Thursday’s Doors ~ Stratford on the Whetstone, part 2

Image


The grass so green evokes imaginary

memories of  farming,  milling, 

with families living in close-knit 

industrious community. 

Sacred ground, when people were 

“the salt of the earth.”

As I had noticed Dutch symbols

upon the barn, the total setting 

leaves purposeful, productive

lasting impressions 

upon my mind.

# # # # #

Photo taken by Robin,

simple story of monthly

passage by this beautiful

pastoral setting by her, too.

Although not a door on this post,

I would like to remind visitors

to check out other doors,

Norm Frampton, cordial 

host’s blog located at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Hope y’all enjoyed a little history

and could smell the clover, grass

and rich soil of Delaware, OH land!

17 responses »

    • Yes! I thought of your newest heroine trekking back into the period you chose for her: with wigs and lice, chamber pots and sparse amount of bathing. . .

      Shehanne, just imagining this girl in a less luxurious setting, rustic splinters in her behind with the farmhand. . . 😉

    • We have a river which leads to the Olentangy River, which leads southward towards the Scioto River. I wonder if the milling business didn’t connect well to our railroad(?) Not sure “what went wrong” Diana.
      I do know the local university was once a therapeutic resort or place to be “cured” by the mineral springs. When the TB vaccine was more available for everyone, a Methodist minister appealed to the town to purchase the buildings to become Ohio Wesleyan University.
      One day, I will run into a source and thanks for checking up further on this subject! ❤

      • It seems there were a number of fires at the mill, but they kept rebuilding, so that didn’t really explain it. I love learning the stories behind places. 🙂

      • Thanks for researching about the mill for me. 🙂 I did find some information about what a historian knew. I’ll need to write a follow-up on this, Diana!

  1. I looked and read all four of these related posts Robin – it is wonderful to have recorded history touch our feelings and imagination. It gives us a chance to honour those who went before and that truly is so very important!

    • Pauline, you have such a way with words! I felt a sense of unfinished stories and lives not remembered.
      I do want to help honor their lives and contribution to our history! 🙂
      I will keep checking places like our library and historical society.
      Thank you! xo

Leave a Reply

