Winter projects ~ Puzzles, part 1

Image

“Calming jar,”

recipe online with ~

water, glue, sparkle glitter,

sequin stars and mason jar.

Box of 12 puzzles:  worked on

first one with my guy friend.

We completed second one 

with my little shadow,

Micah, who turns a 

nice even, Big 8

while his great uncle

(grand uncle Rich)

turns a fun 58!

Yes, fifty years

between the two!

Today is ~

February 27, 2017.

Happy Monday to you!

Are you working on any

“inside home” projects?

Memories of a perpetual

card table set up in our 

family room with one 

very tough puzzle:

Imagine a month of 

completing a 

Jackson

Pollack

puzzle!!

92 responses »

    • Thanks, Lisa! The puzzles are only 150 pieces so am working into the bigger ones next. . .The calming jar gets shaken and it looks like golden shimmers of light! The man I like has a son who made a bunch of these at Christmas, this one was a gift. 🙂

    • I haven’t found mystery puzzles but I heard from a friend they “exist.” Apparently you read parts of a mystery and then complete sections of the puzzle. My fellow sleuth friend, have you heard of these?
      My Dad loved the hours we all spent trying to complete that Pollack puzzle! I bet it took us a month, Beth. 🙂

    • We were in high school and I speculate it took us about a month to complete this! My parents liked that we would walk by and sit down “for just a few minutes” and keep building on it, Chris. 🙂

    • Well, Micah and I did a 150 piece puzzle and the other one I worked on with a man I am dating. 🙂 While we three kids were in HS, my parents loved to start 1000 or bigger puzzles. We would talk while doing them. Jennie, you’re so right! Winter’s still going on into April. Or at least until you start more outdoor activities. 🙂

  1. Happy February Birthdays! (Ours are over.)
    Wow–you are good at puzzles!

    My husband does crossword puzzles and sudoku, but that’s it.
    It’s probably a good thing–our cats would have so much fun helping us with puzzle pieces! 🙂

    • Oh, so happy you did puzzles while on vacations. This is a fun memory, Diana. Your grandson may like these 150 piece puzzles in a few years. . . 🙂 Spending time building puzzles, we would share some of our teen aged “angst” while not directly looking at our parents.
      I read an article recently which suggested car rides are good for parent to teen (vice-versa) sharing. Hope someone tries puzzles or hiking.

      • Hiking! That’s another great way to “chat” with teenagers. So much to look forward to as grandmothers, Robin. And without all the pressure of being parents. ❤

      • Oh, wonderful suggestion! I like that we don’t have to have rules or set expectations. It is a really freeing way to express and relate to grandchildren. I could have tried this a little more with my own kids, too. 🙂

    • Oh, how I love unexpected surprises found in unpacking boxes from a move, Sarah! 🙂 It isn’t fun most of the time, I agree with that thought. Hope you are nearing the end of unpacking!

  2. I am not a big puzzle fan. I prefer reading. It might be because one of our cats likes to bother us when we do things on a table, like board games, etc. Still whatever works for you is a good thing. Very cool to be doing it with your grandson.

    • Dan, you are the second person to say this about pets and projects. In the winter, often I am alone in the evening. Books are fantastic to cozy under a blanket and read. I do tend to yawn and get heavy lids on my eyes. 😉
      We read a book together yesterday. Micah has to read for half hour every day. We also played with making domino chains to topple over. I have older, thick yellow ones which feel like ivory but aren’t.

      • My daughter and I used to make up games with dominos. I think she has a set similar to the ones you describe. A friend gave them to her when she found out about the games we played with them.

  3. Growing up we always had a card table with a large jigsaw puzzle in process during the winter months. It was also a useful task for my father during the the first half of his battle with dementia…he was able to put pieces together quite well even after he lost his ability to remember our names…

    • This is so interesting, Kirt. 🙂 My Mom was just placed in a memory care unit, so I will take her to the room where crafts, games and puzzles are stored. I would like to see how she does with this fun task. She knows her memory is going (sadly) and her worst “losses” she feels are not being able to write letters and finish crossword puzzles.

      • My Dad is now in the final stages…doesn’t recognize anyone…so sad…he is 91 and a man of faith…not sure why he hasn’t let go and gone “home”…he always said he would outlive his parents and they were both 92 when they passed…we will see!! My best to you and your mom…not a fun affliction to have or watch…

      • I feel that it is good to have moments where you just hold them or listen to their ramblings. Mom is going to be 89 later this year and she may be safer and feel more herself in a smaller and caring place. This is all we can hope for and showing our love and respect. I am glad our parents have a deep, abiding faith. No fear in their hearts. . . you, your Dad and family will be in my prayers. Hugs, Robin

      • You’re welcome and seriously hope all goes smoothly and peacefully with your Dad. It is so important to not upset him or yourself. ❤

    • That’s right, Marissa! I forgot you and your son share the same date only 30 years apart. 🙂 But try not to remind him of this fact! It is “all about the Mom” when it comes to birthdays! 😉

  4. We used to set up a card table in the middle of the living room…after Christmas…everyone given opportunity to find a piece that fit. have you checked out my new,,,exclusive…blog, THE MARVELOUS MUMFORD ? https://thenewcaz.wordpress.com/ after I did it, I felt disconnected from the whole process! Not as fun…but folks can see my poetry from now on. It’s awfully lonely—all by myself!

    • Maniparna, thank you for your enthusiasm and encouraging words!
      Hope your week goes smoothly and you find peaceful moments. ❤

      Kids are so connected to mechanical devices: Micah and his older brother, Skyler, like computer and video games.
      So, it is nice to help ease their eyes, create less glare on them. Puzzles do help create great spatial awareness. This may help in math, science and create future architects. Legos are great for this, too. It also builds teamwork skills. 🙂

    • Thanks, dear Holly. Do you have any relaxing projects or crafts you work on in the winter? Puzzles are more fun than I remembered. . . art and blogging take up more of my reading books moments than I like, though.

      • As a kid we almost always had a puzzle out to work on when we felt like it. It was fun and gave our hands and head something to stay occupied with , we also had a game of Chess going fur weeks at the time. Now I spend toouch time blogging that’s for sure since I started on a poetry forum 6 years ago. I like to paint but have neglected that. I really want to get into it again and spend more time gardening. I think it’s great for kids to have crafts to work on, especially on rainy days of when theirs no playmates around. It is a lot better than keeping their little heads in computer games etc. h a ve beautiful day Robin thanks for the great posts and beautiful poetry! xx

      • Holly, what wonderful thoughts and fun memories, too. We love art projects but I tend to also either get too tired from work or get “hooked” on blogging.
        Gardening, reading and painting are relaxing while I get a little too excited or feel busy rather than relaxed after blogging. Let’s try to allow for relaxing and calming activities, this Spring and Summer. 🙂

    • Colleen, you are so concise and brilliant with words! 🙂
      The guy I see works on projects with his boys often. They made the big calming jar which my grandies love to turn over and also roll back and forth to create little tornados inside the jar. For their own grandmother, the man’s boys usedlittle baby food jars and made six or seven to make a rainbow of calming jars. It is really spectacular on a window sill.

  5. 4 yr old #1 Grandson brought me over a puzzle box when were at Stay & Play at the Library a few weeks ago. He wanted to put it together. It’s one with really BIG puzzle pieces for kids. It’s a farm themed puzzle. It’s pretty big when complete, and he’s enjoying putting it together. He’s brought me the box 3 weeks in a row to do!

    No remarkable projects going on here.

    Have a great week-end!

    • This was a wonderful and special time with your #1 grandson! I like the way children like to hear stories repeated often. Putting same puzzle together probably builds confidence! xo Thank you for sharing this lovely time at the library, Deborah. 🙂

  6. My favorite puzzle? We had one that drilled down from the USA to our state to our county to our city to our street to our house. Mom had fun piecing the streets and highways together.

Leave a Reply

