Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Image

The cacti have a few cactus flowers,

While the bright, rosy Chihuly globe

outshines Mother Nature in this scene.

Dale Chihuly glass art pieces are

sprinkled around the World.

Some Seattle Washington 

fellow blogging friends 

have mentioned their 

exhibits are the Best!

This photograph was

taken at the Columbus, Ohio

by this blog post author at ~

Franklin Park Conservatory.

🌡  πŸ‘  Ole!  πŸŽ‰  πŸŽΆ

Felidades de Cinco de Mayo!

Besos y abrazos!

xoxoxo

Plato quote:

“Always be kind, 

for everyone is fighting

a hard battle.”

~~~~~~~~~~

Mexico fought France

for freedom on May 5, 1862.

The Battle of Puebla was won.

Eagle holding a serpent 

while perched atop a

prickly pear cactus

is on white panel

of Mexican flag.

πŸ‡²πŸ‡½ x  πŸ‡²πŸ‡½  x πŸ‡²πŸ‡½

49 responses »

  1. Since I’m in France, I’d better just whisper quietly rather than shout raucously that I hope the fiesta, well won, is a great one!

    • Whispering quietly, Fiona, is aπŸ•΅wise undercover choice of communication (incognito). πŸ™‚
      The fiesta is in full swing here with the street blocked off and get this, a fundraiser where MEN where high heels while women and others sponsor their “race!” It is called, “In Her Shoes.” πŸ‘ πŸ‘  A few participants “had to” imbide a few drinks before the race. Thanks for your supportive response, dear. πŸ’–

      • It was not a great photographic opportunity with rain and gray skies but “being there in the moment” was a priceless one, Fiona!! I wish I could have been able to show you. . . I ended up deleting the few meager attempts. It has energy, chutzpah and hilarious moments! πŸ˜€

    • You’re welcome for the Mexican independence history lesson, Derrick.
      I was happy to look into the subject matter.
      Many people are out in our downtown area listening to fiesta music. There are booths with face painting and food. Earlier, they held a race to raise money for women’s programs such as domestic violence and rape prevention.
      Men wore high heels and the race is called, “Walk a mile in her shoes” or “In Her Shoes.”

    • Jodi, I really like the exact reason you expressed~ dramatic effect!
      The contrast between shiny ruby-colored glass and prickly, spiky cacti seemed to fit the Cinco de Mayo theme. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

    • Cindy, welcome to the fiesta! Now, do you want a lime green margarita to match the cacti, golden cerveza to go with the sandstone or a brightly colored strawberry margarita, (it can be a “virgin”) to sparkle like Dale Chihuly’s pretty glass globe?
      Thanks for joining the celebration! ❀

  2. I think the globe is a nice contrast to the cactus in the garden, and sets it off. It really is quite a lovely display with the different shades of green and white, and the little pink flowers, too.

    Apparently, Cinco de Mayo is not a big holiday in Mexico. πŸ™‚

    • I thought they did celebrate independence from France, Merril.
      Of course, Mexico’s freedom from Spanish rule is a very important celebration in September.

      My Spanish teacher in Bay Village, Ohio, Senor Donaldson, and my Mom liked to celebrate this holiday. It would be like removing the final control of a country by another country. The pinatas, tacos and tamales with delicious, sweet custard flan were such a nice feast. It must have been just an “excuse” to party! πŸ˜‰
      I guess we, in America, like to celebrate with our neighbirs and friends from Mexican American heritage.

      • I think they celebrate independence day in September, as you said, but not Cinco de Mayo. I’m sure your Spanish teachers did know this. My friends who taught Spanish also had parties at school–here people do celebrate it. I guess it’s like St. Patrick’s Day in the U.S. compared to in Ireland.

  3. You have perfectly woven together three seemingly disparate scenes – a cactus garden, Chihuly glass, and the May 5 anniversary of the Battle of Puebla. I marvel at the magic of your writer’s mind! Feliz Cinco de Mayo, amiga! – Mike

    • Mi mejor amigo, Miguel! Hola!
      Your summary is marvelous, seeing the “why this combination works.”

      The Mexicans’ war against Spain was their fight for independence in September 17, 1810. This war against France was fought to remove the final constraints of outside forces for the Mexicans. This is my reason for the May 5th party.
      πŸŽ‰πŸŽΆ Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

  4. Lovely photo choice today!

    Tonight we shall be childless. I don’t think there’ll be any Mexican food or tequila, but I do think it will be a celebration to remember!

    Besos y abrazos para ti! xo

    • Bravo, Anneli! It makes me happy that I inspired some people to check more details of the history of Mexican independence. Curiosity and interest builds understanding. ❀
      The Mexicans won their independence from Spain on September 17, 1810. Years later, on May 5, 1862, the Mexicans fought and completed their independence, by separating from France.
      I should have included the complete history but today is Cinco de Mayo! πŸ˜‰

      • Always happy to hear of my helping others in exploring history or other topics brought up, Anneli.
        Someone who had never seen Dale Chihuly glass art pieces, was someone who I (hopefully) sent to check out the links given under my “like” button. I have featured this non-related sculpture artist multiple times. His work is so amazing and beautiful! πŸ™‚

    • Happy Cinco de Mayo, Diana! I’m glad you enjoyed this photograph. It was a scene of contrasts which was enhanced by the festive globe. It looked like a party was in preparation! πŸŽ‰πŸŽΆ

  5. I particularly liked seeing your capture of the cactus and succulents with the Chihuly glass Robin as I a thinking of turning my tiny courtyard into a succulent and ‘objets d’art’ infested paradise – and that is particularly eye catching πŸ™‚

    • I loved when you and your daughters chose large pots to have different levels and a variety of beautiful flowering plants out back! You were an amazing team!
      I could imagine it would be a wondrous combination, cactus, succulents and your “objets d’art” for your courtyard, Pauline. Ooh, glittery suspended danglers, metallic blue butterfly, and more! I love how you were inspired today. It brightened my evening, dear. ❀

    • I just sent (suggested a visit to your blog) a couple of the authors I listed on my TBR pile of books in my basket by my bed. Hope they see your lovely artwork and join you from time to time. . . πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I added links here on my comments to them. xo

    • Feliz Cinco de Mayo a tu familia!!
      Did you get to perform, Marissa? I was hoping you were able “to play out.”
      I have had to use my Spanish a few times with coworkers and when my brother Rich was running for Congress. We went to all sorts of venues, including bars and salons frequented by a variety of patrins and a Spanish festival where I translated his speech into Spanish. Thank goodness, my Mom checked it over so no “faux pas.” πŸ™‚

    • It is a glass art globe that is “blown” by an artist named Dale Chihuly. He has apprentices who help him construct huge and unbelievable art sculptures out of hand blown glass. Thank you for wondering. πŸ™‚
      Sifar, under my “likes” there are three choices of links that you may see larger examples of this world famous artist! Please check the middle one out to see a complicated design with my grandsons in it! Thank you and I am sure you can find some examples in other locations as mentioned Seattle, Washington has a lovely art collection of Chihuly glass art! πŸ™‚

      • Oh i see…. it’s beautifully done!!! Nice concept!!
        I am not able to view the links(sorry!) as i use the wp app which is of limited view πŸ˜”…if it’s not much of a trouble, can you share the links please? 😊 I would love to see the designs you mentioned!!

Leave a Reply

