Creative Foundations, Artist Danielle

Image

Danielle painted a beautiful bird

~ the Blue Crowned Crane ~

which was made into a card.

She showed me her design,

proudly telling me it was

hers, on sale for the 

Delaware Arts Festival,

along with many other

artworks on display!

We turned her notecard over,

looking at the picture of

herself. I read aloud

Danielle’s Art Statement:

“I like doing art because it lets

me express myself. I like 

painting, drawing, performing.

I like to talk with my friends

and family. My favorite thing 

to do is draw animals. 

Creative Foundations

makes me very happy.”

My friend, Jenny, who taught

reading to children with 

learning disabilities

bought some cards

and so did I. 

Danielle is good friends with Amber.

Amber painted my youngest 

daughter the beautiful bold, 

black, gray and white rose.

She had been so excited when

I “commissioned her!”

It is hanging in Felicia’s bedroom.

At times it is hung over her 

white painted brick fireplace.

I’m hoping that the rose 

painting will be on a 

link found below.

This is my photograph

of Danielle Gould 

taken 5/20/17.

*****”*****

Please keep this fine organization

or similar programs in mind

when contemplating Art

and supporting positive

places to express 

themselves

who may be

differently 

made.

*”*

36 responses »

  1. Coucou Robin,
    Encore un très bel article
    Bon weekend Γ  toi et toute ta petite famille.
    Je t’embrasse
    Tony

    • Thank you for enjoying this photograph of an artist who attends a workshop to create art and have socialization.
      Hope you have a lovely and serene Sunday,Tony! πŸ™‚

    • Danielle really could not wait to show us a tour. My friend, Jenny, had never been here. Last year, I took my 8 year old grandson, Micah. It has been two years ago, Felicia (youngest daughter) and I were at this arts fest.
      Pauline, it is really such an inviting environment. They have a special bus with a lift to pick up varied ability levels of people. I visit more often since I live downtown and go to the bank next door. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Beth! Danielle does have a beautiful spirit. This place has been featured a few different ways on my blog and really touches my heart.
      Last year, Micah made a visor here. . . he wants to go tomorrow. πŸ™‚

    • It really is, to allow them to have a recreation and feel their work is contributing to the community and defray costs of activities. Thanks, Marissa. πŸ™‚

    • I get angry about this very subject, too. The arts are how humanity creates a record of our existence through the combination of beauty and realism, in my opinion. When we allow everyone to express themselves through art, music and other creative forms (dance, writing, handiwork, crafts. . .) we rise above being animals. Thanks for your support, Merril. ❀

    • I agree – in addition to professionals, it’s amazing that people create art without any plan of making money at it or even of achieving their idea of ‘expertise’ at it – it is so wonderful that people do things merely for the sake of expressing themselves.

      • Oh, this is a wonderful comment and thank you for supporting this idea of all people having the need to express themselves.
        Many communities have places where people with a wide variety of abilities are welcome. In this organization, art is a form of subsidizing the bills of renting a downtown space, as well as art supplies. They feel a sense of pride when their art is sold. Some of the money does go to the clients. πŸ™‚

      • so heartwarming – heaven! – here in LA, rent is too high for people to be able to indulge such humble pursuits

    • Natalie, so glad you love this program which supports creativity in all people. πŸ™‚ πŸ’– xo
      I love that people with developmental disabilities and ones who would have rather ordinary pastimes, have a place to go. They have opportunities to create and feel pride in their sales to continue the organization.

    • Fiona, your comment was beautiful and so heartwarming. ❀
      This place is such a blessing to the people who are included in the program, as well as those in the community who visit or support them. Thank you so much.

    • I am thankful to have this opportunity to help open eyes and minds towards people who have a need for such a beautiful place to spend time. The clients feel such a reward at their contributing art to keep the program running, Shehanne. xoxoxo
      It blesses ME every time I visit, which is lucky my bank downtown is right next door. πŸ™‚

    • Ian, Danielle has such a warm and open personality. I was so happy she approached us, since it was wonderful to add a few cards to our purchases. By her selling the cards with her own bird design, she felt a sincere contribution to the organization. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so very much, Penney. I hope this helps other cities and towns to support agencies like Creative Foundations.
      Places where workshops may provide an atmosphere of acceptance and contribution for those who have different abilities and special needs. The clients enjoy creating art and the way it benefits the program. πŸ™‚

  2. Robin,
    I really liked how you featured this fabulous artist, Danielle. I absolutely loved her statement about how art makes her happy!

    • Isn’t it the best looking bird? I’m excited that the Columbus Zoo is in coalition of the cards they sell in Creative Foundations. Not sure how this works since the support staff didn’t include “Uncle Mike” on this day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

