“Boys of Summer” series: Second base “steal”

Image

Skyler has played baseball 

for quite some time. He

actually likes this better

than his middle school

football team. He’s 

not one who brags

nor wishes attention,

preferring not to have to

Tackle nor guard anyone:

Just hit the ball, run to bases

and slide into Home Base!

The thrill of “stealing bases”

comes rightfully from his Dad,

who was in baseball, played a

catcher from childhood 

into college.

XXX

“Get your peanuts,

Popcorn 🍿 and

Cracker Jacks here!”

~ ~ ⚾ ~ ~

My good and long time

fellow blogging friend,

Mike Lince, 

suggested a perfect song to

add to this summer baseball series:

“Centerfield,” by John Fogerty.

The line he gave was, 

“Put me in, Coach.

I’m ready to play, today. . .”

X X X

To all of you:

Thanks for all your terrific comments!

34 responses »

  1. Tom Paxton Lyrics
    “You Should Have Seen Me Throw That Ball”

    Bills come due
    Write a cheque and send it through
    Hope it clears
    Haven’t cleared a cheque in years
    I’d better flash that grin
    It’s bound to win
    Never misses when I turn it on
    Though the kid’s getting old
    What can you do
    When it goes bad on you
    You’d better run
    Tell ‘em about the games you won
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    First and ten
    Never run a play again
    How’d I know
    That was far as I would go
    They’d buy me all my beer
    They like to hear
    How I fooled them I when I pulled my fake
    They called me ‘Snake’
    What can you do
    When it goes bad on you
    You’d better run
    Tell ‘em about the games you won
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    I had it all
    Why’d they have to drop the ball
    Right on the nose
    Bet I could have made the pros
    I didn’t need my charm
    When I had my arm
    First and ten
    Never run a play again
    How’d I know
    That was far as I would go
    They’d buy me all my beer
    They like to hear
    How I fooled them I when I pulled my fake
    They called me ‘Snake’
    But what can you do
    When it goes bad on you
    You’d better run
    Tell ‘em about the games you won
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    You should have seen me throw that ball
    You should have seen me throw that ball

    The YouTube video not available over here. It may be in US

    • Oh, yes!! Thanks so much, John! It is always nice to have another fan cheering in the stands. Hope your Fourth of July went well and you managed to have watermelon or corn on the cob or. . . . 🇺🇸 😊

      • You are very graciously welcome. My fourth was well although I did not do much.

        P.S. There is a possibility that I may make may way to OH later this summer.

    • Thank you, Merril. Each child or grandchild creates bonds with other generations which really help strengthen self-esteem. My grandma and grandpa helped me to feel special and “important.” It goes both ways, as you said, though. 💕

      • I think my girls have wonderful bonds with their grandmothers and memories of fun things that they did. Unfortunately, not as many with their grandfathers. And I have memories of my grandfathers, but not my grandmothers.

    • Aww, Shehanne! You are so nice joining in and rooting my grandson Skyler on! Thanks for sensing the carefree mood in the ball field and stands. He was on a team two summers ago where they lost every single game! Lol 😀 ⚾ Play ball! 😊

    • So nice, Colleen! I think Skyler is happy getting on base and from there senses a feeling of relief! 😉 He was on a team 2 summers ago they lost all the games, so he does have empathy for the other team! ❤

    • We have only rained out once! So true, Diana. It’s a Beautiful time of day! It is a wonderful summer activity which my son played for a couple of summers. He then loved football and concentrated on their boot camp summers.

    • Oh, then it is awesome you have a similar experience going on in your “neck of the woods” 😉 Thanks, Cindy! Hope your grand has a fun time and wins some games. Go Cindy’s grandson! ⚾
      Sky’s team 2 summers ago lost every single game! It was a little hard on him but it is also important to develop empathy for the other team when they lose.

    • Those cracker jacks have such an amazing history and I always enjoyed the flavor and charm (prize) found inside! Hope all is going well with you, dear. Hugs

    • Aww Gail! 😘 You know I rarely could get to base and lacked good hand-eye coordination!
      So, I definitely take a lot of enthusiasm for my two baseball playing grandies, just as I do my soccer and cheerleading girl grandies. Art flows in all 7 of their precious lives. . . Life is good! 🤗

Leave a Reply

