The creek during spring

Image

In the late Winter, 

you  may  remember

the creek had brilliance in

early morning sunshine. 

The field of light green glowed.

Now, another season shows 

a whole other bouquet of

pink and purple tones.

Aging stone wall has moldy, 

mossy and world-weary 

appearance; just barely

holding its stones

together.

~~~~~~

Water flowing slowly

displays shimmering ripples 

with rocks barely visible.

Their peaceful nature

coexisting serenely.

Tiny minnows

flourish, as

ducks have 

flown off.

~ ~ ~

 

65 responses »

    • Merril, such a romantic thought! I like Masterpiece Theater and books set in the past. I didn’t try to get the downtown buildings edited out, but it would look Victorian, if a gentle hill and dirt path were edited in. Thank you!

      • I loved the Pride and Prejudice lavish scenes on the cliffs and heaths. I could easily imagine this scene with the pretty leaning pink trees over a stream being part of a grander scheme of things. πŸ˜‰

    • The pinks are so exuberant and bright. I am pleased since I thought the fine buds and thinner branches were of a Redbud! The moss and lichen add a look which reminds me of tarnished brass. . .
      Thank you, Deborah. xo

  1. Yeah – Spring has sprung! It’s my favorite time of year, partly because I find the blossoms and new foliage brightens my days and because the days are getting longer. Also, I am not allergic to the significant amounts of pollen. Otherwise, I might be one of those people who prefer Fall. – Mike

    • I am so glad you live where it has plenty of beauty surrounding you and Florence. It is wonderful when the colors are pastel and brightly decorating every plant and tree. The spring green is such a unique color, too. I am not allergic *knock on wood either! πŸ™‚ Hugs xo

    • Shehanne, you have an idea of how it is perceived. In the old westerns,
      The pair of words: “creek bed” would indicate dry as bone.
      We have a trickling creek here close by, while Blue Limestone has more of a stream~ nice, clear and chilly water. πŸ™‚ There’s nothing wrong with a different perspective on a word! xoxo ❀

    • Thank you, Kirt! I am glad you like this scene, since it is part of my neighborhood. OWU campus has a stream that goes by their football stadium and meanders past my apartment building, too. πŸ™‚

    • Pauline, you are so dear and kind. I live next door so every day I look to see if the flowers are at their best! hugs xo❀ to the sweet pets, too🐾

    • Ann, thank you for enjoying this photo of my neighboring creek. It is something I enjoy very much. My grandchildren and I feed ducks, look for pollywogs and now, there’s little minnows. Thank you and I am heading off to bed! See you soon, my friend when I visit you. πŸ™‚

    • This was such a wonderful comment, Derrick. I have had a rather busy evening and need to apologize for not visiting your blog or many others. Soon, it was nice to stop by my son’s house and have dinner. Hope your week is going well. πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful photo and writing, Robin…it looks as if this could be here in the U.K and I felt quite at home! What a lovely idea of showing the same place through the seasons. I look forward to a summer photo and description! πŸ˜€

  3. The more I look at this, the more I like it. Purples are such magical colors in the new magic of blossoms over-hanging the mossy, moldy stone.

    • You are so kind to become fascinated by the details. I think it is a blessing to have this closely my apartment building! We love feeding the ducks from the 3 bridges! xo

    • I am so glad you used to love playing by a creek as a child. I am comforted by the various changes in the trees, bushes and plants. I like how you said, “in her glory all seasons!”
      Thank you for sharing your memories. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

