Silly rocking chair chant

Image

The OWU campus student union

has eight rocking chairs. Someday,

when Hendrix is bigger we shall 

have to take a picture of me,

Nana, with all 7 grandies.

Until then, we take many

“Flashlight hikes,” 

exploring college campus.

I let them shout for joy,

here in this photo.

We never have been 

told to leave the premises.

Here’s a silly poem,

ditty or chant.

It goes loosely

to the tune of

“Rock around the Clock.”

(Thanks to “Happy Days” reruns

nearly everyone knows this tune.)

~~~~~~~~~~

🎢 “Rock around the campus” 🎢

by Robin O. Cochran

“One o’clock, two o’clock. . .

it is nearly ten o’clock!

Rock around the campus,

Rock all night long,

Rock all day strong,

Rock and roll music streaming

from open college dorm windows.

Ten o’clock, eleven o’clock. . .

we can go past midnight!

Rock all night till

the morning’s light,

Rock all eve 

till Nana’s asleep!

Rocking with our thoughts,

Rocking chairs soothe babies.

Rocking chairs tire children.

Rocking eases and calms my nerves!”

x o x o

“These rocking chairs are cool and 

relaxing, preparing us for Dreamland.

There was something transcendent

going on while rocking on the

porch or what I tend to think

of as a “veranda,” due to

its southern hospitality.

No one wanted to leave.

Someone always wants to:

Get up and go,
Keep on rolling!
One sighing child
replies quietly

when I ask,

“Are we ready to go now?”

“Not yet, Nana.

Let’s stay a little longer.”

. . . . .

I’m all for those lingering moments.
. . . . .

 

55 responses »

  1. Such a wonderful photo, Robin–filled with exuberance. This is definitely a picture to keep to show them when they’re older with a “do you remember?”
    Rocking chairs are nice, but being able to rock outside is extra special. πŸ™‚

    • Merril, thanks so much for your caring message about the grandchildren’s memories. I have hope they will remember our walks and talks…
      I remember my Grandpa getting up early morning to take my brothers and me to a nearby park. We knew our Grandma was making a yummy breakfast to come home to. He listened and nodded his head sometimes joking with us. He also lifted each of us into trees or caught us when we asked to get down. πŸ™‚
      We love those rocking chairs!

    • Those grandkids are great company, Shehanne. We have lots of places to explore around campus and a nearby park. Do you see the littlest girl has a red flashlight tucked by her side? πŸ™‚

    • Awww, I love these songs and can imagine your family being such great singers, “rocking the house!” πŸ˜€ Thank you for adding the songs which really do sound like fun!

      • Ha, ha! Thanks Robin! Actually, no one in the family is a natural singer so I feel like vocals are a weak spot for us…although we do work on it which is helpful! In any case, we hope to make up for it in charisma and great looking outfits!!

      • You have chutzpah and charisma, Marissa! I like the children’s voices! πŸ™‚ I think you have a very nice voice and the instruments are fantastic!! xo
        I can’t sing very well at all! But I do know what sound I like!

    • Jet, thank you for liking this wacky post! I’m glad you sense the emotions I feel about the grandies. As well as, you understood the meaning of lingering moments. When I told this to a young man (Jack) at work the next day he made me happy by saying, “Millennials and whatever your grandchildren are called, don’t usually know the value of slowing down. You are setting this into their ‘hard drive,’ Robin.”

    • If has checked the photograph and seen the “zombie eyes” I may have guessed too much and ruined their joy and spontaneity, Diana. It makes you be grateful to be our age where we know to just absorb the moments and enjoy them. . . Thank you for this lovely comment!

    • No one minds the “townies” visiting campus. The security guards have usually waved and not talked to us. The last time we were up on this large porch, a guard said in a positive tone that maybe they were future university students. We all said, “Yes!” Thanks, Sarah! The sun was gone and I only took two photos so we had to “go with the zombie eyes!” I would have e probably taken another one but this did show their spontaneity! πŸ™‚

    • That’ll be a marvelous day, you’re so right! Thanks, Derrick. I hope it’ll be not too long but I did spend time with Hendrix today at park, he loved the dandelions! πŸ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    LINGER ALL YOU–OR THEY–CAN, ROBIN!YOU ARE THE EPITOMY OF SOMEONE NOT NEEDING THIS MEDIUM AS THEIR PRIMARY SOURCE OF SOCIAL INTERACTION. JUST WROTE A CURRENT EVENTS PIECE, “I’m not the only one”, IF YOU HAVE THE WISH TO…ABOUT RECENT NEWS, YOUR GRANDKIDS ARE SO PRECIOUS! YOU ARE AS WELL! πŸ™‚

      • WELL.I! I figure within the limits of this platform, you and Brenda (friendly fairy tales) Are my best friends—and Holly. Like in every other world, I’m learning to operate within it. πŸ™‚ You are very special as a friend—and fellow storyteller! πŸ˜€

  3. I love your poem/ chant, and even more I love you and the grandchildren getting silly together. Those silly moments will long be remembered as great times together, especially in public where being caught being silly makes those moments even more memorable. – Mike

    • I am so glad you like these silly times I post. I hope it inspires free and open expressions to children and grandies, too. Thank you, Mike! Silly moments are full of bringing out our inner (hiddenite the years) child within us!

    • It is a really “rough” draft of a song! πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much! You’re so nice to “get” how lingering is special when children are around. They are used to be “rushed” from place to place. Take it easy! β€πŸ’

Leave a Reply

