Thursday’s Doors ~ the Student Union “verandah”

Image

This stonework is similar to the

Gray Chapel and other 

Ohio Wesleyan University buildings.

This is where my grandies and I 

have eaten snacks, taken our

Flashlight hikes to, enjoying

sitting and rocking while 

we talk about so many

odds and ends.

This door is one which

sends light into the evening.

We enjoy this destination place.

This is the front door, but a few

different posts to give this 

building its “due.”

Look for other unique and

diverse choices of doors on our

Thursday’s Door’s leader 

Norm Frampton at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

It’s almost the weekend!

Hip hip hooray!

79 responses »

      • Buildings have a habit of calling me …. I must have been an Christopher Wren in a previous life!! Xx

      • Awww, yes you were! This is such a special way of expressing this. I believe you could be anything you wish now (or in a previous life!) xo love you, Fiona

  1. Beautiful building. The stone reminds me of some of the college buildings in this area. I can imagine you and your grandkids having adventures while walking around the campus.

    • It is a great source of fun adventures, a creek separates my apartment building with three bridges across so we have paths we follow. . . Your area has gorgeous university buildings and campuses. My oldest daughter’s friend attended Pitt and designs Renaissance Festival and Shakespeare fests costumes now. She lives in Utah, of all places! Thank you for imagining our adventures, dear friend. ❀

      • Bridges lead to all sorts of adventures, Robin! How delightful!
        Pitt to Utah is a big change. My older daughter went to Bryn Mawr, which has a beautiful campus with many old stone buildings.
        I think we may still have both daughters’ Renaissance-style gowns from when they were in the madrigal group in high school. πŸ™‚

    • Merril, so true about the bridges! They like dropping bread and it floats downstream to the ducks. In the fall, I let them throw oak “keys” into the creek. It is fun since they spin like helicopters.
      They should hold onto those dresses since they may make a fun party outfit, or have a Renaissance event to wear them once again. Thank you for mentioning Bryn Mawr. I like the sound of that university. We have an Ohio inn which used to be haunted called The Bryn Mawr. I’ll check and see if it is still open. . .

    • Merril, I looked this up: The Bryn Mawr is still a wedding venue place, no rooms are rented for overnight stays. It is a mid-18th century home made into a public building. It is located in Granville, Ohio and the photograph is beautiful. It is on the National Historical Register. I wonder if someone attended the Pennsylvania college? πŸ™‚

      • If the house was name Bryn Mawr in the mid-18th century, then the connection is either from the town in PA, or more likely Wales–or perhaps the people were Quakers. The college (all female) was founded in the 1890s. Katherine Hepburn went there. πŸ™‚

      • Thank you for the details about the Quaker college. This is great to know about Wales and the Pennsylvania connection could be parts of the answer. I’m glad to know Katherine Hepburn attended college there. πŸ™‚
        The website says mid-18th century; if I copied my facts this is older than the university. . .

      • Yes, that’s why I said the if the house was named Bryn Mawr in the mid-18th century, then it can’t be named for the college.
        I mentioned Katherine Hepburn because on tours of the college, they always mention her–this was a window she climbed out of . . . πŸ™‚ The newish theater building there is named for her and her mother, who I think also went there.

    • Thank you, Shehanne. I like this classily nice comment! xo
      There are tables and chairs on this “verandah.” The kids giggle when I try to sound “Southern Belle!” Tomorrow, the rocking chairs are featured with a silly ditty I made up! πŸ˜€

    • Dan, thank you for using a lovely description with your comment. (Magnificent is a really beautiful word!)
      It has a huge porch which tomorrow, three grandies helped me to make up a song about rocking in chairs on the veranda. πŸ™‚

    • The grandkids love going up and down the steep stone stairs and this veranda has eight rocking chairs on it. Tomorrow, three grandies helped make up a rocking chair “chant.” They are rocking on the chairs shouting the words.
      Once a security guard stopped to say a really nice, motivating comment: “Maybe you will all be future college students here!” πŸ™‚

      • One never knows! Ohio Wesleyan University is like my youngest daughter, Felicia’s experience at a Franciscan university, Univ of Dayton. It is very expensive! (That 31 year old girl has lots of debt!) I would recommend my grandies start out at community or state college first! πŸ™‚

      • This means you are almost two years younger than I am, Diana. I thought you were in your fifties. I would still tend to loop you into “my age bracket” either way.
        Thanks for letting me know this, Diana. I paid for 45 of 60 credits of my Master’s degree, with cash tips from waiting tables during my late forties while teaching. ($19,000) but the last 3 courses weren’t offered the final year. That is a story I bring up from time to time. (I do try not to whine tho! πŸ˜‰ )

  2. There is little more fascinating than the halls of old colleges…the beautiful grounds. Wonderful pic and description. I wouldn’t mind hanging out there for awhile. <33

    • Oh, it was part of the reason I chose living downtown in my apt building. Holly, it gives me close by places to wander on my own and sit on benches. Plus a fun place for the kids to check out. I think your comment encompasses how I feel about old colleges. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I would surely enjoy showing you this campus and would enjoy your own local places to explore. . . ❀

      • I attended Stetson University, a gorgeous old college. Wonderful memories that I am blessed with. My son goes to U of M, a completely different atmosphere. You can find Stetson on line if you want to see how very beautiful it’s halls are. ❀

    • Penney, so wonderful of you to share this! I will head there tomorrow since I have some afternoon plans. Take it easy and I truly appreciate your featuring my blog post.
      I hope this inspires parents a d grandparents to let loose with silly and fun ways to interact with children. It can be as simple as this. πŸ™‚

  3. You’ve mentioned before about the flashlight hikes you take with your grandies. It sounds like a magical thing to do with little ones. You sound like a wonderful grandmother!

  4. The building is lovely but what I enjoy even more is the memories that come with it for you, from the destination of the flashlight hikes to where you’ve shared snacks β™₯

Leave a Reply

