Tennessee Spring Serenade by Randy

Image

Randy was teaching people who

like taking Art lessons at a bar.

Cleveland has both the

Fatheads’ Brewery,

where the drafts

are concocted,

as well as their

namesake’s restaurant

and grille. I have a younger

friend and budding artist,

Michelle, who has traveled

with what she jokingly calls,

“My entourage.” They liked 

painting a famous bridge with

lessons from artist in West Virginia.

They paid ahead for the lesson,

made reservations online for

overnight accommodations.

It becomes an adventure 

destination art lesson.

Their bridge paintings turned

out dramatic and stunning.

Black bridge, purple night

sky with yellow street

lamps dotting the bridge.

When I showed her what 

steps and lessons that Randy

was doing: First a lighter layer,

splashes of paint, almost

like a patchwork quilt.

Then, adding details over the

top of the primary layer.

They use for inspiration an

enlarged photograph taken at 

Tennessee truck stop by Randy.
The taproom of drinking artists

created a variety of canvases

of colorful trees recently.

Lastly, using a tool, scratching

through to the first layer to

add movement and “flair.”

Do you notice the lighter colors 

peeking out as lines and squiggles?

Michelle and her “gal pals”

may just show up to one

of Randy’s “classes” yet!

**********

Randall D. Oldrieve is my brother,

art at bars and taverns is a big

Fad in larger communities.

54 responses »

  1. how pretty. i’ve done one here – a winter covered bridge, and even though it was not great, i had a lot of fun doing it with friends and learned a lot, too.

    • Oh, how cool! You should post it next winter with a winter solstice message. . . Beth, I am always happy to hear of your friends and your escapades. πŸ™‚

      • This is a great idea! I think that one piece of art of a pastel kitty or bunny was the first time we talked about art over a year ago. . . I apologize though because I want to remember it as the proper animal type, but keep see sawing in my memory bank and coming out confused, Beth. πŸ˜€

    • Merril, I would like to go sometime just to have the experience. It sounds like fun. Thanks for sharing the Philadelphia art in a bar scene availability. I especially appreciate your compliment on Randy’s final painting in his lesson. xo

    • It does sound like a splendid good time. It would be a social event, Jodi! I’m always “gung ho” on this sort of activity. (In past, wondering if I will meet Mr. Right, but am dating now so best keep art at home and date can accompany me to bars. Ha ha! πŸ˜‰ )

    • Randy is a great and entertaining artist. He has the gift of gab, as well as listening politely. I have not taken lessons from him, per se. But I have had him laugh at my perspective on angles of houses and asked him to “fix them please.” Like I’ve mentioned before, he would love your music as background and he’d be a good host to eat his barbecue food, Marissa. There’s a small (young) band two doors down with a candle shop in between, who plays out in nearby taverns. He invited them to his last open house to play and paid them for playing. πŸ™‚

    • It does sound like fun I haven’t tried art in bars, but loved seeing the stages of art he has accomplished with inexperienced artists. They have created some pretty good paintings to take home from the classes.
      So far, I have never drunk and painted, mainly since it may come out messy, Anneli. I would enjoy going to watch Randy, but I have seen him teach my three children, as well as two of my grandsons impromptu “art lessons.”

  2. Your brother is multi-talented, Robin. What a lovely painting. The technique of scratching through the top layers to reveal the bottom layers is effective, and you’re right about it adding interest and movement. And taking art classes in bars? I’d go. It sounds like a blast. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Diana. It would be a blast!
      I would like to go, not sure who I could round up to go with me, though. (If I were to go locally in nearby Columbus.)
      I like the idea and yet, not crazy about traveling too far in the dark. One day, when I’m up visiting, I will pay to paint while taking lessons, then share on my blog! πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, there’s nothing like that around my place either. Portland is an hour away and my night vision keeps me off the roads for any great distances. But it would be fun!

      • It sure would be fun, Diana! I am heading off to see “Gifted” with my 8 year old grandson who attracts autistic and asperger’s syndrome classmates. His even tempered, creative side helps those who don’t use eye contact nor wish to have friends relax. He has one 7 year old girl and an 8 year old boy whose parents exclaim and tell his mother (and me, if we run into each other) how wonderful he is at “calming” their children. He asked his mother last week to take him to this movie. Visiting blogs “on hold” this beautiful Saturday. Hope you are having a splendid weekend! πŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeus striking use of colours in this painting and you describe the process so well. Fascinating. Randy is gifted indeed! Sounds like a great place to have art classes!

  4. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    MY DAD PAINTED IN OILS–SELF TAUGHT HE WAS! HE AND THE PAINTING INSTRUCTION BOOKS WOULD START THE SKY WITH UNDERCOATS OF PURPLE, ETC., THAT I NEVER UNDERSTOOD. BUT THEN…DAD’S CLOUDS WERE ALWAYS RICHER-LOOKING THAN MINE! WHY NOT IN BARS–IT’S WHERE THE PEOPLE ARE!

  5. That’s really pretty, and so cheerful with all the bright colors.

    I’ve done two acrylic painting at a place in town called Bottles&Bottega. My gave me this gift. Painting lessons with a glass of wine, and a witty, and talented instructor is so much fun. I walked away with two decent paintings too. I have a few bucks left on my gift cert. I need to use up.

    A destination painting lesson would be awesome! I’ve dreamed of doing a watercolor one in France. Maybe one day. xx

  6. Pingback: Tennessee Spring Serenade by Randy – Dorris H

    • Thanks so much, Dorris. I appreciate your linking with my brother Randy’s art. He was teaching painting πŸ–ŒπŸŽ¨ at Fathead’s Brewery in Cleveland, Ohio.

Leave a Reply

