Weeds, 3.  Flower love story

Image

It was the squiggly way the plant grew.

The way he scrunched his eyebrows

together to try and focus on what

she pointed out in the grass.

His glasses slid down his nose.

Beads of sweat appeared on his 

forehead, along his hairline.

She showed him little tight

buds, the light purple

ones she called, “babies.”

He wondered at his ability to

focus and listen to the words.

It was her quiet, insistent

but gentle excitement.

This group of weeds

were leading him

into falling for her,

this wildflower lover. 

**********

Photo by Robin,

Words written by Robin

In my parents collection of

musicals on albums there was,

“Flower Drum Song.”

The 1961 film is in the

National Film Registry,

in the Library of Congress.

I liked the following songs,

“I enjoy being a girl,”
“Love look away,” and 

“Hundred million miracles.”

More wildflowers and weeds to come.

57 responses »

    • Aww, those little lavender flowers remind me of the fuzzy edges on bonnets and large hats atop women’s heads. Thanks for this “beautiful bouquet” comment! 🏵 💐

    • I was hoping someone had heard this musical score, Merril. I am glad you remember this. . . It is about a Chinese mail order bride, immigrating to America. I was glad it holds a place in the historical registry. It isn’t as full of stereotypes as “South Pacific.” 🙂

      • From what I remember (and honestly not that much, just some of the songs) it is MORE full of stereotypes –at least gender stereotypes. South Pacific spoke out against racism–“you’ve got to be carefully taught.” Some places in the south banned it.

    • Well, our local high school didn’t include the “South Pacific” songs, “Bloody Mary” or “Happy Talk.”
      I think the song, “You’ve Got to be Carefully Taught” includes “slanted eyes” and other specific ethnic characteristics. These are considered offensive in news articles written about the song **Although I Agree, this could be a meaningful song without some of the passages included from “South Pacific.”**

      • Well, it takes place during WWII. I think you need to take into account the historical context. As I said, the show was banned in the parts of the south because it is actually about not be prejudiced and condones interracial relationships. My two cents. 🙂

    • Oh, Merril. Maybe you didn’t see my agreeing with you. It is “our” two cents. 🙂 🙂
      The “teaching prejudice” part is good to include; children don’t dislike other kids unless taught. Exactly!
      The part describing people’s ethnic traits isn’t okay, especially while doing a “local” high school production.
      I’m sure on a city stage or in NY City, it could include all WWII parts. I had two parents who both said race wasn’t to be pointed out in their own families growing up during the Depression. So, those who say it was “historically acceptable,” may not have been raised in tenements like my Dad or by immigrants like my Mom. 🙂

  1. Flowers are Spring’s messages of joy – even if they are weeds. Thank you for spreading the joy.

    I remember a gardener friend once telling me ‘the definition of a weed is any plant that grows where you don’t want it.’ 🙂 – Mike

    • Mike, I love that flowers are messages of joy in all their forms. I like how we all appreciate wildflowers and weeds.
      Your gardener friend’s perspective is what I view weeds and the world as reacting to them.
      Thanks for saying I spread joy! 🙂

      • You’re welcome. I wanted to thank you, too. I just saw your comment on my post over at Southern Writer’s Magazine. I apologize for seeing it late, it’s hard to keep up with everything. Your words brought tears to my eyes. Thank you so much for your support over the years. It’s been wonderful getting to know you and your beautiful grandies too! ❤

    • I just noticed this very kind and warm comment, Jill. It is probably triple challenging for you to keep up with all the different media and hold down a full-time job! 🎆 💐
      I’m proud to call you my friend and will be reading and relaxing from June 30 – July 8th or so. ❤

      • 2 weeks till I go to watch my brother and SIL’s dogs. . . I will see my Mom every day.
        My “real” escape vacation to Mississippi is 4 months and 2 weeks to see my college friend, thank you! hugs xo

  2. Great musical! Those are wildflowers not weeds. Aster family I think? Showy daisy or something close to that.

    I suppose if it’s growing in a lawn someone planted/cultivated and this sprang up in it they would consider it a weed. 🙂

  3. That’s a wildflower Robin, though I cannot name it. I like to think that ‘weeds’ are just wild flowers we don’t yet know, as Jill indicated with her AA Milne quote 🙂 Accompanied by a very sweet little story too – makes it irresistible ❤

    • Thank you for liking my little story, Pauline. I appreciate the “irresistible” and “very sweet” compliments! 💞
      Deborah (I just read this response) says the wildflowers may be part of the asters family. The frilly fringe does appear to look like asters. 🙂

    • Pam, this is such a wonderful comment! I’m happy to provide a romantic interlude right here on my blog. 😉
      Your chosen words to sum the whole post series up are so true. . . Not to improve it but, “the best things in nature come in small packages!” (hummingbird, butterfly, tiny flowers, . . .)

    • Jay, they did inspire me. It is cool to think outside the box. I tried to come up with something besides talking about how pretty flowers are. I’m glad you love the different directions I went off in! 💜

    • Christy, so happy you found this one! I think once in awhile I come up with something that may be special to share. This one reminded me of a “wild child” I once knew. . . Thank you sincerely!

    • Colleen, your sweet comment was tucked away and just discovered this! Thank you for the “natural partners.” This would be a perfect title for another wildflowers (weeds) post!

  4. So easy to miss these tiny beauties. I love how you drew us into them. For me, anything with a flower is not a weed. They are all worthy of wonder.

    • This is a wonderful way to compliment, Tony! The “human” part of writing is something I am grateful for and I will try to take care of myself.
      Thank you for these beautiful messages! 😊

Leave a Reply

