A traditional store’s closing: Sears, Roebuck and Co

Image

My friend, Dan Antion, had mentioned

Sears recently on his blog, saying his

local Sears store is closing. His drive 

to “the mall Sears” is not favorite

idea of a shopping trip. He also

connects to his own 2014 post

which includes Sears again.

Here is Dan’s “manly” recent post:

Escape to Sears

๐Ÿ•ถ ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿšฒ ๐Ÿ’ช ๐Ÿš— ๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ•ถ

I agree, Sears stores closing

makes me saddened and sorry.

Nostalgia and memories flow,

~ established in 1886 ~

We are lucky to have a local

Sears Hardware Store,

(Delaware, Ohio)

where lawn mowers,

bathroom fixtures,

๐Ÿ› ๐Ÿšฟ ๐Ÿšฝ

appliances and gardening 

tools are readily available.

I like checking out holiday

* ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿค *  ๐ŸŽ…  *  ๐Ÿค– ๐Ÿ‘ป ๐ŸŽƒ *  ๐Ÿฆƒ  *

and seasonal decorations there.

No yard to buy bird feeders or 

bird baths, although I like to get

manly, leather work gloves

as well as shoes for son.

๐Ÿ‘ž๐Ÿ‘ž   ๐Ÿ‘Ÿ๐Ÿ‘Ÿ

Recently, I traveled three times

down to Sears located at the

Polaris Mall and Towne Centre.

First, to Sears Optical to see

Dr. Rochelle Wagner,

who is truly a great

Optometrist.

๐Ÿ‘€ ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ‘€

Next, back to

choose eyeglasses,

meeting daughter for her advice.

A great price for two pairs of

selected frames, all are given

400 Ultraviolet protection,

adding $20 for polarized

brown-colored tint for a

fantastic price total = $127.00!

๐Ÿ‘“  ๐Ÿ•ถ  ๐Ÿ‘“

The third trip down was taking

oldest daughter for special

filmy undergarments, 

frilly nighty and hose 

getting ready for 

her nuptials.

๐Ÿ‘™ ๐Ÿ›  ๐Ÿ‘—

(They are already over.)

๐Ÿ’•

~ 7/7/17 ~

๐Ÿ’

We’ll travel back again,

Lara aged 13 now

and meet up with her

Aunt Felicia, to buy

“Back to School” clothes with

Land’s End brand name,

various teen clothing 

and cosmetic lines.

๐Ÿ‘› ๐Ÿ‘œ  ๐Ÿ‘—  ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ‘ 

48 responses »

  1. It’s always sad when a long lived and much loved store closes down isn’t it Robin. We have lost some of our oldest stores in recent years – it seems to be a sign of the times. This is a lovely post though, commemorating your local Sears and the many memories you will all hold of it should the same fate befall it. Though I really hope it won’t! xo

    • Thank you, Pauline. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you for your sympathy. ๐Ÿค—
      It really was interesting that I took this picture and was holding onto it, thinking “someday I will write about Sears. . .” When Dan was writing about it, I thought, “Hey, here’s my opportunity to write my own tribute to one of my favorite store.”
      T

  2. Most of us of a certain age have Sears memories. I remember, not fondly, being taken (dragged) to the dreary Sears closeout shop in Seattle’s main store basement, with its multi-hued fluorescent lighting, and seemingly random order of display tables with random stuff from out-of-season clothes to Venetian blinds. The best part about visiting Sears was walking through the TV Section. They had console color TV’s that I thought were like science fiction!

    That building, which had upper office floors that must have been twenty stories high, was sold to Starbucks years ago. Probably one of its appeals was it’s huge parking lot. It was all SODO (South Of DOwntown) warehouses back then. Now it’s walking distance from the stadiums where the Mariners and the Seahawks play. I won’t say those were the good ol’ days, but the memories are still vivid. – Mike

    • Wow, yes these aren’t my fond memories. I suppose when it closes, Sears becomes tacky in an effort to get rid of out of date stuff. It must be a Midwest store, although Dan lives in Connecticut. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing about the warehouse district. I know you saw my Saucy Brew Works soft opening pictures of the Cleveland warehouse. I love when they repurpose these grand brick or stone buildings into breweries, restaurants or taverns! Take it easy, Mike. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It really is sad, since all the years of looking at the Wish Book catalogs for Christmas. Felicia loved when Sears bought Land’s End clothing and boots line since I could pick out clothes she liked! Hope you have a happy weekend, Jill! โค

  3. It is sad that so many department stores are closing now, and others no longer exist. Sears does have a long history, and I’ve enjoyed looking at the old catalogs from the 19th century. Personally, I haven’t shopped at our local mall Sears in years, but many years ago we did have some of their Kenmore appliances and tools.
    You’ve done a nice tribute, Robin, they should hire you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Merril! I promised myself never to work weekends again. So, no retail or marketing for me. I appreciate your feedback on my post. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Felicia loves her Land’s End coat and boots from there and I still have a few smaller appliances from Sears. Mom and Dad loved when Kmart was bought by them, still able to use Shop Your way coupons. Joe Boxer pajamas and clothing were favorites of my son, as well as good shoes and Roebuck boots. xo

      • That’s nice that you don’t have to work weekends, Robin, and I guess it gives you more time with your grandkids, too.
        I’m trying to get some work done now, so we can do something later this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, doors and history chapters closing make me sad! The older stores seemed to have more quality merchandise, Fiona. Also, decades of the same dependable clerks who recognized and would suggested better prices or a longer lasting warranty. Thanks for your sympathetic tone, as you make a difference! xx โค

    • Oh, yes!! I would carefully cut out the pictures and glue them to my letter to Santa. We would take our letters to the main Sears store, several stories high in Cleveland. Just in case their was a mixup, we also took our letters to Lazarus dept. store. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ“ฎ

    • Judy, I agree the big December catalog was an amazing one! ๐Ÿ™‚ My parents used it to also plan out color schemes when we moved a few times. All sorts of products before the outside stores started to specialize in paint, lawn and garden products or home goods, Sears was our family house’s “main source.”
      I also liked to create outfits for homemade cardboard paper dolls from the catalog. Since my Mom usually sewed my dresses, I would point out styles or colors I liked.
      By the time I got to high school she rarely made our clothes, but did help choose my bridesmaids’ design from Simplicity, having measured my friends. She plus another teacher made their dresses, each a different color they chose from fabric swatches. I appreciated they didn’t have to buy their dresses, just shoes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thanks for the mention, Robin. I love the image of that plaque. I don’t think our store had one, at least not in the entrance I used. Ours was a smaller store, no optical department and not the greatest selection of clothing. Maybe it won’t be so bad heading to the larger mall. Sounds like you have many fond memories. I guess a lot of us share those.

    • You’re welcome, Dan! Shared history of a store that really provided a variety of products, good service and the option to special order items; usually delivered to our home or to the closest store. . .
      I took that picture in the tight space at an angle since it reflected so much straight on. It is a pretty brass plaque which “shiny” attracted my eyes. Thanks for your post about your Sears. So far, knock on wood, our mall Sears is hanging in there.
      The Marion, Ohio store closed which had a fantastic Santa and photography shop too. Several of my son’s family portraits were taken there. . . ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I get pretty sentimental over their closing up the optical department and portrait “studio,” Chris. Both moved or joined staff down at the Polaris Mall in Columbus. There’s a very long history, since 1886. I guess the specialized smaller stores or big Box stores will take their place. . . .
      We still have our local Sears hardware store; for the time being.

  5. That’s a gorgeous plaque and it’s such a shame that so many of these long standing companies with a rich history are not surviving.
    As typical, it appears that the executives will walk away with massive *bonuses* while thousands of workers and retirees are looking at losing everything – no severance, no benefits, no pensions.
    It makes my blood boil.

    • It makes my blood boil, too! Grrr! The Sears locally always “knew” us and we could depend on their products and if there was a need to replace, due to defect, were able to go directly to the decades long employees. I remember my Mom asking about family members, while young. I noticed at our Marion, Ohio store a gaunt woman, who changed overnight. I was so sad, but still approached her and we ended up hugging and crying about stupid cancer. Thanks, Joanne! ๐ŸŒธ

    • Thank you, Anneli for your consoling words! ๐ŸŒธ It is a little upsetting, but I suppose we will adjust in our family. My oldest daughter got married and is moving into a home. (They are buying one together.) I guess we will purchase other brands and not get Kenmore, as my first instinct is to help out with buying. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Well, goes to show you, you’re “in the know,” Derrick. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, it began as a rural necessity, jeans, dungarees, equipment and tools, while expanding into other areas. I liked the dependability and reliability of their appliances, while lawn and gardening power tools were popular in the suburbs.
      I registered when I married here for bedsheets and towels. . .Long ago!

  6. It’s always sad to see a business close. There aren’t many Sears locations near us but once we had time to kill before a gig and spent some time in their Santa Monica location. It was a pretty fun way to pass the time.

    • That’s great you have had at least one Sears experience, which wasn’t horrible, Marissa. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿค—
      Mike Lince write about a dingy sad basement area, which had going out of business items.
      Not sure if someone already mentioned but they draw people in by popping popcorn ๐Ÿฟ๐Ÿฟ and handing it out free in the downstairs of Sears, where housewares are. You can generally smell it out in the mall, but as a kid it was nice to have something to nibble on, while Mom was shopping for linens and towels.

  7. Robin, thanks for sharing this tribute to Sears. It’s sad to see a business close that has been such a part of a nation’s history for the past 130 years. In gobbling up business from traditional brick and mortar stores, Amazon is fast changing the face-time we spent with our family and friends in our favorite department stores.

    • I am so glad you mentioned this, Rosaliene! Especially in the winter, it was a special time with our parents, going to shop for back to school clothes, buying for a friend’s new baby or home. It was a warm and fuzzy pastime, or as you said, “face-time.” My grandies still look forward to browsing sales and getting a cookie or drink in the “food court.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Jan, you are absolutely right on this subject! You could count on some special training and a pleasant attitude. Maybe I have had better than some, you must have also experienced these extra qualified clerks at Sears! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I loved Dan’s Sears post. It brought back many memories, like the big Sears catalog at Christmas. Sears was the only store to carry blue jeans long before they were popular. And buying a craftsman house through the catalog. Now, that was something. Our nearby Sears are not closing, thank goodness.

    • I am so glad you checked out and probably already follow Dan’s posts! Jennie, you listed such great elements of Sears. The Sears Craftsman home is especially a nice reminder! I might know where one or more are located to do a Doors post on. . . Thanks, dear friend! xo ๐Ÿ’

  9. It seems a such a shame that Sears can’t compete with Walmart stores. The chain has put many companies both large and small out of business. Thus far the one here in my town seems to be thriving with lots of customers in there each time I go in. I buy all my large appliances from Sears and would not be happy if this one here were to close.

    • It is a shame the closer one for us, went out of business! My friend recently bought her appliances at a Home Depot or Lowe’s. I suppose they are good quality and probably have clerks who are knowledgeable but it does seem to disappoint me, Yvonne. I’m so glad yours is thriving and busy with customers! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐ŸŽ‰

    • I will not easily head to Amazon except to purchase my fellow bloggers’ books, Penney. For me, shopping is fun and I like to see things in person. Thanks for your sense of humor and logical suggestion to Dan and to our readers. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Pingback: Sears-Roebuck and Co. Store closings: | By the Mighty Mumford

  11. Sad times. We have closed quite a few Sears here in Canada. Online seems to be taking over. Seriously. would you want to buy an appliance online? I know I wouldn’t ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I’m from Chicago, where the tallest building is the Sears Tower (even though they call it the Willis Center) and where the call letters of my favorite all-time radio station stood for “World’s Largest Store” because Sears owned them. A friend of mine, who’s from Indiana, said he shopped at Sears for the motto on the door: SATISFACTION GUARANTEED OR YOUR MONEY BACK.

    It hurts to watch Sears going through the problems they’re having. The times they are a-changing…

Leave a Reply

