good quality, Sarah! πŸ™‚
      I think not eating mashed potatoes or French fries helps my “new” healthy choices. I eat more quinoa, sweet potatoes or yams, as well as whole wheat noodles for “fillers.” I love frozen peas, broccoli and spinach! Using eggs, you can add veggies and make a simple omelet. . . I am now hungry!!

      • I know, itΒ΄s just that I my freezer section of the fridge is very tiny πŸ˜‰ ItΒ΄s even been said that frozen vegetables have even more vitamins and minerals as the fresh ones because they are immediately frozen after harvested.
        Your new healthy choices sound good, though I could never say goodbye to mashed potatoes or french fries πŸ˜‰ Oho! Talking about food really makes me hungry now too! How good that a homemade lemon cake with icing is waiting for me πŸ˜‰ xoxo

    • I had a kale and greens bowl with bacon, steak, bleu cheese and feta cheese, added purple onions, black beans and several other veggies. It was so delicious, but I had asked for a To Go box, so I would only eat half at this time. Marissa, maybe he would just eat the meat and veggies or try a grains bowl with chicken? πŸ™‚

      • It all sounds delicious to me. Well, I think he’d probably like what you had but convincing him there would be anything like that on the menu is another story.

    • You are so right, Diana. There are too many additives and chemicals in most of our over- processed foods!
      This place is one way to eat out and be fairly true to your beliefs and still taste great. It is always cheaper to purchase items and eat at home, but I sure liked meeting Felicia out to eat! πŸ™‚

    • I have learned how to make hummus, Deborah. πŸ™‚ Sometimes, I look for reasonable and fresh containers in the produce section of grocery store, if I am lazy.
      There was a cozy fire blazing inside and we sat close to it. The stone chimney is where we sat close toinside the building. πŸ™‚

    • Luanne, I know when I have a sweet tooth, it is best to satisfy it with something soon. Otherwise, I may end up going a little crazy and buying more than one treat to “make up for my avoiding sweets religiously!” πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

