Orchids with fondness

Image

Happy Mother’s Day to

all those who play roles in

loved one’s lives by ~

Brightening our existence!

๐ŸŒธ ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒผ ๐Ÿ
Hot pink is mentioned

often when reflections 

of my Mom come up. 

This is to say, she is still

funny, lively and good company.

She recollects much of the past,

Vague recollections of our “now”

and still remembers to say

to many who are around 

her, “I like your blouse!”

or add as she passed someone

on the sidewalk on our sunny walks,

“Have a wonderful day!”

She hums and knows some of 

“Que Sera Sera” and liberally 

applies this philosophy,

as well as fuschia lipstick

upon her dry but warm lips.

Following her suggestion to me,

as a teenager,

“You can never go wrong 

with lipstick and a dab of color 

in your wardrobe!”

Her new lipstick tint is called,

“Orchid,” and matches 
her hot pink floral top!

56 responses »

    • Rosalie O is still a riot! I have so much love and respect for her teaching high school during the turmoiled years of the 60’s – end of 70’s. Her personality has held an open heart and warmth like a beacon to keep me on a positive path, Derrick. I’m so glad you have your Mum, too.

    • I am very lucky, Beth. I hope mentioning Mom helps personal good memories of other’s mothers.
      Hot pink has always been her popular favorite color for everything, including a front door! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Happy Mother’s Day, my friend. ๐Ÿ’ž

    • Thanks so much, dear Judy! ๐Ÿ’
      This was something I pondered about as I sent an annual Mother’s day card to my younger than I, married (childless) cousin. She has throughout the lives of my three children, sent me an ornament or cross-stitched art piece which we all benefited.
      May you have a special, happy Mother’s Day, too. ๐Ÿ‘‘

    • Mike, thanks for this special wish. It was a beautiful day with plenty of cheer. Hope you had a lovely weekend. May your rest of the month go smoothly, soon you may have a new destination planned, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I am glad you stopped by and possibly the orchid shared a bit of happily scented memories with you. I am glad you were visiting your parents not that long ago (out west, I think?) It is a blessing to have extra time with our parents (for me, My Mom.) Hope your mother’s day was beautiful like you are. . .

    • Thanks, Marissa. This was from our day at the conservatory. It was something which seemed like a good representation of our dear Mom’s, here, gone, or in the futute.

  1. I think it is wonderful that your mum still likes a little hot pink in her life – it’s a colour that shows vibrancy and warmth of personality! My youngest has recently fallen in love with the colour and begun to surround herself with it – taking her life from drab to fab in moments ๐Ÿ™‚ So nice to hear your mom’s greetings and comments to folks. The photo is beautiful!

    • My friend, Pauline! This sounds like your youngest’s color choice is from someone who doesn’t fall far from the tree she came! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Hope you had a lovely day with your pets and possibly phone calls. . .

  2. It’s good to remember and appreciate our mothers. Mine has been gone for 35 years but she’s with me every day in my heart and my head. You’re so lucky to still have yours. I’m happy for you.

    • Anneli, your loss was at such an early stage in life! This makes me sad. I usually feel our parents and family members are only temporarily here for us. . . Maybe you planted or made a favorite dish for your memories. . .

      • I think of my mother very often. I can’t make a special day of it now though. It hurts too much to think about her that hard. I prefer to do it in little snippets at a time.

    • Jan, she was sometimes staying with the current trends, while setting her own kind of style. It was one of many hot pink choices she made.
      Hope you had a very nice Mother’s Day! ๐ŸŒธ

    • I did have a wonderful weekend, Debby. Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day! ๐Ÿ‘‘
      Thanks for the special wish and wish I could pass you an orchid through cyber-space! ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒผ

Leave a Reply

