Crafts taught me by “C”

Image

 Box knot pattern,

Braiding cords together:

So far, the guy I date has been

teaching me how to use what

is considered “parachute cord”

or Paracord. YouTube has 

tutorials on the internet

For something similar to what

I used to make out of plastic cords.

We used “550 weight” parachute cord. 

Skyler wanted OSU colors

of  “scarlet and gray,”

charms of “magic trick”

with a black “top hat” where a 

bunny will be pulled out of it!

His second charm is a pink guitar.

There were no bass or cello charms.

Add black and red glass beads, 

with a dog leash hook.

While the three M’s,

my dear little grandies,

cousins of each other and my 

weekend “shadows,”
chose a neon pink cord, 

“rainbow-colored” black cord

and for their lanyard, solid black cord.

The charms vary on their silver hoops.

If you enlarge them, you may see

Micah chose food items of

Pizza,

Cupcake,

Candy bar,

Sandwich cookie with <3.

(No lecture from Nana about 

healthy food choices!)

 ğŸ™‚  ğŸ™‚

Makyah chose 

Guitar,

Cupcake

Sunshine,

Sandwich cookie with <3.

~~~~

Marley has more variety:

Ballerina gymnast,

Sunglasses,

“Rock star”

Guitar.

xoxo

I have two more to do ~

Landen and Lara’s.

Someday, 

Hendrix will want one.

These are not for children under 3.

I can only guess what he may choose!

The charms found at Pat Catan’s

are from the “quarter” bin!

(Twenty five cents!)

The glass beads, which I 

used two for Skyler’s lanyard

plus two metal grommets 

with glass crystal “jewels.”

Lara who wants her school

colors,  orange and black,

will have beads plus metal 

grommets which come from

dangling chains, 

only $1.00 apiece!

If you ever are in Cleveland, Ohio

Please check out the arts and crafts

materials from this shop which

now has an offspring 

Right here in

Delaware, 

Ohio!

****

My Army veteran man,

once a medic and 

another stint serving

as a tanker soldier,

The U.S. Army calls these soldiers

“heavyweight champions 

in the battlefield.”
He tells me, the reason why 

Paracord lanyards make sense is, 

“In times of danger,

while hanging in a tree

or needing to pull 

someone out of

deep water,” 

you just:

“Undo your lanyard!”

How exciting and useful to know

this important lesson. The boys

were especially appreciative to

learn this utilitarian purpose.

We completed our seashell puzzle,

ate Italian food and are going to see,

“Boss Baby,” meeting my friend

and co-worker (brave woman!)

to walk to the Strand Theatre.

Hope you had a lovely and

wonderful weekend.

This post is to explain 

absences from my weekly

blog friend visiting. .  .

34 responses »

    • Glad you like the personality of each child and could not believe how they didn’t choose this awesome purple or glow in the dark blue.
      C may be more friend than boyfriend. We have dated ten months (I may have mentioned an Italian guy last May) and some things progressed and are good. While he isn’t as trusting, so I have only met his two boys once.(My grandsons met his sons.) We shall see! 😉

  1. Very cool, Robin! I like that each grandkid has a special one.
    My son-in-law, also a veteran, starts nursing school today. He also did some emergency medic duties in Iraq and Afghanistan.

    • I couldn’t believe of all the colors I bought and have to choose from the three grandies chose same colors! There’s a pink rainbow kind and purple, along with a cool glow in the dark blue. . .
      I am excited about his attending nursing school, Merril.This son in law is a very nice man, I could “hear” on your post about their first home together, a belief in their marriage and love. ❤

  2. So fun that they kids get to personalize the lanyards with charms after picking out the colors. Lots of fun at Robin’s house. I’ve heard of lots of uses for unraveled paracord. It’s very handy. Of course, there’s all the time needed to unravel them! Ha ha. 🙂

    • So true, Diana! The unraveling may take up too much time to save anyone!
      They were precious digging through the large quarter bin. The dangling beads didn’t interest them until they saw how Skyler has them. 🙂
      Robin loved art in my teaching and often allowed crafts to be included in reports.

    • Oh, so happy to help out with Tornado Boy! 🙂 You have creative thoughts, I am sure. . . Do you have dominoes? Also, a plastic art smock and a step stool, since all my grandies love washing the dishes! Hahaha! Paper towel tubes make battle swords and also “chutes” to send racing match box or hot wheels cars down a length of coffee table. You versus him and he will giggle when they fall off the table!

      • We find all kinds of fun activities, Robin. Now that the weather is getting better, he likes to go in the barn and stack things up to make spaceships. Hours of entertainment. 🙂

      • Great idea and you have the lovely space to do this activity, D!! 🙂 Spaceships are an awesome use of imagination. Wonderful!

  3. Very cool, Robin! I like that…
    I like very much the concept.
    Big kisses Robin and hello to Delaware of France
    Tony

    • Marissa, you are correct, dear! 🙂 Yes, I knew the nylon cord was really easier and made thinner, less heavy lanyards but we go with the flow and suggestions by the guy I like.

  4. What a fun project 🙂 Personalization is so special!
    I think I told you before, my friend Orb is all about paracord projects. You’re the only other person I know is doing this stuff, although my trips to the shops tell me it’s a big trend.

    • Yes, we did connect about your friend, Orb. I have yet to try the snake knot or the bracelet wrappy sort of twisting knot or braid. . . Thanks, Joey!! So glad you reminded me of Orb. So cool! 🙂

  5. How neat! That’s really cool that you found charms for each Grandie, and cousin. I had no idea those plastic cords were so useful. When I was kid I made several key fobs in the box knot. I have no idea how to do that weave anymore, but I remember it being fun at the time.

    • The charms were fun for them to personalize them. Hopefully they won’t play with them when asked not to. 😉
      Well, now at Girl Scout camp we used plastic cords but the ones we bought to make these is called “550 wt. paracord.” It is made of same material as parachute cords and is stronger than the ones we used to make key chains and lanyards. I never would have chosen this material had “C” not led me to this aisle in the craft store.

Leave a Reply

