Mother Goose and her triplets

Image


Mama goose, 

watches over triplets,

enjoying sunny weather. 

She feels warmth upon her feathers.

Ever vigilant and protective of her

little ones, she glanced my way

and considered my sitting in

the grass to be of no danger. 

She proceeded to survey 

and scan the rest of the 

small pond’s perimeter.

Her husband has gone afar,

not swimming gracefully upon

nearby water nor in the grass. 

Nowhere to be found. She’s

proud, head held high,

convincing herself,

“Everything’s

going to be

‘alright.’ “

87 responses »

    • A warm and prolonged autumn with colored fallen leaves is a nice alternative to spring! Pauline, happy to share those cute little goslings. Say hello to your ever eager Siddy and trying to act aloof Orlando! ❀

  1. When we lived near a pond, some residents signed a petition to remove the raucous birds. Regardless of how one feels about these sometimes noisy birds, one cannot deny the cuteness of the newborn chicks. Also, after reading your post I have Bob Marley’s lyrics playing in my head:

    ‘Don’t worry about a thing,
    ‘Cause every little thing gonna be all right.’

    – Mike

    • Those newborn chicks are so cute! I understand that the sidewalks get a messy look and it seems to stain them. The noise seems to “call” to the residents at my Mom’s new memory care place. She has a perfect view from a small, soft chair where she likes to announce who is arriving and leaving. She has ducks and geese. πŸ™‚
      On the other side of the lake, where she used to live, the only times she would see the geese were at meals, we would go out from the dining room to sit on the patio.
      This large pond brings her memories of my Dad and her on Lake Erie shores.
      I was going to say on the rocking chairs post, it was sad to lose young (56 year old) Erin Moran; “Joanie” from Happy Days, while this one I was going to mention Bob Marley! Thank you, Mike! Sometimes with friends (or your Florence) we balance each other out by putting our brains together. πŸ™‚

    • Merril, I have hope he may be scouting for a cleaner pond. πŸ™‚ This one has a lot of algae. . . Those poor babies were going to take a dip and their webbed feet got caught on those manmade, crushed and rough rocks. . . The “awwww!” effect really kept me amused the rest of the day! These goslings were spied by a nearby fire station.

      • Poor little babies. For years, I’ve seen a goose couple at the side of a road I travel almost daily (there are wetlands around it). I like to think it’s the same couple anyway. But this year, I’ve seen more than one couple, and in my mind, it’s their grown children now with their families. πŸ™‚

    • So true! Those goose couples may be descendants, Merril. πŸ™‚ My friend, Jenny’s past elderly neighbors used to feed this family of ducks. She’s lived there for nearly 20 years and her neighbors are long moved away. She feels sorry since present owners don’t feed them and try to “shoo” them away. Jenny won’t feed them either as her house cats get a little crazy when they drop by. It must be hard to re-program the duck’s “hard drive!”

    • Sifar, thanks for such a kind response! It was a fun and cute experience. Surprised I wasn’t scared away since I have seen some geese come at people with their wings extended open and noisily “honking!” I am pleased to bring you some chuckles! πŸ™‚

    • Chris, there’s a lot of fun in seeing any animal’s young. These were much easier than some of the photographer’s who capture bird nests with their babies in them! You’re welcome but thanks for viewing!:)

  2. Hi Robin,
    Hope you are doing well. Happy Spring to you. We are finally getting some glimpses of warm weather in New England.
    Loved your photograph and the apt words for it!

    • Hi Sandhya, It is great to hear it is finally getting warm in New England! Hope you have been having a wonderful time as spring creeps slowly there, opening blossoms and buds. Thank you for loving this picture and words! πŸ™‚

    • They were sweet, Lisa. I nearly posted about their little webbed feet catching on the rocks, trying to go into the man-made pond. The “poem” may have been less cheerful since my words were coming out distraught. Thank you for liking my photo. I will always like your bird photos which are much more challenging to capture! πŸ™‚

    • Annika, thank you for getting me to smile back at you, so late tonight! I had a busy, fun day spent with grandchildren. . . Hope you had a serenely special day! πŸ™‚

    • Jennie, thanks for helping me feel this direction was a good one! The mother seemed so proud and somehow, people tend to personify animals with human ones. She seemed to have a “stiff upper lip” showing poise and spunk. πŸ™‚

    • Diana, I’m afraid Father Goose may have been scouting out a better place to stay, since they weren’t there the very next day. I didn’t feel this needed to be expressed since I like open-ended stories. πŸ™‚

  3. Everything will be fine. She can be a scary protector of those babies. I got too close to a group of goslings once on my bike and the mom chased after me, pecking at my feet and my chain.

    • I am sorry for the scary behavior an your bike experience, Dan. I’m glad her fierce protectiveness is going to ensure three more baby Canadian geese growing up!

    • Funny, Colleen! Dan mentioned a bike incident involving a mama goose an he was on a bicycle. Sorry about goose poo and their feisty attitude. Hope you managed to get away an around them, safe and sound! πŸ™‚

      • I did, but there was one sun basking couple who decided to park their feathers in the middle of the trail. As I carefully went wide of them I swear they hissed at me!

    • Jan, thank you for this sweet response to the little family I saw. They are so soft and cute. I really had to fight my urge to try and touch one. . . but the mother trusted me to keep my hands off! πŸ™‚

  4. I enjoy spring and all the new babies who are venturing forth in the world. We recently had Wren babies nesting at our house. The triplets there are adorable. I hope her husband does come back!

    • I would love to be able to catch little birds on camera but it is so challenging, Lana. Your wren babies nesting would be so sweet. They usually have cheerful and happy personalities.
      I’m like you and hope the father came back and led them to a new location. They were gone the next day after I took this picture on my cellphone. Just left the story open-ended to let everyone envision their own ending. πŸ™‚

  5. What a great photo.

    As the weather improves I like to drive to work along the river. I put the top down on my car and feel the slight spray of the water. But a lot of geese congregate along this route. Last week was the first time this season I had to brake for geese crossing the road. The first of many, probably.

    • When geese cross the street with the goslings in line, it gives me a big grin! Thanks for the fine image of you in your car, top down and feeling the breeze, water droplets included, Jay. πŸ™‚

  6. You live in the most beautiful area! This picture warms my heart although I was sad that dad wasn’t in the photo shot. But I guess he was doing what dads do – provide. You truly have an eye for scenes and a hand for words.

  7. Just beautiful, Robin! IΒ΄m so glad you had this special moment with Mother Goose and her triplets! ItΒ΄s wonderful when animals decide that we pose no danger to them and even more when that trust is well deserved. πŸ™‚ xoxo

  8. We had geese growing up they used to swim in the pool. Used to make my Pa so mad. He tried to take them to another pond but when he got home they were waiting for him. Kinda funny these animals! The babies are so sweet πŸ’•πŸ’•

    • The little babies were so soft and fluffy, Michelle Marie! This really is a wonderful and interesting story about how your Pa tried to get the geese to stay in another pond. It amused me to think he would rush back only to find them there! πŸ˜€

      • Me too he wasn’t amused at all. He said a few choice cuss words and then resigned himself to fishing goose pooh out of the pool! It was funny because we had a gigantic pond behind our house! πŸ™‚

  9. We live near a golf course that geese and ducks both favor on a regular basis and the very first baby geese were sighted just yesterday. For us it is an annual indication the seasons really have changed when the “new kids on the block” arrive! Enjoyed this Robin!

Leave a Reply

