Thursday’s Doors ~ Gallant Farm Preserve, barn door

Image

Brrr- r!

the icy grass doesn’t indicate 

breezy and freezing temperature.

I remember my friend’s father when

she left the door to the refrigerator

saying, “Close that door!” Then, 

he would go further by adding, 

“You weren’t raised in a barn.”

Hope you will enjoy this

red barn door and go

ahead to check

more door 

links at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

That’s where you’ll meet 

Norm Frampton:

You’ll be glad you did!

X X X X X X X X X X

Everyone had great comments 

about what seems to be a 

universal and common

expression about leaving doors open,

 which brings a scolding!

I have a dear friend, Sylvia,

who added a link in her comments:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Barn_Murder

Please stop by Sylvia’s blog, Another Day in Paradise, to see her beautiful travel photography and funny, special critters who hang out in her own back yard!

74 responses »

  1. I spoke to my mum on Wednesday and she was remeniscing about the drive from New England to Ohio that she used to make with her brother (he lived in Connecticutt and his eldest lives in Shaker Heights OH) and how she loved the barns. Lovely to see this one – makes me feel close to her somehow. Thank you xx

    • You know, I lived on the west side of Cleveland in Bay Village, which has a similar kind of houses and “quaint downtown” as Shaker Hts. 🙂 Fiona, we made the trip to Rockport, Massachusetts every other year in a station wagon from Ohio. . . So wonderful you were thinking about me and talking about Ohio to your sweet mum! xo I am glad we have these ties, happy to know this, too. Give your mum warm regards from Ohio. xo

    • I don’t like my doors shut very much either, Shehanne! I hope I was raised in a pony or horse barn. 😉 Their gentle, big eyes and pretty eyelashes show so much intelligence! You always crack me up!

    • It is a neat place where they run a natural, old fashioned farm, gardens and chickens. The book club I attended last year had us meet inside the farmhouse. They served cookies, cake and one time, a tomato, herbs and cheese pie. It was a savory snack!
      I like the park across the street, Merril. My grandsons and I have hiked and had picnics there. 🙂

    • I like the family friendly activities where they make things with kids, as well as the book club was a nice activity. The group was mainly elderly, retired people which included a dear friend among them, who spent most of her seventies into eighties in India! (Yay, Babs Tull! 🙂 )
      I was disturbed by one book glazing over a drunk grandmother fondling her grandson’s crotch. As it was a memoir, the reviewers had thought was so “beautiful and poignant.” Having served as a child advocate and hearing first hand stories how “ugly” abuse can be festering in a child’s mind nearly ruining them as an adult, I was more disgusted with the way the group didn’t focus on this pivotal event. We had a rather heated discussion about how this wasn’t meant to defeat the reader nor take away from the rather sordid story.
      I wrote a post about it, Merril. I was grateful for my dear friend who agreed but later, after reading one more book which I did enjoy, I discontinued going. Babs told me she wasn’t sure we were “among friends.” She meant open-minded people who don’t sweep the bad under the rug. . . she didn’t even come back to the next book club meeting, like I did. I wanted to leave a better impression since I constantly run into people and cross paths in my town. I prefer to have cordial greetings, as many of the group go to either the downtown farmer’s market or the library.

    • So glad you do! It sure has that tight, upright “look” that reminds me of old fashioned farms. It made me think of how the story in “Footloose” goes, when kids couldn’t dance in high school. You know “the rest of the story,” Chris. . .

  2. I hadn’t realized how many types of doors there were until you started this Thursday’s Doors post. And yes, I do recognize that frost tinged grass. Just like ours has been lately.

    • So glad this red barn for you excited, Kirt!! Thank you!
      This is in Delaware County, Ohio. It has a beautiful old fashioned farm house, too. I think it is coming up next week.

    • Red is one of those vibrant, “look at me!” colors, Jay! ❤ I sure do like red barns and on the red carpet of award show; I seem to like the red gowns best!
      I seem to recall, the ladies and gentlemen wear fancy attire at the film festivals you so frequently attend. 🙂

    • Ooh, what a fantastic link you gave us!
      Thank you, so very much!
      I am going to write this into my (above) post, Sylvia! Maybe you’ll have a couple more guests checking out your worldwide travels and your amazing “menagerie” some day when my red barn is a “link” at bottom of someone else’s post!

      • So glad you enjoyed the link, Robin. I really should write a post about the old gentleman I referred to. He was a big part of my childhood years. A very eccentric and generous man.

    • The paint is so thick that it adds a sheen to this barn. Unless someone were studying it, they may drive by not knowing how old this is.
      The tightly shaped, smaller barn indicates it’s age. Someday, I will check out more of the preservation parks system. Too bad my photos of a Shaker Farm are on older already developed photographs. I am glad I purchased postcards there to remember the interiors which you probably know aren’t allowed to be captured on film. I like checking out your historical doors, Joanne! 🙂

    • I am so glad you liked this suggestion about postcards, of places where they say: “No cameras allowed.” They are usually reasonably priced and professional in appearance. I did this at Williamsburg and in many Washington D.C. locations. Like when the lighting is so beautiful on President Abraham Lincoln’s statue, if someone doesn’t have time to come back. . . 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Norm, for thinking it was a beauty! It is challenging when I haven’t traveled this winter to find something different for our Thursday’s Doors “presentation.” 🙂

  3. Another great shot, Robin. You have a great eye and such beautiful settings to work with. Whenever I need a smile, I come to your site and look at the photos – a guaranteed smile.

    • Thanks so very much, Ann. My brother was a professor and stayed with a Jewish family and an Arab family in the Gaza strip area. He was there to help teachers learn new methods of teaching math and reading to children with learning disabilities. He felt both cultures were open to finding better ways to teach special education courses. His sympathy laid with the Arabs in their losing their homes and shops. He felt a possible correlation between the Arabs and the Native Americans. The book you suggested would be one I would take out if the library. Amreeka sounds very intense and meaningful, Ann. Sending you hugs for your caring messages. xo Robin

Leave a Reply

