Thursday’s Doors ~ summer means “Fun in the Sun!”

Image

The Kona Ice truck goes to our local

hospitals, parks, and schools.

Yes, it is a symbol of summer!

No, it is still May and spring here.

I went to Ohio Health to pick 

up knee x-rays for Felicia.

There was the Kona Ice truck!

I like the piΓ±a colada flavored ice

or coffee cappuccino ice with

a squirt of vanilla added.

This is a Double Doors post!

“What?” you ask.

The “real” door where

the driver gets in and out, is

to the left. The “bamboo” door

where you imagine it opening

and allowing the Kona Penguin

to disembark makes my silly,

childish face, “Smile!”  It also

brings shaved snow cones

to my grandchildren’s

schools on certain days

where lucky kids purchase

fruit flavored juicy ices.

This is one of two door posts

and the next one had 10 adult

nurses and hospital staff,

standing in line.

Only one remained once

I mentioned, “I’m taking a picture!”

You would have giggled at how fast

they scattered, hiding behind bushes.

Here’s a jewel of a door wrangler, who

may enjoy a fruit flavored snow cone.

Please check out Norm Frampton’s

Thursday’s Doors on his blog here:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Hope you don’t mind looking at the

window with the purveyor of

frozen sugared confections.

Come on, summer! 

 πŸ¨  πŸŒž 🍦

 x   🍧  x

 πŸ‰  o  πŸ

28 responses »

  1. Robin, the sight of this ice-cream van puts me in a holiday mood – the bamboo door is great with the penguin in its bright shirt! I feel like it’s time to head down to the beach for a swim – just needs to warm up a bit first! πŸ˜€ Not many ice-cream vans here will do these exotic flavours, the pina colada sounds delicious! Have a great day! πŸ˜€β€οΈ

    • Annika, it certainly is a cheerful sight! I like the way you put this into words: “in a holiday mood!” The kids like being able to use the different flavor pumps, “all by myself!” I have enjoyed πŸ–mixing the flavors, too. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for being such a fun commenter!
      Hope you have a terrific Thursday and upcoming weekend! xo πŸ’›

  2. What a fun looking truck! We just have the usual ice cream trucks around here (thought there may be more exotic ones in Philadelphia). I’m not sure if I’ve had shaved ice. This region is water-ice territory.

    (Did you see I put in a door photo for you in my post a couple of Monday’s ago–the one about prisons and books? πŸ™‚ )

    • Oh my! Need to go back to your post and remember the door, Merril! I probably saw it but will mention this next time I post a door and thank you. I appreciate your doing this and hope you told Norm to check it out, too. . .
      We used to call these shaved ice beverages: snow cones! 🍹🍍 I used to like the blue raspberry one until I was teased about blue lips!

      • It’s no big deal, Robin. It was the old synagogue door on display at Eastern State Penitentiary. I always think of you when I see interesting doors, and told my husband I had to take the picture for you. πŸ™‚
        I’ve had snow cones, but that is larger (crushed?) ice. Water ice is very smooth. There was actually a water ice stand at the authors’ festival I attended, and someone warned us that if we had the blue-raspberry our mouths would be stained. πŸ™‚

    • It means a lot to me that you took the door photograph and thought of me. I just am going to respond to the posts and then will visit you. Thank you, Merril. πŸ™‚

    • So true! On the other post, I managed to get one person in her hospital uniform to remain in line! There were ten people who could have stayed in line with their backs to me. So funny how they hid from me! πŸ˜€

    • So glad you thought it was an interesting door! We have ice cream trucks, too. This one has something like Italian ice in cups. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing you still have an ice cream truck that makes the rounds there!

    • Yes, Anneli!I sure remember loving the ice cream trucks that would come by the beach when I was a kid! Also, there were ice cream trucks my own three children would get excited about! It was about $2 (apiece) last time one rolled by a park when I had my grandkids with me. Thank goodness they accepted my credit card. πŸ™‚

    • I remember there being a Good Humor truck in one of the neighborhoods we lived in, Diana. The one we were in grades 3-7 or around that time period. Yes, you had to run fast! My parents had a drawer with change in a box where we would just take quarters for lunch money. If they had company or were busy, we would grab money and tell later. πŸ™‚ Usually about 50-75 cents.

  3. Hi Robin, hope you are doing great. πŸ™‚

    The ice-cream van looks alluring. I love ice-creams. Actually, I can scream for icecream πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ piΓ±a colada is my favourite too.
    The double-door is quite interesting. Thanks for sharing the picture… ❀

    • I hope so, Deborah! Your #1 grandson and you were sharing my ESP brainwaves. πŸ˜‰
      We have a Splash Pad water park paid for by donations and a grant. It has paid a local business to open up shop and it is called, “Rocky’s Italian Ice.” I took a photograph and had a post last summer about it. They make their ices and mix the flavorings in. We like lemon ice with vanilla gelato topping. Tastes like a lemon meringue pie. If they made mango or tangerine we try those. Last summer blue raspberry was a favorite except for my disliking the blue lips! πŸ™‚

    • It was a fun day and this added to it, Amy. I haven’t been capturing old doors lately. . . I love the details in antique, historical homes! Thank youπŸ’Ÿ!

Leave a Reply

