Thursday’s Doors ~ Janes’ House, closer view

Image

My grandies call this a “mansion”

where they picture candlelabra,

thanks to, “Beauty and the Beast”

well-liked character, “Lumiere.”

They think “fancy” places

have flowers in vases and they

ponder aloud, “Every big house

must have a back twisty stairs

and front door leading to a huge

staircase with place to hold onto.”

“Do you mean a stair railing?” I ask.

Shrugging shoulders and, “Can’t 

you answer this?” Incredulous

looks on grandchildren’s faces.

They are picturing Belle 

descending this staircase.

Another detail they add, as I 

open all windows and park

in the barn’s driveway ~

“Wait! Do they have a guard?”

Hmmm. . . hoping not, as I

don’t see any signs of dogs

nor guard house. I walk over a

richly thick carpet of grass and

love the idea of this house being here

so long ago. Something to preserve

history and the small town of

Delaware, Ohio’s roots from

“Stratford on the Whetstone.”

(A milling community built 

along the Whetstone tributary

of the Olentangy River.)

I particularly like the “balcony” with

a rod iron railing above the formal

white door. There’s something

so warm and welcoming in the

brick, whitewashed and worn.

It manages to allow passers-by

 to feel a sense of coziness. Some

imagining the open curtained

windows showing friendliness,

with multiple children’s noses

pressed to windowpanes.

We talked about the fireplace 

and how important this would be

in the olden days to warm the house.

Also, wondering how soon they had

indoor plumbing. . . I introduced

their minds to chamber pots. 

No shuddering displayed; 

just curious questions, adding,

“Hendrix is potty training!”

Hope you found this

mansion, displaying some

fascinating historical features

found in the Federal period,

to  be “charming.”

Is this an example of 

your dream house?

I could see this as a destination

beautiful bed and breakfast.

Here’s a blogger,

Norm Frampton,

who had the graciousness 

to allow door enthusiasts 

to gather around,

attaching their links to his blog:

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Come visit my area and I will 

assure you of many more 

interesting doors and

history “galore!”

62 responses »

    • Yay! Thanks, Colleen! They are rather fun additions to my own life. So very glad you would listen and enjoy them, too. I would listen and be interested in yours, too.

  1. I like your grandkid’s imaginings. 🙂
    When I was a teen, I had cousins who lived in a house with a back staircase. They later moved to Israel. Oh, and I had forgotten, the house I lived in in my last semester in college had one, too. It was kind of a rundown place, but I thought that was very cool. (Still do!) There was a bedroom and bathroom in that back section of the house, and the stairs led down to the kitchen.

    • I’m so glad you don’t mind my inserting the grandchildren’s young impressions of some of my door’s posts. 🙂
      This is very interesting that the grandies’ (twisty) back stairs comment elicited two personal examples, Merril! Thanks for sharing about your cousins and also the “rundown” house you lived in college.
      I think that the kids have seen a couple of their mother’s dvr’d episodes of “Downton Abbey.” (I don’t think it has much off color or inappropriate stuff they would “get.”) “Beauty and the Beast” as well as “Cinderella” helped form their home interior, mind pictures.

    • It does appear to have a lot of rooms from looking at side windows, Anneli. I’m not sure how many people live there. Maybe someday, I will share “the rest of the story!” Thanks for imagining a big family in this home. 🙂

    • Yes! That small balcony would be great to open and allow a breeze to come into a bedroom at night, Dan. I told my grandchildren I could picture these days, white miniature Christmas lights on the roof line, electric candles in windows and a Christmas tree on the balcony, tall and narrow.
      I used to have an antique sled which appeared like a sleigh, I put it up on our great room shelf at Christmas. This would be so pretty on the lawn with a simple spotlight on it.
      Have a great, relaxing weekend, Dan and family.

  2. Well now, I think I like it a little better having read your thoughts and the grandies reactions to the place 🙂 I can’t count Robin, there are only two posts in ‘Doors’ this week 🙂 I like the worn whitewashed brickwork too and the balcony. I don’t think the portico does the building any favours though. Can you go inside the house Robin or is it privately owned? I’d love to see the kitchen and the living areas…….

    • This is a privately owned house, Pauline. It isn’t affiliated with the big red barn and Historical Society. (That house is an orange red brick house from same period.) I wasn’t going to schedule it for another two weeks or more. I wish to keep variation in my posting. 🙂
      I would love to see inside this house, too! hugs xo

    • My sweet Shehanne, it was fine to not totally love the whitewashed look on the brick. 🙂 I do think it kind of mellows the red and my one granddaughter thought it looked “pink” from a distance! She was very excited to think of a grand pink house. tee hee! xoxo

      • But see once you brought the house nearer, it looked fine. I think from further afield it had that big colonial style house look. Closer it’s a very different house and look. I love it. I do love these houses like this though x

      • So nice to write on this! 🙂 I like this one but particularly love little cottages! My parents retired from a nice house to a little gray-blue lake house. It was in the 80’s and the formal stuff got sold and they chose lighthouse and boats (nautical theme.) I envy leaving work at 55! Can you imagine being free of constraints?! We are open people and Mom whispered to me, her only girl ( “I threw out all my bras but one and that is for when we go to a proper dinner out!”)
        I would love a cottage with vines of blue morning glories and wild roses over trellises. There’s a pretty one on a busy street in a butter cream or lemon color that has white trim!
        It’s been awhile since I posted houses, so this series was interesting to learn the background.

      • Yeah it would be nice to do what your mum and dad did. I wish the cottage of your dreams for you. A place to disappear into in the nicest way xxxxx

      • Aww, I’m not sad! We just had been talking about dream houses. No worries, Shey. Keep this little hamstah’s in line now. xoxo

      • Oh, goody! Wishing for me is just fantastic, Shehanne. I am happy with my apartment and glad the kids and grandkids don’t mind the simpler quarters. It may be easier for me to clean now! 😉

  3. Wonderful, Robin. I love how you intertwine ‘today’ via the grandies with the past. Beautiful home, and I can see Belle on the back twisty stairs, too.

  4. I already live in my dream home but I do think this one is very cute with loads of personality. I just love the imagination, your grandies projecting onto what this house must be like. I love hearing those stories!!

    • It was lovely of you to say such a kind comment, Amy. It was interesting to read about an area of my “adopted” small town which I knew very little about. Thanks for reading this! 🙂

  5. Love your description and love the architectural elements of this house. LOL on the chamber pots…I remember as a kid when we would visit family out in the country how they would use chamber pots at night especially during the cold of winter…couldn’t quite wrap my head around the fact that indoor plumbing was newer than I realized for rural areas….great post!!

    • It is quite different and my 61 year old friend showed me huge sink they washed up in from a cistern and a photo of her backyard outhouse at age 9!! What?! Thanks for stopping and leaving fantastic comments, Kirt.

Leave a Reply

