Ducks under evergreen trees

Image

In early morning, 

I am awakened by ducks,

Quacking and caterwauling,

Nearly too noisy to sleep!

Grandson, Micah, tells me he

thinks they are “having romance!”

Some may be shocked an 8 year old

who has this frame of mind,

but I remember when 

Animal Kingdom ~ 

(Television series)

National Geographic ~

(Magazine)

were part of my growing up

Informal sex education!

The “birds and the bees”

were never a hidden secret

around my scientific father nor

my high school teaching mother.

~~~~~~~~~~

“Wild Kingdom” produced by

Mutual of Omaha, was hosted 

From 1963 until 1985 by

the renowned Marlin Perkins.

He also was the director to

The New York Zoo in

Buffalo, New York, 

the Lincoln Zoo

in Chicago, Illinois

and the St. Louis Zoo.

Thank you for not forgetting

those magical nature programs!

60 responses »

    • Thank you for saying ducks are cute. πŸ™‚ They are rather funny, walking on the ledge of the wall in single file. Silly ducks!
      I looked the TV show up. I edited and added the name of the show, “Wild Kingdom,” sponsored by Mutual of Omaha. Marlin Perkins was the host. I had thought I would get back to this post, Lisa. . . .

  1. What a lovely setting, Robin. This is part of your apartment complex? I like the moss covered rocks. Ducks are fun to watch. “Having romance” seems tame to me. I think it’s rather perceptive–he’s probably heard that many animals mate in spring.
    Of course, my girls grew up with my books about sex in history lying about, so it wouldn’t shock me. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for asking this! My apartment building has a side parking lot, then three bridges which cross this stream. The wall, stream and the other side belong to Ohio Wesleyan University. There is an arbor and a labyrinth under the tall trees here. I like to feature the university, since it is quite lovely.
      I am blessed to have beautiful “neighbors,” Merril. πŸ™‚
      I didn’t think you would be shocked by Micah. It is cool how you also had daughters who were given opportunities to find out details on this subject.

      • You are fortunate to live in such a lovely setting, and I imagine that living next to a university, you also have access to some interesting events and resources.
        I’m always amazed and saddened by people who are against giving kids information–denial or incorrect science and history–over facts.

    • This made me chortle and nearly spit my small juice glass of bedtime wine out! Sppfff!

      Thanks, Derrick. You know I will stop by soon. . . . My 2 days have been 11 hours at work and four hours at home. πŸ™‚ I’m not complaining, just explaining!

    • So right you are, Beth! πŸ˜‰
      By the way, I looked up some more about the TV show~ Mutual of Omaha produced, “Wild Kingdom.” Marlin Perkins was the Host from 1963 -1985. Just because you never know when you may want to go into detective work, I thought I needed to add, “Just the facts.”

    • Oh, Mother Nature shows us to be honest, open and informative to our children (and grandies, should they come along. πŸ™‚ )
      Thanks, Fiona ❀ for noticing my grandson, Micah.
      He is my funny and astute sidekick. He is the only grandchild of seven (well, baby Hendrix can't talk yet) who asks to go visit my Mom often. He's been there for 3 day weekends and helps both Mom and myself to stay organized: he reminds us to take her walker and don't forget my cellphone. . . πŸ™‚
      Love the link and will see if it may be tomorrow I check it out. . .

      • A friend of mine would say he’s an old soul. She once made this statement about my third daughter who is still the most thoughtful, wise head I young (24 now) shoulders. I find her very calming and yet witty and fun and yes, astute. I’m so glad you have this gift in your Grandie brood … he is a very special young man πŸ˜ŠπŸ’›

  2. Beautiful photo, Robin. I also remember Animal Kingdom and the open and honest answers to “what are those two dogs doing” kind of questions. “That’s the story of, that’s the glory of love…”

    • The song was a good addition to the idea of the birds and the bees, Dan. I was rather surprised but while working today at the warehouse it hit me. . . the TV show was really called, Mutual of Omaha’s “Wild Kingdom.” I added more information to my post including about the Host who was Marlin Perkins. His hosting the show was an amazing 22 years, from 1963 – 1985. He also was the director of three zoos! πŸ™‚

    • The time he said it, I was still nearly asleep, Marissa. I didn’t take time to smile at his innocent comment. I just suggested he try to sleep a little longer! πŸ˜€

  3. I used to watch Animal Kingdom, and Jacques Cousteau with my Dad every week. Those were great shows and very educational.

    Those evergreen trees are huge and great place to have a Spring romance. The ducks have great taste in parks.

    • I loved Jacque Cousteau, Deborah! xo It occurred to me that the ship was called the Calypso. It sure introduced a generation to the vast and amazing water creatures under the ocean.
      I thought also of the name of the show while working at the warehouse today. “Wild Kingdom,” sponsored by Mutual of Omaha. Marlin Perkins was host from 1963 -1985.
      Last but not least, I am blessed my apartment building is beside this stream, the property, where there is an arbor and labyrinth, belongs to Ohio Wesleyan University.
      I have elderly apt. neighbors, college students and adults with disabilities living in my building. πŸ™‚ Just so you know more of my current background.

    • Oh, this is a “hot off the presses” post, Sarah! I caught the ducks on Saturday! (3/25/17, while waiting outside for my date to arrive. πŸ˜‰ ) It is definitely a spring light green shade sprouting forth. I saw forsythia in bloom, too!

      • Hopefully that went well!

        Our forsythia aren’t out yet – maybe next week, but definitely soon! I don’t have any in our yard yet, but that’s one that has to get planted this year, if only because I can force them during the winter and get a little pop of color during the cold and dreary days!

    • Thanks, Chris for joining me while I crack up all over again! This occurred, as mentioned, very early in the morning. So, I didn’t laugh too much at the time. I just whispered could he please try to go to sleep and not wake the other two cousins on their sleepover. πŸ™‚

    • Sylvia, thank you for noticing the setting. πŸ™‚ Those draping evergreens are rather lovely, nice and cool to sit under on pine needles. I start to read a book there and then switch to the benches by the labyrinth. Very soothing. Squirrels, ducks, crows, and we used to have a couple of frogs and one lonely turtle in this stream. No herons or iguanas (or alligators, yikes!)

    • Shehanne, Micah is a hoot! There are some kids who have an innate sense of humor and he’s got it! Thanks for your “brilliant!!” and “laughing out loud!” I shall pass this on to him. πŸ˜€

    • Kids really do say the “darndest” things! πŸ˜€ Thank you, Debby. I would have laughed but I wanted him to sleep awhile longer and not wake his two cousins who were there for a sleepover. Later, after my coffee and the day was proceeding nicely, I said thank you for his funny words and wrote them down! πŸ˜‰

  4. I can relate to the duck noise, only in my case there is a permanent resident flock of Canadian geese hanging around our complex.

    I wonder if Micah knows that grownups think he is clever. Regardless, he clearly know how to play to his audience.
    – Mike

  5. We are fortunate to live near a wetlands environment where geese and ducks and miscellaneous other wildlife get to do their thing. I admittedly don’t take enough pictures of them because I’m too busy actively taking it all in when we see them all out and about!

Leave a Reply

