Tree shadow on the moon

Standard

Full Worm Moon, held in  

outstretched thin fingers

only represented by top branches.

You are our spring moon,

Indicating softened dirt,

Preparing earth for birds like 

robins who like to dig for worms.

Native American moon names

(specifically, Algonquin tribe)

were shared with Colonial

new Americans,

open to ways

to understand

a wild land.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sent through family member’s

connection, one from a 

social media form.

Sharing with you

means possibly

not able to

attribute or

give credit.

~When moon photo 

is enlarged, the

letters spell 

Kim McFry,

possible 

photographer.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now 60 and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

92 responses »

    • This is nice that you felt the moon was in the branches clutch, Aishwarya. I have been so busy and miss checking out your posts. Thanks for your wonderful comment. πŸ™‚

      • That’s okay πŸ™‚ drop in to read my recent posts whenever​you get a moment πŸ™‚ life here is busy as well, but busy is always good, right?

      • Thank you, Aishwarya! ❀
        You are so right! Being busy means life has opportunities with people like family and friends. πŸ™‚

  1. Magnifique ma petite Robin, quel bel article.
    Parfois, je me demande si la lune brille autant aux USA quand je rΓͺve Γ©veillΓ© chez moi en France…
    Visiblement oui…rires
    Petit coucou de France, bon weekend mon amie
    Tony

    • Thank you, Tony. I had a good weekend. Hope yours was a special one. The full moon was lovely and I took several pictures. This one was sent to me from a friend, from somewhere else. Smiles, Robin

    • I was sent this from someone on FB to my text message as a forwarded picture. Thanks, Bill! Hope you are enjoying your new “digs,” good friend. πŸ™‚
      I had to trade my car in after it broke down twice. So, when you see a silver Chrysler out in parking lot, let me know if someone hits it. It’s gently used. . . take it easy!

    • I am so glad you enjoyed this entire package, Shehanne! There’s a book called the Old Farmer’s Almanac which includes full moon names given by North (Native) American tribes to the colonists. It has planting suggestions and unique facts. Thanks, dear! xx

      • Merril, sorry to hear of snow on Friday. We had a crusty snow which must have had ice mixed in! I hope you won’t have quite the level of snow predicted on Tuesday. Take care and hope you aren’t getting messages intended for Jill. (I pushed her reply button or the one under your comment.)

      • The snow came down quite heavily on Friday for a time, but then later the sun came out, and it melted. Tuesday we’re supposed to have a nor’easter, so it’s going to be a nasty day, even if we don’t get much snow. Right now they’re saying about 6 inches. (But not as bad as what my daughter in Boston will be getting!)

      • Merril, the nor’easter sounds ominous while six inches isn’t much to you, it can really slow down Central Ohio people! πŸ˜€ I will still hope you, your daughter (in Boston) and rest of family are safe on Tuesday and into Wednesday.

        Having been raised along Lake Erie, we all learned how to practice driving in snowy parking lots so I am rather good at driving while my friends I have met here are nearly “immobilized” on snowy days. πŸ™‚

      • No, six inches is a lot here, too, and traffic also gets stopped. We will be staying home, if it’s as bad as predicted. Now–they’re saying more than 6 inches. We’ll see. πŸ™‚

      • We had only two inches last night but ice over the top of it so scraped and walked gingerly across my apt parking lot, Merril! First break already here and gone. . . πŸ˜‰

      • We ended up with only an inch or so snow, but now it’s rain, sleet, wing–it’s very icy here, too. It looks like there’s a bit of snow mixed back in now. Really nasty weather! Be careful. I’m staying in today.

    • Jill, not sure why but I am trying to reply to your comment but it landed under Merril’s. . .
      I wish you had not received snow. That’s a crazy jump in temperature and climate!
      My Sunday has been great and relaxing, thanks for hoping I have this happen. I hope your week goes smoothly. xo

    • Even though they say we will not see another “super moon” in our lives, I think the moon coming up when it is full or nearly full, is magnificent! I did take photos last night but this posted one was forwarded twice. I did enlarge it and found a name in cursive in right hand corner; so I updated the post, Merril. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, good to know! It was very cloudy during the recent Super Moon display, our newscaster and weather person said we would “never” see one again. Lol πŸ˜€ I suppose I should have known weatherman couldn’t be trusted!

    • Thanks, Beth! The moon is magnificent and magical. πŸ™‚
      The image was forwarded to me from a FB member to my picture texts. I enlarged it and found the name on the photograph!

    • Thank you, Colleen. πŸ™‚
      I was sent this amazing photograph from someone who had it forwarded to them. I did add a credit to who I think signed the picture in right hand corner.

    • I wish I had been able to capture such a sweet full moon photograph! (I took some I will use next month. . .)
      Chris, my weekend went very well. I traded in my car and bought a newer, gently used car. My foot is on the mend and I was happy to attend a granddaughter’s birthday party. A date night on Saturday didn’t happen, sadly since the man I date had to take his mother to visit her sister and nephew. Both are sick and I didn’t want to catch something. I relaxed!! Hope yours was relaxing and pleasant, too.

      • It sounds pretty good all around there, Robin. I finished up a big school project but got in a couple of hikes, went out on a photo shoot that I’ve wanted to do for a while, and went for dinner at a Salvadoran restaurant in East Boston. Good times. Oh, and I am reading a great book about a woman who along with four other women set the speed record for rowing across the Atlantic – Fantastic!

      • Oh, this is quite a busy schedule and full of interesting activities. I enjoy Spanish and Mexican foods, Mom would make quite a lot of her favorite Spanish style meals, as well as taking in Tacos on one day or Tamales another in crock pots for her high schoolers. πŸ™‚

      • It has been a busy semester. But it all winds down today…sort of. I still have some observation hours to do, but that is less like school-work. Mmmm Mom sounds like a good cook. Cheers!

      • I’m assuming the Salvadoran restaurant would have some overlapping flavors of cumin and red peppers. (?) Smiles and take it easy, Chris.

      • Actually, no. Salvadoran food is not spicy the way Mexican food is. That is why Mexican food is as popular in El Salvador as it is here in the US. I had pupusas, which are tortillas stuffed with a mozzarella-like cheese and other things. I had one just cheese and the other is like a cheese and bacon-y filling.

      • Oh, well that is interesting. Although Spanish is different from Mexican, they have some overlapping dishes like “paella.” The spices promote good health in heart and circulation. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, this is gorgeous! Magical and amazing how the moon seems to be cradled in branches of the tree. Love your accompanying writing, Robin, catching the new start of Spring that this moon heralds. I have to look for those Native American names for the moon…I love learning these things!

    • Annika, so happy you liked this shared moon picture. When I enlarged it, I did add the name I see in the right hand corner. . .
      The moon was magnificent and magical last night and I captured it in three different photos so will post them next full moon in April. I believe it is called a pink full moon. πŸ™‚
      I was writing and posting calendars every month for nearly two years asking for international additions. A dear blogging friend named Jules, whose blog has Jules gemstones in her blog name. She told me about the various moons and I purchased an Old Farmer’s Almanac which includes gardening tips and farmers helpful advice. Maybe the library in your town may have this but you can plug it into the internet and find out there is a website.
      Last but not least, if you are ever interested in checking a monthly post out, they sometimes show up like this month, the December one popped up as a link under the likes. πŸ™‚ A pleasure sharing thoughts with you and look forward to reading your posts!

    • Sarah, I hope you are feeling better! Big HUGS xo
      You have had a “bug” (we use this term for colds and viruses) for over two weeks, dearest.
      I was so pleased someone forwarded this photograph to me from off a FB page. I did enlarge it and found a name and updated this post. I felt funny not knowing who to give credit to.
      I think it is fascinating to learn of moon names and if you ever hear of other ones, please let me know!
      For almost two years, I posted monthly calendars and my friend and fellow blogger, Jules, shared the Native American month’s names. I enjoyed this and the WordPress sometimes offers links to those old posts. I included appropriate poems I found but didn’t create more than about five during those years. I researched and womrote wordplays and essays. No pictures! Can you imagine? πŸ™‚ : D

      • I will look out for those monthly calendar posts then πŸ˜‰ IΒ΄ve always been so fascinated by Native American culture, I think, every child is πŸ˜‰ ThereΒ΄s so much to learn and the inspiration it offers for artists is endless!
        I hope your mother has recovered fully from her pneumonia by now?
        And how are you and your eyes??
        Take care! πŸ™‚ xxxxxx ❀

    • Sarah, Mom is recovered from her pneumonia and this was so nice of you to ask. I am at the library where the screen is nice and big to see!
      Mom has been placed in a single story, large place where she has a small apartment and much supervision. No one will find her walking out into the cold air (past the front desk in the last place! sad about that!) She will like the people there, a few familiar faces from neighbors who also had concerned family members and they were also, fading memories. I have heard a few good things from my brothers and sister in law, but I usuall skip driving in March, such windy, slushy, sleety and snowy days and nights.
      I will need to check in on you so I know how well you are doing, dear. Sorry your bad cold and aches, pains and eye troubles seem to be lingering way too long! sad about this, too.
      hugs xoxo ❀

      • IΒ΄m so glad your momΒ΄s feeling better and that you’ve found a good place for her – the last one did indeed sound ghastly!
        Hope the snow will soon disappear and that Spring will be on its way!
        Wish you a very lovely Sunday, Robin! πŸ™‚ Huge hugs! πŸ™‚ xoxoxo ❀

    • This photograph was so beautiful, I couldn’t resist sharing it, dear Fiona. ❀ Glad you enjoyed the magnificence of it.
      Thank you for your nice compliment on my text I wrote!
      I am so happy I received this as a picture text and it had been forwarded to DIL, Trista, from someone else. πŸ™‚

    • Diana, I wish I had taken the beautiful photograph. πŸ™‚
      Someone who forwarded it had received it on FB. They sent it to me as a picture text. Anyway, I am glad you liked the descriptive words chosen to set the mood for our upcoming Spring. Happy Spring to you, too! xo

    • Thank you very much for enjoying the words I wrote to accompany the full moon, Luanne! xo
      It was a lovely image and thankfully, it was forwarded to me. I had taken several moon photographs yet none were this crisp and clear. I may publish my own full moon pictures next month. . .

      • My iphone will NOT take moon photos. They turn out looking like mud. Glowing mud. I don’t know what can be done about it. I hope to see yours soon!

      • Yes, I have started enlarging before taking the photos. Between 2.5 and 3x comes out not too bad. I have to aim the camera at the sidewalk or grass to get it to darken and then aim up at the moon. Still not like this one which had to be taken with a telescopic lens by a really fine photographer. hugs xo

      • Enlarging with an iPhone or a camera? If it’s an iPhone, how do you do that haha? I mean I can zoom in, but it just makes things blurry and nasty.

      • I am sure it is similar to your zooming in. I use my fingers to widen the screen. The edges don’t seem to bad. Maybe the sky is clear and this helps? I don’t have a digital camera connected to my computer so I use my phone. People, birds and some other detailed items don’t turn out well but the moon is just a lemon colored orb. πŸ™‚

      • Oh, Luanne. I would ask people you trust which phone you should use. I am a Verizon customer, for Christmas got my 12 year old grandson a Moto phone and I have a Droid. I used to have a Galaxy 6 or 7. I liked my old flip phone. Life is so complicated! πŸ™‚ xo

      • I have an old fashioned phone that my grandies play secretary and teacher (?) on it. What started this idea was while in teaching my last 9 years of preschool we would use hand signals for the 5 little monkeys jumping on the bed. . . Mama called the doctor (well the little ones were giving my teaching assistant and I a weird look: “Why are you using a finger and making a circle?” Well you are pretending to dial a phone!! So, off to thrift shops and garage sales to acquire the antique equipment like rotary and push button phones and typewriters! Just a fun play center called nostalgia or The Office. πŸ˜€

      • It was cool to introduce preschoolers to older styles of phones, Luanne. Did you ever have a “party line?” At my Grandpa and Grandma’s house, when you picked up the phone sometimes someone was talking to someone else! Now, this makes me think of Lily Tomlin playing “Ernestine the Operator.” πŸ˜€

        Then when I became a Nana, I just continued on the same path of trying new things with them, too.

      • We not only had a party line where we lived in the summers at a lake cottage, but a party line scene is in my memoir . . . . Haha, I used to love Ernestine.

    • I am so glad you experienced the party line, too. The lake cottage was a wonderful place to have all kinds of water adventures, time with family and now I know, you had the nostalgic experience of a party line! Luanne, this is great to know since I cannot tell you how many Cleveland friends never had this type of phone connection. πŸ™‚ xo

      • They were already gone from the “city” areas when I was growing up, but many people who lived in more rural areas still had them. They are almost forgotten altogether.

    • Oh, Deborah. So good to know you gave me an extra point for trying to identify the photographer’s name. I like the different moons’ names. Glad this post was one you enjoyed. xo

  3. Wonderful image and post, Robin! Thank you for reading my blog, and all your considerate, kind thoughts. I really appreciate it, and it is much needed. Like love flowing from your heart to mine, very healing and soothing xx

    • I am blessed also with our new connections which held parallel experiences. Even though you are far away, you are like a cousin or younger sister, Vonita. xo Thank you for such a warm sentence about love flowing from my heart to yours. I am going to treasure this thought and cannot believe we “met” through blogging. Hope you and your children have a lovely weekend!

      • Thank you Robin, I woke up to rain, it is 9am Saturday morning, and I’m listening to the rain, it is wonderful! I’m also so glad and thankful we have managed to connect xx have a lovey weekend too!

      • Turns out I found my story and couldn’t resist re-blogging it!
        I was on my cellphone so it took awhile but I gave you credit for the push to publish it again, your talk mentioning this photo was “a perfect backdrop for a scary story!” Thank you! πŸ™‚

  4. That is a lovely illustration. Robin sightings have increased here ten-fold in the last week. I never thought to thank the moon πŸ˜€
    When is your birthday, Robin?

  5. Robin love the image and the words, funny from this side of the moon its our Autumn, sometimes we have family parties where we all go out and celebrate under the moon and send each other pictures of what we were doing on the full moon. A bit of family fun are our full moon parties when we all live so far away from each other. We feel close when we look up and know we are under the same sky and share the full moon together.

Leave a Reply

