The M & M girls + Hendrix

Image


After being such excellent 

blogging friends, your

reward is to see the M & M

girls with little brother,

toddler Hendrix!

All enjoyed soft serve

chocolate ice cream.

Our very favorite ice cream “palace”

is called Dairy Point, a family

run business where my 

personal favorite is a

scoop of hard butter pecan,

hot caramel, real whipped cream,

home toasted pecans and 

a cherry on top!

πŸ’

Please “dish!”

What is your favorite flavor?

Does anyone still order 

a banana split?

65 responses »

  1. I don’t . I ain’t a sweet fan believe it or not. I know folks find that hard to believe. Chocolate yep. that is it. BUT having seen this yeah I am open to persuasion xxxx

    • Shehanne, you could order a shredded chicken sandwich, salad, or my personal favorite fried breaded mushrooms or onion rings with ranch dressing.
      My friend, Jenny, likes their footlong Coney dog. If I get a hot dog, it is with mustard, pickles, relish and onions. . . You may not choose sweets, could have salty or . . . xoxo

      • Well…… I am thinking the splits there…..yep, you convinced me with the shredded chicken sangie. Your post had already made me think…..I can do this xxxxxxx

    • Silly Shehanne, it is okay not to want to eat sweets and hope you will never feel any pressure to have a split either. Many people enjoy the shredded chicken so you are in great company! πŸ™‚ xo

  2. What a sweet photo! It reminds me of when my girls were little with ice cream-covered faces.
    I will always choose chocolate or coffee–or a combination of the two. πŸ™‚

    • Merril, I do so like kids with messy faces! Thank you for the image of your own girls mentioned. Your recent photo in their pajamas, with Humpty Dumpty and the bear, was sweet, too. ❀
      There used to be photos online or in commercials with spaghetti on children's faces. πŸ™‚
      Chocolate or coffee flavors are my Mom's favorites! xo
      My Dad's butter pecan is my favorite. Although, I am not crazy about Neapolitan ice cream which economically was often purchased at our home.

    • That is an excellent choice to top off fruit crisps or cobblers, Merril. I admire your knack for making a wider variety of foods, including these desserts. xo

  3. How adorable…I like pistacchio or just eating cookie dough straight from
    Ben and Jerry’s container! “)

    • Ooh, Holly! I think these sound scrumptious!
      Thanks for adding your personal favorites. My grandson loves cookie dough ice cream. They have “hard” ice cream flavors at Dairy Point, as well as frozen yogurt.
      I haven’t tried pistachio ice cream but have made a layered dessert with pistachio pudding, cream cheese topping and a pretzel brown sugar crust. I will look for this ice cream soon!

  4. Their expressions are priceless! Thanks for sharing, Robin. My (adulthood) egg allergy has limited what kind of ice cream I can get, and it’s darned tricky in restaurants to get clarity on the ingredients. But I used to like strawberry best… except of course for my real favorite — hot fudge sundaes! πŸ˜€ Hugs.

    • Thank you very much for your saying this was “priceless,” Teagan.
      Do they have strawberry frozen yogurt or sherbet? I believe they don’t use eggs in either style. . .
      Now, hot fudge is a popular choice and maybe you could pour this over frozen vanilla yogurt? Ooh, homemade whipped cream would melt and flow around your favorite sundae. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, thanks so very much! I had two girls with a son in between. These three are my son and DIL’s precious children. He married someone with two children so he has a “crew!” His wife had a three year old boy as their ring bearer and four year old girl as their flower girl when they married. Their first initials are L & L.
      Have a happy, delicious weekend! 🍨

    • Sounds like a yummy combination, Colleen! πŸ™‚ These are my Mom’s favorites, with a cup of black coffee as a “chaser.”
      Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Oh, that’s easy for me…chocolate…although don’t even get me started on add ins like fudge or peanut butter! I love how they are looking at him like ,’ uh, you know you’re making a mess’…ha, ha!

  6. I often think of having a banana split, smothered in chocolate sauce …. but it’s just a thought. My favourite, which is also mostly just a passing thought is french vanilla, smothered in chocolate sauce – so really just a banana split without the banana – drool πŸ™‚

    • Pauline, I have to admit I usually skip the banana and love a double or triple scoop as a special treat! Your chocolate sauce is a popular choice. I didn’t actually attempt to eat ice cream since I felt at any minute Hendrix would try to wriggle down or off the bench! πŸ™‚

  7. So precious!! Thanks for sharing, Robyn! No, I’ve never liked banana splits.
    And of course real whipped cream!! No “oil” for me!
    I love Jack-n-Jill sundaes. Hot fudge on 1 half, marshmallow on the other.
    Vanilla ice cream., no nuts, just whipped cream- lots please! and a cherry.

  8. My choices are usually coffee or pistachio or French vanilla, depending on the brand or the shop – but my stand by is plain ole vanilla (especially if soft serve is all you have). Hold the toppings unless you have fresh raspberries – then pile those on soft-serve vanilla (spare no juice, btw), and top it all with mounds of real whipped cream. HEAVEN!

    I never cared for banana splits, but a black and white ice cream soda will usually get a thumbs up from me – and that’s where I’ve gotta have the whipped cream and the cherry!

    The kids are absolutely precious. Could I have one of those instead?
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    • Those grandies are pretty sweet and calorie free, Madelyn! πŸ˜‰ Thanks!
      Ooh, I love raspberries! I didn’t think of this at ice cream trucks but at ice cream “shoppes” this would be a possibility. By the way, my favorite preserve is raspberry on oatmeal toast.
      At local places where they make homemade whipped cream, I always ask for extra. My Dad used to make black and white sodas, “black cows.” I like them better than root beer floats.

      • My mother loved b/w sodas – so I always think of her whenever I order one. I’m with you on the preserves – raspberry ALWAYS (even with p-nut butter!) Can’t have the toast since I am now eating gluten free, but you’d be amazed by what I can come up with to put it on.

        Thought of you earlier tonight, btw – not that I was “witless dating” but friend and colleague Peggy Ramundo invited me to my first meetup – all Boomers. I had quite a few interesting conversations – and a couple of glasses of Cabernet – and it was the closest thing to a date I’ve had since moving here!

        In my 30s-40s I was the dating queen, but my last relationship put me off all willingness to spend time with the critters. -lol- I must admit that some of the ones tonight were interesting enough to see again – as FRIENDS!
        xx,
        mgh

      • So happy that Peggy encouraged you to try a meetup. I had a lot of fun and still write and am friends with one of the 100 men I had first dates of only coffee, ice cream or a walk around a park or town. I sort a date once or twice a month a man I really like but he probably is “not the one.”
        I am approaching 62 in November, so still have hope for a partner, Madelyn. I am one who enjoy my brothers’ company and my Dad, as well as treasure my Mom still. She lost my Dad in 2001 so she and others promote idea of finding a partner to spend the next 20-25 years with, meaning younger. . . We shall see!
        Keep me abreast of your dating since I enjoy knowing you may be trying even just as friends. hugs xo

      • Thanks so much for your encouragement. I’m not really planning to “date” – but I may *possibly* spend a bit of time in male company, depending on “fit” of interests and politics.

        I’m not looking for a partner, but both male and female friends and activity partners would be quite welcome. So you keep ME up-to-date on how your search for partnership is going.
        xx,
        mgh

  9. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    BANANA SPLIT-? HAVEN’T TRIED ONE OF THEM SINCE THE LAST TIME WE VISITED DRESSER HILL FARM IN CHARLETON, MA!—YEARS AGO. WOULDN’T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT—SO MUCH SYRUP AND SUGAR! πŸ™‚ I LOVE WATERMELON SHERBET, COFFEE ICE CREAM,BUTTER PECAN, MAPLE WALNUT, FUDGE RIPPLE/ SWIRL, VANILLA, STRAWBERRY, ANY KIND OF MOOSE TRACKS OR PEANUT BUTTER ICE CREAM…! AND MOXIE!

  10. My favorite is Chocolate Chip Cookie dough with a dollop of peanut butter. But butter pecan is one of my top 5. Now, my mouth is watering. πŸ™‚ Hey, a banana split with nuts is healthy, right?

    • Culver’s is really good frozen custard! I’m a vanilla or coffee ice cream if it’s plain flavors but my three grandchildren who are in this post had chocolate with sprinkles on top. Thanks for such a sweet comment and reminding me, I need to go to Culver’s in Marysville, Ohio. xo

  11. What a precious photo Robin. Hendrix looks so grown up and the girls are simply adorable too. You have captured them perfectly! Love the expressions on their faces.
    I love ice cream and try different flavors. Just had Purple Cow- which was black raspberry yogurt with white and chocolate chips. Yummy!

  12. Your grandchildren are beautiful, and I can only imagine the true joy you feel spending time with them. Ice cream – now there is a wonderful topic. I love ice cream and can’t really thing of a flavor I wouldn’t at least give a try. I do love Maine Black Bear which is vanilla with cherries and chocolate. πŸ™‚ I haven’t eaten a banana split since I was a kid, but when we were in SC a lot of folks went on Thursday nights (2 for 1) to a local store and ate them for dinner. πŸ™‚

    • Well, so glad you taught me a new and delightful flavor, Judy! Maine Black Bear sounds yummy. 😊
      Thank you for your warm comments including about my grandchildren.
      It is cool that the local place in SC had a great deal on banana splits. That is a bargain and the only thing I would do to change the order would be to ask for 2 scoops of vanilla, 1 of chocolate and no strawberry ice cream. The three toppings could be the same as everyone’s, since it would be a busy night for them! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

