Mystery inspiration

Image

Snow on weeds, 

Rusty Studebaker,

Historical license plates,

Burnt sienna colored fenders.

What do you think is inside 

on the threadbare seats?

What would be mystery 

behind the no longer 

loved and treasured 

automobile?
~~~~~~~~~~

“Among the Nothing” is a short story piece, M.J. Gale wrote on Phantom Rem blog.

http://thephantomrem.wordpress.com/2017/04/10/among-the-nothing

**********

This is a perfect example of using 

a photo or image and becoming

Inspired. 

65 responses »

    • I’ll have to start thinking about which direction I should head. Murder, robbery, kidnapping, espionage. . . hmmm.
      Thank you, Ian for your humor and support! πŸ™‚

    • This suggestion of recycling parts was excellent, Marissa.
      I am thinking it is far from town so if they were going to sell it for parts, they should have done it before allowing it to rust, though. I like brainstorming with you, let me know if anything else comes to mind, my dear rocking friend! 🎢

    • Thank you for researching this and now I must choose which way it looked “before” this present car and decide what happened along its journey.
      I have to stick with the rusty car since it creates a mystique, Deborah. Or it does in my wild imagination. πŸ˜‰

  1. If we could only know the story. It has a licence plate. I suppose it could be traced and we could find out, but maybe we’d be disappointed. Much better to make up our own story. Great photo for a story starter.

    • Thanks so much for the nice things you said about the car: “collector’s item”, “needs restoration”. This will be part of the story. I am gathering details. I’m glad you liked the description paragraph. You are too kind! πŸ™‚

    • Kirt, it was such a serendipitous event! I saw a rusty tractor and got out of my car. While traipsing through the weeds, I saw this rusty antique car.
      Thank you for such a special set of responses! πŸ™‚

  2. I am confused about who wrote the poem/…

    (and like it a lot)
    also –
    Is that a Studebaker car?

    my friend and I saw a two-door Studebaker at a car show and it looked different…. just curious

    • I am wistful in this, as if mourning the loss of a person, the beautiful car that it once was or just the idea of storing something in among weeds seems sad. Thank you for this set of compliments.

  3. Oh wow. That’s quite a find! I always wonder about why these things are left behind, and furthermore, why such derelict items are beautiful? Must be the mystery. Great post.

    • The mystery is in so many different questions, to me. But I did find several interesting types of thoughts from all of you thinkers out there. No answers given so may need to write an imaginary mystery. . .
      I am attracted to the weathered, antique, rusted elements of many items. I find the interest and unique qualities attract me to them, transforming into beauty before my eyes. πŸ™‚

  4. @”This is a perfect example of using a photo or image and becoming Inspired…” – yep, absolutely true… to me, a photo or an image, a song or a movie, a sentence or just one word can turn into a source of inspiration – that’s the way I “scribble” my blog-posts, I never plan them, and I never write “on purpose”… I reckon myself as a general “dilettante”… πŸ™‚
    * * *
    my very best, tons of inspiration and friendly thoughts… cheers! πŸ™‚

    • Melanie, life got busy and complicated lately so I missed coming to visit your blog. Take care and peace be with you, dear. Thanks for your very kind and warm closing messages. So sweet! ❀

  5. I sometimes wonder what became of our prior vehicles and what additional stories they got to live out after our interactions. It’s amazing how much time some of us spend in them for years and years and then one day…out ‘cha go…for a newer model or a better deal no matter how well they might have done their job.

Leave a Reply

