Weeds, 4. Roadside rest

Image

Weary of the numerous cars, 

traveling both directions.

Wishing for a stream,

cool and shady from

the day’s hot, sticky

weather and bustle.

Leaning on the rail of

fencing to prevent snow 

in other seasons from drifting.

Listening to birds in far off woods, 

their familiar calls and songs.

Swooping from tall trees,

from branches to limbs

sending peaceful vibes.

Breathing the aroma of

fields, flowers, weeds.

Singing a message to all.

Slow your pace and 

follow the way

back to simple

moments

in time.

~~~~~~

Country road thoughts by Robin,

Serene photograph also by her.

~~~~~~

Additional words for a Sunday

given by Frederick Buechner:

“Faith is better understood as a verb

than as a noun, as a process than as

a possession. It is an on-again-

off-again rather than 

once-and-for-all.

Faith is not being sure 

where you’re going, 

but going anyway.

A journey without maps.

As theologian Paul Tillich said,

” ‘Doubt isn’t the opposite of faith;

It is an element of faith.’ “

69 responses »

  1. The life of a weed cannot be an easy one. It looks hot in addition to the other aspects you mention. But it’s a cool idea to try to get a weed’s perspective on life. Cheers

    • It was renewing my energy after work, heading up to Cleveland on a three lane highway going each way. I did also feel the weeds sighing in the sun, parched for a sip of raindrops, Jay. 🌻

      • You know, that’s such a lovely outlook – a more poetic and practical “stop and smell the roses”

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed both my thoughts and the chosen quote, Pauline. It seemed a great ecumenical message which almost every person would find meaningful, (of course, except an atheist.) hugs xo

      • When I was a little girl out in the country in Michigan there were the most glorious wildflower “gardens,” especially in the clearings of the woods. Then so many of the flowers were lost. These were technically weeds, I guess. But so beautiful. What I miss now are the borders of chicory around the cornfields in July. I do NOT miss giant ragweed. I am super allergic.

    • Yes! I liked the combination of light blue cornflowers, purple wildflowers that remind me of hollyhocks, wild roses, daisies and Queen Anne’s Lace. You could see milk weed pods and their pink flowers at two ends of summer. Butterflies, dragonflies and flitting birds. . . Usually between railroads and homes in fields and out in sunshine. This was a beautiful memory that took root in me! xo

  2. Lovely Sunday words, Robin. It even soothes to read it typed on the page so artfully. I am a Buechner “enthusiast,” so the addition of his quote was a really nice surprise. I hope you have a wonderful week, my friend.

    • I’m so happy you recognized the author of my quotation, Debra. πŸ™‚ This was something I ran into on one of my church bulletins. I hope your week has started serenely and continues on at a relaxing pace.

    • I’m remiss in getting back to several commenters, including this special moment with you, Fiona. I agree Sunday should be relaxing and encourage peaceful ramblings. . . I found this quote and overall liked it since it seems inclusive. Life is a journey without a map but faith may help when you come across troubles or choices, forks in the road. . . (Just interpretation, in my own mind.)

    • They actually should be considered “everyday words” as far as my roadside rest thoughts, Sarah. 🌸
      The others are to include most people but a song came to mind today, “Have a little faith.” Now, I’m wondering what it’s really called(?) πŸ•Š

    • Have a little faith in me, written by an Indianapolis songwriter, John Hiatt. I like when he sings it in a trio with Lyle Lovett and Bill Ely, but Joe Crocker is good! Anyway, it is more about relationships and connection than church faith. Thanks for listening to another ramble. . . hugs to Sarah xo

    • Thank you, Penney for re-blogging my post! I hope those who stop and lean on the fence, will find serenity and fill up on the wild nature for acres around them. Hope you are having a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

