My own artwork

Image

As some may remember,

I enjoy pen and ink style drawing.

I used to dip a pen with a nib into

a pot of permanent black India ink.

I have always doodled and once

had a journal I took annually to

Girl Scout camp.  Two weeks 

away meant plenty of foliage,

fauna and tentmates to draw.

My Dad worked his day job

at NASA, but loved art.

It was so nice to sit 

down with him 

and show the

natural elements

I  had  seen while

away ~ upon my 

return home!

~~~~~

This fairly recent commission

was by a chiropractor, a good 

friend of youngest daughter.

I have made over a hundred 

picture names, mainly for

babies  and  children.

Dr. Dan was only my 

second one created for

a professional office.

I have drawn historical 

houses for stationery

sold to raise money for 

girls’ math and science,

“AAUW Be Wise Camp.”

I make sure to show my

Grandma Moses-like

“folksy-styled renderings”

before I begin a project.

No photos or much use

for rulers, although my

brother Randy teases

me about porches

looking like they

 may fall off! 

 πŸ˜‰

94 responses »

  1. I love seeing examples of your many talents. At I first thought this might be a piece of Halloween-inspired art, but that was before I realized it had to be for a chiropractor. At least I assumed you didn’t know any witch doctors. πŸ™‚ – Mike

    • Mike, so glad I can hear and “see” you and hope the Spring and upcoming Easter is extra special.
      I appreciate your sense of humor especially about the witch doctor! πŸ˜€ Thanks for being in my cheering section and I do think of you and Florence often. xo

    • Jennie, thanks for your lovely comment and reading about my Dad and me. Sorry you missed a few times I have featured my art. (A cottage, the Delaware Arts Castle, a stream and watercolor cardinals. . .) So glad you like this and maybe you will like the later post this month with a montage of a few more examples. πŸ˜‰ xo

    • It looks particularly spooky to me, too! Marissa, he asked for scarlet and gray which comes out looking like blood! Yikes! It is okay to say this since I agree!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for such a special message here, Diana. It was really nice to have such supportive parents, but I particularly believe my Dad was unique in his paying attention to our different projects. πŸ™‚
      I meet men who don’t know their children (and less still, their grandchildren) very well except what sports they are in, sadly.

      • He was one of those ghetto kids who had to work literally at age 11! By losing his “first chance of childhood” he told my Mom when we were born he would be there for us. I was a cool story he had us put even in his obituary, how working at White Castle led him to who he became. A truck driver who took him across the bridge from Covington to Cincinnati, took him to the top of a high hill and said if my Dad started studying he could earn scholarship to U of C. He did the work study grants for engineering which led to NASA and inventing and patenting a few interesting things. He tested metals for heat resistance for on rockets. But he switched gears to come home and play with us. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, guardian angels. The story these days could have ended far worse. My Dad did tell me when he rode with truckers they never said or did anything improper. Scary thoughts, though. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s so great to find this artowrk of your’s Robin, to see that you are painting again. I am feeling the urge to pull out the canvas and paints…have great day dear Robin. Thanks for sharing this. ❀

    • Aw, Jan. Parents sometimes discourage for fear of the lack of income potential in some life pursuits. If you have featured your art before, I have missed it! Please share some and know everyone will enjoy your artistic endeavors! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, Robin, I love this! It’s so perfect! He must be so thrilled with it! So exciting! I wish I had a grandbaby coming so I could commission his/her name from you!

    • Luanne, you would not have to commission me, dear friend. I tell everyone “the first one is free” as a baby gift to grandchildren or coworkers’ babies. It is so fun and I have a collection of themes including monkeys, trains, Pooh and friends, Mother Goose and dogs. Oh, one mother had me make one with books and cats for her 15 year old. I asked her was she sure? I am hoping this will be lucky and not “dooming” her to be a cat loving librarian. . . πŸ˜‰

      • There are worse things than cat loving librarian. In fact, cats and books would work great for me, especially with a glass of wine in there hahahahaha. Thank you so much, Robin! Now I have even one more reason I need to have a grandchild! xoxo

  4. A beautiful insight into the person you are Robin, a Girl of many talents, you are very artistic and your work must give a lot of pleasure to all those who are fortunate to know you.
    Proud to have you as a Friend Robin.

    • Colleen, it is rather “cutesy” from being a teacher of middle school down to the nine years of preschool special ed. . . Lots of years of bulletin boards, programs and newsletters. . . Thank you for your warm response and “vote of confidence!” ❀

  5. I love it, Robin! I’m new to name art, the first I saw was last week in junior high when a girl named Mia drew her name with all these little, intricate designs in it. What a lovely and different art form. I know Dr. Dan will enjoy that for years to come. Art is wonderful and inspiring. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you, Lana! I like how you found a great artist to attract readers to your book with juvenile literature! It is hard to do book illustrations but I have become rather good at matching children with designs in art. As mentioned, I have been doing children and baby names, along with two deceased children memorials and many houses for thirty years or more. It keeps me busy and seems to satisfy many who wish to have personalized art.

  6. YOU are so creative and talented with art and words.

    and I have to reply to your comments on my blog – will do that very soon – but I appreciate you visiting my slice of the blogosphere – and touch base soon

    • It as rather gruesome using OSU scarlet and gray (silver), Joey! He actually liked the skull but I ended up with the hand being replaced by more joints. Hope you have been enjoying beautiful weather lately.
      The chiropractor has a great personality and sense of humor! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

