Art montage. . . just some samplings

Image

On my “About” page,

I mention four books, only

three covers are displayed today.

One missing original from 

the olden days,

(1980’s),

is long gone. . .

I sent the original in one of 

those insured manila envelopes 
where the receiver has to sign,

enclosing my children’s abuse 

and neglect “book” which I

had used with almost all 

the 150 children I met

at a battered women’s

shelter. In my position

of child advocate which I 

was only able to stay 18 months.

I left the town with my 3 kids

and started over here in 

my small town.

Another post someday. . .  On abuse

blogs I have already written these.

I shared horror stories which hit

too close to my children and me.

The pamphlet or mini-manual 

was child-friendly and I named

it using one child’s name  

who died when she went back 

into her dangerous family situation.

“Nutmeg and Cinnamon” 

was sent to a famous person

(Yeah, I know how silly and

delusional could I get?)

I had the Post Office here in my

“new” town, weigh and calculate
a second equally insured manila 

“Return envelope.” 

It never came back!

I have redone it but until I have

possible publication, I have not 

completed it to “best” of my ability.

The Bunny book was made into 

a 4H coloring book, in the days where

God was still present at meetings

and among the members of the club.

I also made copies for my Sunday

school classes to color.  My ABC

for kids using my often used

*”Letter Teddies,”*

which my Dad and a 

Lancaster, Ohio

storekeeper named John,

displayed my art in their 

retirement shops. 

Dad and Mom were located

on Lake Erie, in Vermilion, Ohio.

Their portion of a Victorian shop

named Old Jib’s Corner was

The Oldrieve Studio.

Dad while at NASA, had dreamed 

of the years he and Mom 

would retire. He with

an easel on a wharf at the

Vermilion Lagoons or 

downtown sidewalks.

She who loved to sew and make

doll clothes, collecting dolls 

who sometimes needed wardrobes.

Anyway, here is a group of art,

which doesn’t include a “window”

in my friend’s basement looking 

out at a lighthouse in the 

Atlantic Ocean nor the 

home paintings I literally did

on every wall of our past 

“dream home.” 

So, I could polish these up 

or leave them as is, I have been

Blessed to talk to three children’s

authors who illustrated their own books,

in person over a meal and on 

drives to the Detroit Airport.

Thanks to Rich, while a professor

at BGSU, was on the welcoming 

committee for the famous authors

Spring event where so many 

Wonderful children’s writers 

and illustrators  participated.

Each of the 3 gave me lovely and

thoughtful advice which warms

my heart and allows me to 

have hope that one day

I may have something

displayed or published.

Delaware, Ohio had a downtown

storefront window full 

of the eight homes on one annual

AAUW historical home tour!

This made it into the local newspaper.

Hope you don’t turn your back

upon any one of your own,

“Impossible Dreams.”

In honor of Don Quixote and

his remarkable creator:

Author, Miguel de Cervantes,

who was a dreamer of 

“tilting windmills.”

I wonder if Cervantes ever had hopes

of being remembered not just

as a writer; but as a source of

comfort and spiritual uplifting?

Today is Cervantes memorial

long past death on April 22, 1616.

Good luck at tilting windmills!

54 responses »

  1. It is a beautiful compilation of imagery, thoughts, feelings and history. I am viewing it on my phone. It is hard for me to type on the small screen plus I accidentally hit the send button in my first response.
    Great post to wake up to this morning. 😊

    • I appreciate all these thoughts compiled together! It does tell a life story, as well as let people see how I spend some of my “extra” hours in my pastime. Thank you for such lovely comments. Have a wonderful Saturday! πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad you felt this way, Derrick. I have a portfolio of copies and really had a hard time choosing which ones to display. The children like their “names in print,” as all of appreciate. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for sharing some of your story and your beautiful work, Robin! So what is stopping you from publishing it, and/ or creating new books? To dream the impossible dream, to follow that star?” πŸ™‚

    That is so awful about mailing your manuscript off and never receiving it back. Before things were done electronically, I used to worry so much that manuscripts would get lost in the mail–not so much the original version, but the copy-edited or page proofs. Now everything is done electronically.

    • Merril, thank you ever so much! Writing a blog gets me into the world where others write, photograph, draw, create, sew and some get published! πŸ™‚
      Mailing the rough draft was a “gut reaction” since she reminded me of the little girl. I would have been thrilled had “she” actually seen the crayon drawing of Cinnamon. I felt her sweet face, bare feet dangling from my desk while wearing her red, white, and blue Snoopy t-shirt may have made an impact. The book was dedicated Not to the famous person, but the innocent victim.
      I tell people Helen Santmeier was in her eighties (!) when her book, “… And Ladies of the Club” was published. I liked her rich, eloquent historical novel. πŸ™‚
      As my Dad who rubbed elbows with Carl Sagan, Kurt Van Daniken and other science fiction writers (members of the Chicago Ancient Astronaut Society) found out, “It ain’t easy getting your book sold!!” πŸ˜€ Sad to say.

    • Thank you, Beth! When I go to the library annual book sale, see the amazing books stamped and discarded I see the way of the future where less and less people buy books and use Kindle. You only make a few cents from the 99 cents downloaded books. I have five of our mutual friend “real” books but really they aren’t making much. Just nice to have had a few moments in time where it was fun and interesting to do. Thanks again.

  3. What a journey this blog was! I recently wrote an article about children who end up in foster care as a result of parents who are addicted to heroin. It’s very difficult on the workers. I don’t know how you did it!

    • Marissa, I will go check this foster care children article out! I apologize for missing it.
      The messy situations would have been fairly livable except for unfortunately, (stupidly) I gave out my name at meetings, in court and other areas where a victim’s spouse kept it. He came after my own children which was one scary episode. The second event was a victim’s spouse shot at her on the courthouse steps in Logan, Ohio. Just so happened, I was there due to her situation, on those steps. Too close for comfort within one month. . . hugs xo

      • Oh no, the article I wrote is not for this blog. I’ve been doing a lot of freelance work and that’s what it was for. But OMG, Robin, how very scary. These people who help really give a lot to those in need but to give up personal safety…? Don’t even know what to say. Glad everything turned out okay.

  4. Well, you are a dark horse, as we say here! These are beautiful illustrations Robin. I had no idea you were an illustrator of children’s books. I’m hoping you’ll be published and we can see your work here. Good luck and blessings xoxo

    • Jenny, I enjoy art, like to color and have fun!
      I like to give my children’s picture names for births, birthdays and used to decorate my classrooms. πŸ™‚ Recently, when prodded gently, I decided to “share more.” My own three children had these name pictures in their rooms, Felicia could hardly find hers in print. The names are even more interesting these days. . .
      Your family has artistic talent in your niece and sister, maybe you have a hidden talent in art which you have been holding back on from us! I am thankful you enjoyed this. You’re a super friend, Jenny.

  5. Such beautiful work Robin! Sometimes though the work has to be enough – for, as you have noted, it takes more than talent to succeed in publishing. I think of the people I follow who have been published and it seems they devote a fair portion of their time to putting their work ‘out there’. Entering competitions, challenges, posting on social media, interviewing successful writers, sending their work to publishing houses etc etc. It’s so often grueling and heartbreaking work!

    I think of all the children who have your beautifully worked name plates hanging on their walls or doors and how proud they must be of that. I know if I were a child I should love it!

    • Pauline, thanks for the sweet praise! ❀ The part about effort and struggles is displayed in my genius artist, brother Randy's constantly having to find the next project. . .
      This is so true. There's a lot of satisfaction in knowing all the children who have seen their name "in print!" I like to personalize them, continue to enjoy it all so much. If it is meant to be, the door will open and then something else may happen. πŸ™‚

    • It may help you to take out your pencil, paints and display what I believe is beautiful art inside you. ❀ I need to look back at your first and early years. . . I mentioned I would and got sidetracked, Holly. Thank you for such wonderful words!

    • Melinda, I remember how I talked about loving coloring books with you. You also have complimented me before when I showed a picture (or two.) Thanks for your kind words of encouragement!! You’re a joy to me! πŸ™‚

  6. Our children’s book would never have gotten published had we not had an illustrator. How fortunate for you that you have the talent to bring your stories to life with your art talent. Good luck finishing your book projects and getting them published. I am sure they will be worthy of praise. – Mike

  7. A special post, Robin. Your kindness comes through all your posts, but this really shows the depth of your beautiful heart. Lovely art and a touching glimpse into your past. I do so hope you follow your dream and publish your art someday. It’s wonderful. ❀

  8. Robin, these are wonderful!! So creative! You have a real gift here and I hope you can find a way to publish these. What a moving story of your life that you touch upon…there is a book within just these few sentences. I feel, what shines through is your love and care for others, your strength and will-power in the face of adversity. It’s lovely to get to know you a little more…hugs❀️

    • Thank you very much, Sarah! I enjoy doing the children’s names since they like as they get older to ask for new designs. One little girl had Classic Pooh but wanted to show her gardening with purple flowers! Mackenzie loved her “second edition” of a name picture! Take it easy, Sarah. xo

  9. Thank you for sharing your heart here Robin. The artwork is touching and I do hope you get to make a precious book about this one day soon. ❀

    • Why thank you, Debby. I appreciate how you read my words and listened to my heart, too.
      If the book comes to fruition, I will be very pleased. I am glad many children have my art on their bedroom walls. I have a copy of about one hundred of them. A lot of times I don’t make it to copying their picture names. πŸ™‚

  10. This is beautiful work! I love, love, love the sketches of the houses! I’ve collected miniature houses my whole adult life. I also have several pieces of art work depicting Victorian houses, and Americana villages, so I really mean it when I say I love those sketches! πŸ™‚

    • Wow! Thank you ever so much, Deborah. I loved your comment!
      As I mentioned, I was blessed to be the one who donated the notecards and postcards to sell for the Be Wise camp for girls. We gave scholarships using science or math teacher recommendations with the extra money.
      We gave the home owners on the historical home tours an 8 Γ— 10″ original pen and ink drawing to frame. I was pleased to do 8 home tours, (6 houses each year and 1 public building- church, historical society or women’s city club). If you ever would like me to do one, let me know. . . My girlfriend had me draw her farm homestead, it is titled, “The Farm.” She and her husband had me do a “window” in their nautical themed basement, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

