Thursday Doors ~ Red barn, painting in progress

Image

There has been a groundskeeper 

house and barn at our 

 local cemetery around 

since the 1800’s.

This barn has a new coat

of red paint. . .

a work in progress!

~ Oak Grove Cemetery ~

334 South Sandusky Street

Delaware, Ohio

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

Please visit Norm Frampton’s blog!

Go to the above link to see doors

of so many kinds it will be amazing!

      Peace πŸ•Š

🎺 Taps

Faith πŸ€„

62 responses »

  1. There is nothing for me that more instantly evokes the US that I discovered in the little corner I lived in than a red painted barn. Lovely.

    • Hi my dear! ❀ Thank you for pointing out this is an evocative symbol of parts of our country. The blue sky and red barn seemed to fit the upcoming Fourth of July patriotic πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ mood here! xo

      • When I was a little girl I had a toy farm that my Granny bought in California. It had a barn and silo painted red with white roofs. The farmhouse was white with black shutters and a red front door. I loved that farm and I think I probably harbor a wish to live there! Enjoy the run up to July 4th …. such a wonderful festive day!!! Xo

      • I think you and Tonya are “two peas in a pod!” It would be lovely for you to have sheep, Fiona. My first babysitter watched my two brothers and me on a big farm. I wrote of us feeding baby lambs in her farm house kitchen bottles of milk. I have a tag on the right side of this page that says “lambs and milk bottles,” which will take you to my magical Mrs Able and her family. . .
        Happy to have been able to send you back in time to the wonders of your childhood toy farmhouse, barn and beautiful dollhouse, my sweet friend. πŸ‘πŸ

    • I’m so excited to hear of your Granny’s toy farm, Fi! We all need to have a farm house with a barn to play with! I have a Fisher Price farm set, no house but the barn, tractor, fence and cow, horse, sheep, rooster and pig are nice. There’s two farmers, one farm wife, a child boy and girl. The newest grandson is just learning if you open the barn doors they “moo!”
      I wondered if your set was wooden? My set is plastic, wish it were wooden! You could go visit fourth generation friend’s farm, Tonya. Her home with its large covered porch (verandah) is beautiful. Yours with black shutters at windows and red door sounds marvelous! xo

      • It is wooden. My mother has it at her house and the children all played with it there. The girls and I moved so often that I felt it better to leave some of the more precious toys (my rocking horse called ‘Hughie’ too) with her. Sadly though my decision to leave my dolls house was a catastrophe as it got woodworm and my mother burned it 😭… I have the memories though! I know the Fisher Price farm because that is what we had at our house when the girls were small. They adored it and I love to read of a new little boy discovering the moo-ing doors! I would love to see Tonya’s place. I adore her blog. It brings me great calm and peace and she has promised that when I eventually settle (which may only ever be a dream, but what is life without dreams) in a forever home with a little land she will advise me on sheep! πŸ‘ xo

    • Yvonne, thanks so much for stopping by and admiring this old red barn which really is being taken care of! It seems like it is part of our “Americana!” πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

    • I’m so glad you mentioned this, Pauline! ❀ It does have its place in our culture. We’re gearing up for the 4th of July here and this seemed to fit the “mood!” πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
      Have a lovely weekend, dear!

    • I see the old, run down barns and think of the years when they were in use. It does make me sad, Sarah.
      Happily, this red barn is used to store the cemetery grounds’ equipment. I’m wishing to peek inside and see what else is there in this large barn! Happy 4th! πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

    • I went past this barn set back on the side of the cemetery a few weeks in a row, Dan. I decided to go ahead and post the barn (as is), since it showed they at least were sanding and preparing to finish painting! I’ll be over probably later on Friday, as we work and then, I am driving to Cleveland. My car is packed for the whole week! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Beth. It is my usual busy season at the auto parts warehouse. I am well, my oldest daughter has some great occurrences and I will be by sometime during my week’s vacation.
      Hope you and your husband have settled into your new location, enjoying the beauty, artistic location. I may be off in my memory, though. . . Happy Fourth! ❀

    • It is almost completed, Diana. I really thought it fit the 4th of July, despite the final garage doors being painted. Did stop by a few weeks in a row. . . Thank you for thinking it’s a beauty. I agree! Have a grand Fourth! πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

    • No, my week will pass quickly up at my youngest brother and sister-in-law’s house, taking care of dogs, visiting my Mom and other lovely things! Reading books, too!
      My grandies know their time in my small town is often and my time with my dear mama is brief and three hours away. . . They send cars and visit her once or twice a year and I tell them she misses then and her “only daughter,” me!! ❀ πŸŽ†

    • Jan, this is so true. I like to see well tended older buildings. It is a shame when you see dilapidated barns and other structures. Hope you have a grand 4th of July! πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

    • I couldn’t wait till they would finish this since it just seemed to fit the red, white and blue theme of the 4th of July. Thank you, Lisa.
      I will be working then heading to Cleveland so my catch up time may be late Friday or sometime over the weekend. I cannot wait to see what you captured for your posts! ❀

    • My favorite country scene, blue sky white trim and a red barn!! Now, thanks to Dina from Norway, I know barns are bright red there, also! (above comment)! xo Happy upcoming 4th, Jay, Sean and Matt, too! πŸ’ž πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

Leave a Reply

