Thursday’s Doors ~ Stratford on the Whetstone, part 1

Image

The doors are up high for unloading 

onto the farming wagons. This is  

part of a milling community.

There are a few too many pictures,

no need to respond on all, but it

will show you the historic

landmark sign, both ends

of the barn building.

Thanks for viewing

and here’s my 

favorite host,

who has many

links to a wide

array of Doors,

Norm Frampton at:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Have a wonderful, safe trip through

all doors around the community

of Thursday’s Doors.

30 responses »

    • Thanks so much for wondering! I have a friend and co-worker who thinks this is where the hay was stored and the horses were below. I cannot “see” this as possible. . .
      Another thinks we had sheep here and the shearing would bring wool for the making of clothing, rugs and blankets. So far, all conjecture! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks for your compliments to the barn and countryside, Diana. πŸ™‚
      If I lived closer to Columbus, there may be more city scenes, but am glad people seem to enjoy the local pastoral settings!

  1. I had to take a double-look at the photo because I missed the doors the first time. I was distracted by the windows πŸ™‚
    I would have been puzzled by their location.

    Underneath the building, is that where the animal stalls were located? I saw a barn with that odd (to me) construction once before and was told it was a Pennsylvania style barn.

    • You are probably right about the style. I am posting another similar barn system and “notes from a local historian,” Joanne. Thank you for checking this post out! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

