Delicate purple flowers

Image

Hints of frost damage upon leaves

and delicate purple blossoms

still seemed to request 

my favor, to promote 

and capture beauty.

Alas, I felt torn but 

their tiny, precious 

voices prevailed 

to entreat me.

I now finally

“get” why

Dr. Seuss

had his

caring elephant,

Horton, hearing a “Who.”

~~~~~~~~~~

“Horton Hears a Who,”

written in 1954, was

dedicated to his distant friend,

“For My Great Friend,

Mitsugi Nakamura

of Kyoto,

Japan.”

xxxxxx

“Perspective”

This quote is from our

First Presbyterian Church

monthly newsletter called,

The Spire:

“Nothing that is worth doing can be

achieved in our lifetime; therefore we 

must be saved by Hope.

Nothing which is true or beautiful or 

good makes complete sense in any 

immediate context or history; therefore

we must be saved by Faith. Nothing we

do, however virtuous, can be

accomplished alone; therefore we are

saved by Love.

~ Reinhold Niebuhr

~~~~~~~~~~

Those who “stay awake and wait,”

Hope your sunrise Dawn brushes
away the tears from your

Midnight Vigil tonight. ❀

49 responses »

  1. I think it is interesting that you chose a Dr. Seuss book as a tribute to your Spring flower. I, too, chose a Dr. Seuss book to symbolize the many adventures Florence and I have experienced together. In fact, I bought the same book for my youngest daughter when she graduated high school – ‘Oh The Places You’ll Go,’ which includes the following opening lines:

    You have brains in your head.
    You have feet in your shoes.
    You can steer yourself any direction you choose.

    Happy Easter Egg hunting! – Mike

    • Aww, Mike and Florence! My ex-pat friends and happy southern living pals. Happy Easter to you both! πŸŒΈπŸ°πŸ£πŸ’–πŸŒΌ
      I am always glad to look back at past blogs and all the meaningful and pertinent information and warm thoughts attached, Mike and I am very grateful! Are you blogging again or referring backwards to a post about travels and the Dr. Seuss book? Thank you, as always for this caring comment. Hasta la vista y amor y brazos! xo

      • Robin, I have not been inspired to write like I did when we were globetrotting. We travel locally, but that’s nothing much to write about. Currently, we are saving up for our next adventure, and it might be a BIG move because it may be permanent. Then I’ll have something to write about! Abrazos – Mike

    • Jennie, as I wrote this post about listening to the flowers “calling to me,” I thought of how you ignite imagination. Heroic writers such as Dr. Seuss and Reinhold Niebuhr create connections, don’t they? πŸ™‚

      • Why do I not know Reinhild Niebuhr? He must have ignited imagination! Dr. Seuss certainly did. I do, too! πŸ™‚ It’s such an important thing.

    • My Mom and Dad were pacifists yet activists. They believed that churches should not ignore civil rights not taking care of the “least of these.”
      Reinhold Niebuhr wrote of, “Children of Light and Children in Darkness.” (1944) He was a theologian, writer, social activist and magazine editor. His quotes are very timely for today, Jennie. (I feel. . .) πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, Robin. I will have to get his book at the library. I know exactly what you mean by a pacifist yet an activist. You were fortunate to have such parents!

    • Alex, I love how Dr. Seuss touched not only children but us, as grown up children! πŸ™‚ I think it would be wonderful to travel to so many places, this is cool that Kyoto is one of your wishful destinations. Hope you have been well, happy and enjoying Spring!

  2. Beautiful photo and lovely words today, Robin. Horton Hears a Who was my favorite book for a while when I was a child. I also remember reading it, over and over, to my daughter. I hope you have a Happy Easter.

    • Oh, this is a double delightful comment, Dan! So glad this book was both a “hit” for you and your Faith, too. Children like the repetitive lines in books and bask in their familiarity. I used to smile at not only books being asked to be read again but songs, too. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, what a wonderful outlook, Sarah! πŸ™‚ I hope that this is true! Some daffodils seemed to lose their proudly standing stems, here. Prettier flowers really brighten up walks.

  3. Nice thoughts to begin my Easter Sunday morning Robin – it is indeed a wonderful quote and Dr Seuss was of course a genius for steering us all straight no matter our ages or beliefs! I hope your weekend is blessed!

    • I had a chance to visit my Mom for the weekend and we talked about all sorts of things, including how her Nicki is still living at my brother’s house. She was able to her today on Easter. She seems at peace, more relaxed in her new more scheduled and caring environment. I didn’t go back and show her Siddy but we talk about how in life we build connections.
      Dr. Seuss was a genius, including rhymes and humor to teach children “oh so much!”:D

    • These blooms probably do come from bulbs. Thanks for your letting me know. I see these as purple with my eyes but they came out tinted blue, too. What color is this, do you know? (since it is about your favorite color) . . .
      They grow in my neighborhood but I actually live in an apartment. πŸ™‚ I never grew these when I was married while living in a house.
      I used to like my bright pink, violet and lavender impatiens, as well as other low growing ivy with purple blossoms.
      Thanks for liking the quote.

      • The largest one in the center appears purple in my eyes. I have some similar and the irises are purple. I really like iris but unfortunately the blooms don’t last but a few days. However the foliage is pretty for months. Maybe one day you’ll live in a house again and can grow flowers. Until then, continue to find flowers to photograph. That’s a nice way to express yourself and to entertain your followers. πŸ™‚

      • Oops, I thought I was commenting on the iris photos. These are blue but I have no idea which plant this is. I have never grown this bulb but would like to. I can try to find time to research this but not sure if I will follow through. πŸ™‚

    • Diana, I appreciate how you enjoyed my fanciful thoughts. It means a lot to me, your also liking the words of a theologian and man who was recognized for his social activism from the 40’s through the 70’s. In 1964, he received the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

    • So glad you liked this one, Joey. It was something which seemed to work out in the end. The frost bite on the tips of the leaves was unexpected. Thank you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

