Thursday’s Doors ~ Kona Ice truck

Image

Believe it or not, there was a much

longer line of hospital staff 

standing here, before I 

mentioned that I hoped no

one minded if I took their picture.

Anyway, here’s one hospital nurse

and the Tropical Shaved Kona Ice

purveyor extraordinaire.

Even she was “shy!”

Here’s a friendly host,

Norm Frampton, whose

Thursday’s Doors feature is

quite popular and a worldwide

phenomenon, irresistible to

doors’ (of any kind) viewers!

Hope you check out the variety here:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Happy doors’ excursions!

🏣  πŸ•  πŸš  πŸ   πŸ€ β›ͺ β›Ί

49 responses »

  1. I like your colourful and attractive kona truck Robin. We have little ‘Mr Whippy’ vans that come around playing music in the summer time, selling icecreams to the children and sometimes the adults also. I don’t think they are as bright as yours though.

    • I like plain ice cream trucks that rely on their products and familiarity to sell them, Pauline. I usually don’t “fall” for ice cream trucks unless my grandies are looking like cute, forlorn puppies. Then, I “cave!” πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing about Mr Whippy vans.

    • It made me feel bad until I realized they were worried about being recognized. Silly doctors and nurses. One laughed and mentioned her behind was “a little too big!”
      Don’t worry, sweet Annika! They all got back in line and I promised not to take a picture. πŸ˜€ I would have been sad for the business, too.

    • It has been like a roller coaster temperature-wise and seasonal unpredictability, Beth. We all need to believe summer will be here, soon.
      This weekend is the Delaware Arts Festival and there is windy and rainy weather predicted. Alas. . . I will take an umbrella!

    • The weather is certainly unpredictable and like March in its erratic temperature swings, Merril. Seems like it should level out soon. We don’t have air conditioning in the warehouse so we root for sixty degrees outside. The 80’s are not the best since fans just feel like they move the dust around. (chuckle, snort.)
      Our town attracts art from California, Arizona and Florida, as well as New England this weekend with three city blocks closed down for the Delaware Arts Festival. My friend Jenny and I were talking about how 8 times out of 10, we must carry an umbrella. I am sad about possible windy days, too.

    • I will be happy to save you a place in line, Joanne!
      I read many people’s posts and hardly anyone mentions people scattering when told a photo will be taken. So funny since it isn’t Facebook, I think of WordPress being a “step up” with our community.
      My 1891 post is on May 22nd. I added your blog link. πŸ™‚

      • I agree with you there! I think WP is many steps up from FB!!!
        Thank you … looking forward to your post on the 22nd πŸ™‚
        Happy Friday!

    • There’s some places where there is an abundance of ice cream trucks or snow cone carts, like beaches and neighborhoods. . . Other places, not as much! xoxoxo

    • Anneli, I like this special message of how this flavored ice cone vehicle brings happiness wherever it goes. This would be a great advertising blurb. πŸ™‚

    • This may be a good point about health care workers, maybe they think it looks “bad” to be caught getting a treat! (?) I think sugar flavorings aren’t quite so “bad” on diets as cookies or cake.
      What do you think?
      I worry about full flavored ice cream, too. My cholesterol level was high in my 40’s but so far, I am much more controlled in my choices. I love frozen ices and coffees, plus frozen yogurt. hugs xo

    • Hi Jay! I will be happy to keep your place in line until you can arrive here. πŸ˜‰ We could always add a little rum in the piΓ±a colada!🍹🍍

  2. This post reminds me of those days when kids would rush out at the chime of the ice-cream man and he too would keep on ringing his bell till all the children of the lane didn’t hear it!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stirring some memories Robin.

    • Balroop, this is exactly how I picture our local ice cream trucks, only with a silly song playing instead of a nice chime sound. πŸ™‚ Thank you for contributing to this by telling your own memories (or when your children were young. . .) xo

  3. There is an ice cream truck where I live that just started playing its little tune as it drives down the street – WAY too fast for anyone to grab his or her wallet and get out the door to catch it, however (and right across the street from me is a private dorm with literally hundreds of college customers). I sometimes wonder if that truck is actually in the ice cream biz at all.

    I haven’t had one of those shaved ice frozen things since I was in grad school in New Orleans. They were everywhere. VERY odd that, when I was there, they all closed up shop after Labor Day. I mean, New Orleans? It stays hot enough for shaved ice until practically December!

    Cute truck – cute post!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    • This was a great addition to this post, Madelyn. πŸ™‚ You contributed another city and state, other possible (“nefarious”) uses for shaved ice trucks or ice cream trucks, too. πŸ˜‰
      Not sure if they think school starting prevents ice cream purchases. I have wondered why the arbitrary date of Labor Day, too.
      Also, strange how your nearby ice cream truck goes too fast, passing up lots of sales opportunities.
      Thanks for your compliments on the truck and post.
      It is a fun time of year around Ohio. This weekend, you would enjoy the Delaware (Ohio) Arts Festival. My small town closed down three city blocks for quite a large festival. We have art exhibits and booths from California, Arizona and from out on the East coast.

      • WAIT – Delaware OHIO?! Did you realize that I am in Cincinnati? Robin, we are only about 3 hours apart, according to Google Maps.

        As soon as I can afford to get my van road worthy again, I just may pop into your neck of the woods for a visit (and some ice cream – lol) — but don’t rush around cleaning or anything crazy – it will be a bit of time yet! πŸ™‚ Perhaps in the fall.
        xx,
        mgh

      • Madelyn, maybe I knew this at one time or another?! I used to drive from 1984 -1998 halfway to Cincinnati to meet my ex-husband in the area known as the “Washington Courthouse exit” before it became known for the Jeffersonville outlet malls. πŸ˜€ Twice a month I would exchange the kids with him.
        I married two Anderson High School graduates (first one I met the 1st day of college at BGSU, second one I met in Lancaster, Ohio working as a child advocate at a battered women’s shelter. The first one recommended the second one when I told him a year after we divorced, I had met “this nice guy.”)
        The one who I had my oldest two children with, was both a big drinker and not that nice as a father. . . He lived in Turpin Hills, now in Centerville by Dayton.
        The one I met as a social worker, was nice as a father but not faithful! He lived closer to Anderson H.S. and lives in Mt Vernon.
        We could figure out a time in the future and it would be wonderful, Madelyn. You are always welcome here or meet halfway or. . . ?! Split a hotel room and see little neat things in a middle of the state location. . .
        Thanks for your enthusiasm! 😊

      • FIRST I have to figure out the car agita and come up with whatever funds that entails, but I would love meet up with you wherever my van will take me once it is road-worthy.

        What is it about men and fidelity? It’s a form of impulsivity that has always been puzzling to me – and painful to many of the women I have known. I’m sorry to read about #2 – but I’m glad the both he and the drinker is no longer in your life (other than the connection with your children). Good move – you deserve better.
        xx,
        mgh

Leave a Reply

