Core Life philosophy: You are what you eat!

Image

This is

not a paid

advertisement.

The colorful painted

rustic, wooden mural 

caught my eyes.

Bone broth 

slow-simmered

All Day.

Scratch made,

Sustainable

“real food”

GMO free

Gluten free dressings

Eating clean & green at its best.

I am hoping some may remember

the Thursday’s Doors post with

Core Life restaurant featured.

How are you doing with my

suggestion of switching 

a few choices, making

exchanges in your

grocery cart?

Nutrients

galore

added.

82 responses »

  1. I love the rustic sign post and the ginormous carrots displayed upon it. Yeah to eating more green and we’re making a determined effort this year replacing chocolate / biscuits with berries, nuts and fruit! Working…so far!πŸ˜€

    • Annika, those berries, nuts and fruits are delicious sounding! I do find myself allowing one little treat, a piece of dark chocolate or one pecan cookie daily. I am sure overall we do pretty well! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for understanding why I couldn’t resist capturing this larger than life wooden sign with (affectionately repeating your description! xo) “ginormous carrots displayed.”

  2. What a wonderful way of displaying the good sense of feeding our bodies with healthy things to give us the best chance of health and well-being. My philosophy is very simple – I try, as much as possible, to eat things that are grown (or raised) as close to the ground I walk on as possible. Your philosophy warms my heart xx

    • Your reasons in the first sentence are what helped me to lose weight back in my 40’s, Fiona. ❀ Love your choice of words: "give us the best chance of health and well-being." This is exactly right, my dear!
      Thank you for saying my philosophy warms your heart!! xo

      • Always a pleasure and of course we are on the same page on this one …. I’ve always felt that kindred connection with you πŸ‘―

  3. I love the rustic sign with the beautiful carrots, Robin! I agree with Derrick.

    I eat pretty healthy most of the time–lots of whole grains, fruit, and vegetables. I don’t eat much that’s already prepared. Most of my sweets are homemade, so at least I know what goes into them. (Mixed-berry cobbler last night.) πŸ™‚

    I hate the term “eating clean.” Every time I hear someone say that, it makes me cringe.

    • Homemade sweets or meals are much more valuable to your body, Merril. I agree! You know what goes into them. . . I have been eating much more healthy foods since my high cholesterol scare (I lost 40 pounds in two years to get the doctor to agree I didn’t need meds and side effects.)
      Then, ten years later, my dear brother Randy had quadruple heart bypass surgery, at age 55! He has always been athletic and his art is on large murals and sculptures which use body as well as artistic brain power! Now, knowing my grandchildren expect me to play, run and jump around with them motivates me.
      The words, “eating clean” make sense to me: I want to go out and enjoy a meal and know it doesn’t have artificial colors, sweeteners or additives in the food I put into my body. It is hard to find places that don’t cut corners and add partially hydrogenated fats, for example. Oh, plus most places only use 3 grams of fiber in their bread, usually made with bleached white flour.
      I asked Bob Evans manager and he admitted their “butter has a mixture.” Unless you ask for butter, you will get the mixture!

      • Good for you, Robin! Sometimes it takes a health scare for people to change behaviors. I stepped up my gym workouts after I had breast cancer.
        I understand what “eating clean” means, but I hate the term. I prefer healthy eating or eating healthily, or something like that. After all, real food can be dirty–it comes from the ground or it comes from animals–and cooking it can make a mess, too. πŸ™‚

    • I think your reasoning is sound, Merril! Thanks for taking the time to explain further on this subject and healthy eating is a perfect all encompassing statement. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for liking this featured sign, Jill. I love orange carrots and yellow-orange sweet potatoes or yams (fresh) microwaved or baked with very little butter added. They are all so naturally sweet! πŸ™‚

  4. Our biggest step in eating right was eliminating high fructose corn syrup from our diet – not as easy as one might think. But I still need to eat more vegetables. – Mike

    • I like that some caring bakeries and shops are substituting dates or pineapple bits for sugar. Using fruit juice which has no high fructose corn syrup added is a Big step in improving yours and Florence’s lives! Thanks for sharing, Mike. I love veggies more than fruits. Everyone needs more added, surprising how we need to add proteins to have brain power!

  5. I love the sign! I must say I’m not so good about making changes in winter. Comfort food is so, well, comforting. Spring is close by- good thing!

    • Jennie~ I was just saying this to Beth, in a comment. This is so true about winter, we tend to become more prone to stay inside, less active and eating more (by nibbling without thinking consciously). I do this sometimes reading and snacking! Comfort food is hard to not make in crock pot or Dutch oven or pass up when offered! πŸ™‚
      Heat makes me less hungry and choosing lighter dining fare.

    • I try to eat more healthy lately, Diana. I think having someone to share their life with you creates a more reliable change, Diana. You have a “witness” (“holding you accountable”) to your wise, healthy choices but also when you don’t stay on the right path. πŸ˜‰

      • Or, in my case, someone who sabotages constantly. Hubby thinks that because something is organic, it’s automatically healthy, like cookies. πŸ™‚ I have to do a writer’s diet starting in April. No cookies! Ha ha.

    • Oh, I am probably easily sabotaged by the guy I have been seeing. He often leads me astray in food choices. πŸ™‚ I love Asian and Indian foods but the places we go sometimes have astonishing levels of sodium. Leading him to eat more healthy makes me a little concerned since I want him to accept me with my frailties, so I am cautiously trying to “set an example.” Your hubby sounds good intentioned, though. xo

      • Setting an example is a good approach, Robin. Maybe you can explore other restaurants now and then and introduce him to healthier food without him knowing it. Ha ha. Either way, enjoy those meals out. πŸ™‚

      • Diana, I appreciate your giving me encouragement to try new foods which are healthier for him as well as for me! πŸ™‚
        Oh yes, it is so nice to get dressed up and go out to eat. We are still working on puzzles, along with reading books and discussing. πŸ™‚

    • It is true that healthy foods seem to be more costly, Marissa. Definitely grain fed meats are, as well as vegetables grown without pesticides and other negative choices.

      • Robin–I learned to eat those happily when fresh or frozen. My first real pea from the garden…light years beyond the canned stuff! I do limit myself because my wife is limited…but I still will not eat most mushroom products!

  6. Posted on March 1, 2017 by Jonathan Caswell
    WAITING AND EXPECTING

    He shouldn’t personally

    Take it so hard he says…

    But when his friends don’t show up,

    Disappointed he is!

    –

    He asked yesterday,

    Only one tried…

    He’s happy one friend did

    But youthful joy will die…

    If his invited friends stay shy!

    –

    –J.E.C.

    • Two eleven hour workdays. Long work hours discourage blogging and promote healthy sleeping habits. Sorry, warmer weather is nice but automobile parts needed everywhere means no 8, 9 or 10 hour days. . .Just more and more work and tired older bones. (61 years old. . .)

      • You’re ALMOST as old as my Missus (62). I never said that blogging must take precedence over everything else–just the reverse! Of the two people I was hoping for–you sacrificed your time and made an appearance. AND MY LITTLE BOY and man parts of me …thank you greatly for your validation. I’m 59 years old myself, and I still crave validation! and from particularly favored people…of whom you are!

  7. It’s exciting to me to see how many restaurants in my area now boast these claims and serve such delicious whole foods! I hope some day clean eating is more than a novelty, and is the norm!

    • Thanks so much, Penney! I spent several minutes visiting last week and hope my granddaughter’s birthday party and an evening date allow a gap to go visiting again this weekend! πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, I got these dried bananas from Hawaii this week. They are amazing – just dried bananas, nothing else. They are a variety of bananas I have only seen in Hawaii, and the dried version tastes almost like a fruit roll-up. I want to eat them and nothing else, which, despite them being really healthy, is probably not actually healthy for me!

    • They are certainly more healthy than most foods but even healthy items need to be carefully allotted out, I suppose! I usually take baggies and count out cashews which are great for protein and usually only choose lightly salted, for work snack bags. Sarah, thank you for telling me this about the Hawaiian flexible (like fruit roll ups?!) dried bananas! I haven’t tried these but have had dried banana chips which satisfy my sweet tooth!

    • So glad you do, Deborah! It is hard to stop eating bread, noodles or potatoes but this really helped me lower my cholesterol in my forties. I dropped 20 pounds in one year and 20 more, then following year. It wasn’t “dieting,” it was getting my priorities in line. πŸ˜‰

    • I was craving a good bowl of soup, one of our local restaurants has a great potato bacon and if I haven’t felt like making a batch, I also love their tomato basil soup. If I am there to take home, I ask for a loaf of their sunflower seed bread but this is like you do, less often these days of being careful with my carbs. πŸ™‚ I miss eating more bread than dessert! Thanks, Deborah.

  9. For some reason Robin, anything rustic seems to draw attention and its message seems to carry more weight,, your choice of this wooden mural is no exception, you have an artistic eye for perception.
    Cheers.

  10. Well I feel hungry πŸ™‚ Gorgeous sign! It’s nice to know there are more months of soup to look forward to! But I eat well enough. Meaning, I enjoy bad for me stuff, like hydrogenated oil in my coffee creamer, lol, but I get enough color and fiber, go for the organics, and I hardly eat meats.

    • Joey, thank you for your honest appraisal of your positive choices with occasional ones which may not be as healthy. I use flavored creamers, too. I am addicted to the caramel ones. . . I also eat a treat such as donut, pie or cookie. I am trying to live healthier for my grandchildren, since there were about ten years I had poor food choices frequently.
      My favorite foods are soups and salads! Mmm-m!

      • I contend that homemade sweets are not nearly as bad for you, and I prefer my cookies of the oat variety πŸ˜› LOL Yes, I loooove the Coldstone sweet cream flavored coffee creamer. That is my go-to. (Which is funny, cause I don’t really like Coldstone ice cream…)

Leave a Reply

