Colorful umbrellas at Conservatory

Image

Pink tulips,

Yellow tulips,

Purple hyacinths,

Marley and Landen,

Purple, yellow, pastel

colored umbrellas.

Hands across the water,

fingers wishing to dabble

while Nana takes pictures

children’s Mom Trista says,

“We all just washed our hands

and are taking elevator to the 

main floor and heading out 

to eat at a restaurant.”

Kid’s other parent says typical

Dad’s funny thing,

“For crying out loud!” 

As I have to laugh, 

since my Dad used 

to say exact same thing to 

my two brothers and me! 

Photo and words sharing 

family event with you!

Happy Spring!

63 responses »

  1. Robin, thank you so for letting us take part in this tulip celebration…a verse of colourful delight and the small water fountain is irresistible! I just love the coloured umbrellas too…playful fun! πŸ˜€

    • Annika, thank you for your delightful response to this scene! ❀ Any pond, fountain or pool is simply irresistible to children, especially my grandies love them.
      It looks like the epitome of "April showers bring May Flowers," doesn't it? πŸ™‚

    • Ooh, Shehanne! It was like walking into a magical place for the grandies! Thanks for this lovely comment, dear. ❀
      The only thing I forgot to do was get the door centered for Thursday's Doors post! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks so much, Jill. I am happy to share!It is like a fairy princess room with the fairies hiding under flowers and taking showers in the fountain. It smells sweet like the spice of tulips and sweetness of hyacinths.

    • You bet! I enjoyed your boisterous kinders going on a scouting hike, looking for “bears” or whatever they may find. . . successful with a precious little creature. (Shhh! No secrets revealed here.) πŸ™‚

  2. I have never been in a conservatory, Robin. I hadn’t thought about that until I read your post. Thank you for my inside view, and for your ever-wonderful words, for crying out loud. πŸ™‚

    • Jennie, I think we each have places we frequently visit, while some are once in a lifetime. We only live about 20-25 minutes from here and it was a fun way to see more examples of spring all packed into one building.
      It is always special when you let me know one of my phrases (“for crying out loud”) made you smile. I’m smiling right back at you! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Merril. It was colorful and felt warm inside, while the sense of calm and peace was prevalent. You demonstrate a good sense of atmosphere. πŸ™‚
      Although it was spring break here last week, not too many people got up and arrived when the conservatory opened. We accomplished this with five kids, too! I liked that we were able to leave at lunchtime, eat out where there wasn’t a “wait” and get home before Columbus rush hour began.

    • It certainly filled us up with a bunch of Spring plants, flowers and elements. It was a fun and relaxing day, since we started out before it got crowded! Thank you, Diana. πŸ™‚

    • Well, Marissa. Once you have little ones with ears listening to you ~ you tend to resort to “oldies but goodies” instead of having to donate to the family “Swear Jar!” πŸ˜‰

    • It really is a fun place! I like so many of the rooms which have been sprinkled with Dale Chihuly art pieces. This one smelled heavenly full of spicy tulips and sweet hyacinths, Dan.

    • Jan, it was! We were very happy with our spectacular time spent here. As you can see, not crowded and we left before too many people were elbow to elbow. πŸ™‚

    • Your message was really nice and I appreciate your reblogging my post, Jonathan! I think old expressions appear from.our parents but also my son, Jamie, is trying not to use swear words. I remember my Grandpa and Dad also saying, “For Pete’s sake!” Did your family have a funny but nice expression of exasperation? πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

      • “GALL-BLAST IT!” and…there’s one! And something about “there goes a starving Armenian” but that seems rather inappropriate nowadays! πŸ™‚

      • When I was a teenager my family hosted a student ‘from abroad’ (the 20-year-old happened to be Dutch). My dad was trying (and failing) to light the grill and shouted, “For Pete’s sake.” The poor Dutchman looked all around the neighborhood. “Pete?” he said, “Who’s Pete?” πŸ™‚

  3. I like the conservatory very much. The umbrellas are so colorful and add a great deal to the ambiance. Your grand children are adorable It’s good to know that you all left with clean hands. Vey important before eating.

    • I am very happy you enjoyed this picture and hope that you have been able to go or will someday go to a conservatory. Thank you for your lovely comments.
      We ended up with those two children having them go into the restaurant bathroom. Everyone else had their hands washed while the ones I was “in charge of” were showing me the fountain or waterfall. πŸ™‚

    • Deborah, so true! Kids were showing me the fountain and before I knew it they had their hands in it! Of course, not thinking of cleanliness, took pictures so I was in trouble with them. LOL!
      We went closer to home to stop and eat at a local place where they have ice cream buckets in a bathtub and faucets for sauces! Quite a motivation to eat well or “no dessert.” πŸ™‚ xo

  4. What a fun, light-hearted spring-y photo! Oh, and ‘for crying out loud.” Haven’t heard that expression in such a long time, but back when we were kids, people used it all the time. It sounds fun/funny now…

  5. Hah, typical. How many times do they say, “But I just washed my hands!” lol? I love that you hear your dad in your son. ❀
    Pretty little spot — tulips and umbrellas in one place — like a lil joey heaven πŸ˜‰
    Happy Spring! xo

Leave a Reply

