Spring colors

Image

This is a different way to look 

at the brightest pink flowers

and one very still butterfly.

(Like a tube of toothpaste

squeezed in every direction!)

~ ~ ~

“Little Beauties”

by Robin O. Cochran

“Chasing the little butterflies

who flitted around in circles

and rising straight up into air,

like busy helicopters.

~  ~  ~

I grew weary and decided to 

act like a Zen master,

breathe in . . . breathe out.

I could forgo my needs

putting others first.”

– – –

Summary of event:

The crowded butterfly room 

in our Columbus, Ohio

Franklin Park Conservatory

meant being careful not

to bump anyone nor

step on any toes!

x   x   x

Photo of real butterfly

and living palm tree,

beside bright flowers

created all kinds of

“happy dances” 

in my brain!

Does anyone know

flower’s name?

37 responses »

  1. I was wondering where this was (before you mentioned it), since it looks more like summer than spring. Beautiful butterfly and flowers. I can see why you were doing a happy dance, Robin.
    It’s cloudy and gloomy here–except for the burst of color from spring flowers.

    • The butterflies are in cocoons until they get ready to be released in this almost Florida temperature grand room! I like the way our cities have conservatories, so many who don’t go to fields or woods often may see these beauties, Merril.
      The colorful experience definitely lifts your mood! (Although the packed pathways were like a “toothpaste tube being squeezed in all directions.”) I’m glad you have some bursts of color in your life, in many different ways. πŸ™‚

    • If I had remembered that I had seen such brilliant colors in the conservatory, along with so many butterflies, I may have worked harder to make this an “annual feast” for my children’s eyes. πŸ™‚ Now that they are grown; they say I did take them a couple of times, Dan.

    • Lisa, it is so funny but I think our memory sometimes becomes fuzzy. When I go to places like the zoo or conservatory, it is like they are totally “brand new visions” to me! I said this to my friend and we chuckled thinking how this is like a mind trick. Thank you for saying this! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I have heard that several nature conservatories have the cocoons and they keep a warming room. We saw the rows hanging upside down on board shelves. Then a docent or worker brings one of the boards into the butterfly room, (the room has an entry space with netting before you enter the grand room). Once those shells of cocoons are cracking they shake them a bit and out emerges the various species of butterflies. I captured only a few different kinds as it was elbow to elbow in people. πŸ™‚ You’re most welcome for your glimpse! ❀

    • It was an amazing day at the Franklin Park Conservatory, Deb! I think it was like a blessing to have this steady and true blue butterfly patiently wait for me to weave through the crowd to get close to it! xo

    • Oh, thank you so very much! Inese, it is always an honor when you compliment my photographs! xoxo ❀ Hope you are feeling better and stronger, dear. πŸ™‚

  2. Such a glorious butterfly and flower, Robin! The colours are so vibrant and yet contrast perfectly. What is the butterfly called I wonder? We have been to quite a few ‘butterfly’ places here in the UK and abroad and they are always a wonderous delight – and lovely and warm in winter time! πŸ˜€ Thank you for sharing this hint of summer heat as we amble towards Spring warmth!❀️

  3. I like the breathe in and breathe out part, Robin. And the splash of vivid color so appreciated by me on this very overcast foggy day. No I don’t know the name of the flowers, sorry. Much Love and (((HUGS))) Amy ❀

  4. Beautiful butterfly and fantastic flowers. A perfect pair. (Our butterflies rarely stay in one spot for more than a second…but they don’t have a palm tree to chill out on either!)

  5. Reminds me of my mother’s garden in south Florida πŸ™‚
    I say it’s a bougainvillea, but it’s hard to tell, really. Sure does make me happy to read of your happy!

Leave a Reply

